Yuneec Typhoon H520 Mapping Review – Better than the DJI P4 Pro?

In today’s Drone U Hack video, we compare the Yuneec Typhoon H520 to the Phantom 4 Pro. Which drone is better suited for UAV mapping, and why? Is the presence of the rolling shutter on the Yuneec a huge disadvantage for UAV mapping? We do a deep dive to compare mapping data for both these drones. Finally, we share and contrast 3D models generated by both these drones. And let you form the final verdict. Watch and learn and form your own opinion.

Download and listen to the audio version of the Ask Drone U podcast, and get your drone and business related questions answered here: http://askdroneu.com/.

Please do us a huge favor, “Like” this video and “Subscribe” to our channel.

YouTube URL for this video – . https://youtu.be/8fYys0fH_zg

Subscribe to the podcast on iTunes and, if you don’t mind, leave us a 5-star review while you’re there: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/ask-drone-u/id967352832.

Join the #1 drone training platform and community for only $47 per month. Part 107 test prep, courses, videos, webinars, expert advice, business training, and so much more. Total, unlimited access to everything for one low monthly investment, plus you can cancel at any time. Check it out: https://www.thedroneu.com/get-started-here/.

Check out some of our favorite equipment:
Best Overall Drone: DJI Phantom 4 Pro (https://amzn.to/2jSJZMR)
Best Travel Drone: DJI Mavic Pro Platinum (https://amzn.to/2Ib0Jxr)
Best Cinema Drone: DJI Inspire 2 (https://amzn.to/2IAdH7a)
Best Mapping Drone: Yuneec H520 (https://amzn.to/2KUIxWB)
Crystal Sky Monitor (so you can fly without internet & with hot conditions) (https://amzn.to/2wAyPWh)
Crystal Sky Mount (https://amzn.to/2KV209q)
SD Cards for DSLR or Sony Mirrorless Cameras (https://amzn.to/2Ki4xti)
Phantom 4 Pro Propellers (https://amzn.to/2IaJRXu)
Phantom 4 Pro ND Filters (https://amzn.to/2KYFOeK)
Seagate DJI Fly Drive (https://amzn.to/2jQGcPZ)
Use T5 SSD to Edit Projects Faster (https://amzn.to/2Ia2NWi)
64gb Micro SD Card (https://amzn.to/2jVoc6V)

Follow us:
Site – http://thedroneu.com/
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/droneu
Instagram – https://instagram.com/thedroneu/
Twitter – https://twitter.com/thedroneu
YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/c/droneu

Get your copy of “Livin’ the Drone Life” – https://amzn.to/2IDbFTG
Get your copy of our Part 107 Study Guide – https://amzn.to/2IcLyDE

Purchase your own official Drone U Landing Pad here: https://thedroneu.clickfunnels.com/gcp-landing-pad

The 2018 Drone U Fly-in is your opportunity to build community, get inspired and fly better. Get practical, hands-on flight instruction from industry’s best. Use Promo Code “LASTCHANCE” to get $100 off on EACH course. Limited spots available. Reserve now!

Home

Timestamps
00:39 Is there any significant difference between the Yuneec Typhoon and Yuneec Typhoon H520?
00:57 Does the E90 camera on the Yuneec Typhoon H520 produce mapping results similar to the Phantom 4 Pro?
01:53 What are some advantages of using the Yuneec Typhoon H520. We start off by discussing flight time
02:24 How to bring the Yuneec H520 down safely when you lose a prop
02:48 Is the absence of NFZ’s or No Fly Zones on the Yuneec Typhoon H520 a significant advantage for commercial pilots?
03:08 Is Pix4D integration available on the Yuneec H520?
03:18 Discussing our methodology for comparing the Yuneec Typhoon H520 to the Phantom 4 Pro
03:38 Are oval orbit modes/intelligent flight modes present on the Yuneec Typhoon H520? What about the Phantom 4 Pro?
04:55 We start comparing and analyzing our mapping data
05:40 Discussing the different focal lengths and hence, ground sample distances on the Yuneec H520 and P4P
06:15 Are the number of 3D densified points on the Yuneec significantly different from the P4P? What about average density?
06:50 How does the presence of a rolling shutter on the Yuneec affect your mapping results?
07:34 Which are some high end DJI cameras that have a rolling shutter?
07:48 Analyzing mapping results after change of settings to account for the roller shutter
09:23 Paul summarizes the review findings
09:54 What are some ideal applications for the Yuneec H520?
10:27 Watch as we compare the 3D models generated by both the Yuneec H520 and P4P; how do they compare as far as color and details are concerned?

-~-~~-~~~-~~-~-
Please watch: “How FAA’s NPRM for Remote ID for Drones Will Hurt Hobby Pilots or RC Pilots with Jon McBride”

-~-~~-~~~-~~-~-
Get Your Biggest and Most Common Drone Certificate Questions Answered by Downloading this FREE Part 107 PDF – https://thedroneu.clickfunnels.com/get-your-free

27 Comments

  1. Wojciech Stolarski on July 25, 2020 at 7:29 am

    I analysed your video and I see 3 options:
    1) It is manipulation
    2) It is bullsh…
    3) I didn’t understand it

    You used for comparison two cameras with similar resolution but different focal length. Phantom with about 23 mm (better GSD, smaller area) and Typhoon was about 8 mm (worse GSD, larger area). In your test you focused only on GSD and point cloud density. In result for Phantom 4 you get GSD about 4 cm but area was only 425 m2 (Number of points/Density). For H520 you get GSD 7 cm and 1 641 m2 (4 times larger than PH4). This are the basics of Photogrammetry!!! Your conclusion have nothing in common with shutter type!!!
    The correct conclusion should be. If you fly with cameras with similar resolution and different focal length you will acquire data with different GSD over different area size. With better GSD you will coverage smaller area. With worse GSD you will get larger coverage. That’s only reason why GSD and point density are different.

  2. Kevin Waite on July 25, 2020 at 7:30 am

    Sorry your comment at 2.30 about if you loose a motor or prop on the H520 that the drone would spin around is not correct, having seen demos and an actual prop failure after hitting a branch on a tree. The H520 does not spin at all. The opposite motor spins forward and back wards to keep the drone under complete control. Apart from a slight wobble and a drop in power it flies just the same as if it was flying on all six motors.

  3. Steve Carpenter on July 25, 2020 at 7:31 am

    Paul, thanks the this new review and test. Wow, this is a big difference in statements and use from previous video(s).? So now, the big question is, were all features of each drone setup as close as possible for this test or were the best features and (special features) for each drone?

  4. hugechimp on July 25, 2020 at 7:35 am

    Hmm. In previous videos you’ve stated the H520 produced appreciably better photo detail over the DJI in side by side comparisons. Did this reversal of opinion come after learning the E90 had a rolling shutter and thus is now ‘bad’?

    Additionally, You forgot to mention Yuneec datapilot has a ‘pause and shoot’ option that Pix4D says mitigates the rolling shutter effect. If you weren’t using this feature, then you weren’t using the H520 to its potential. Also, when comparing these products shortcomings, don’t forget to mention DJI’s misleading image manipulation profile stunting to correct an inadequate lens.

    Simple technical specs. The P4P lens doesn’t even provide full coverage of the sensor. Your "20MP" image is really an upscaled 13MP image and all the associated IQ loss. Yuneec provides a full, real 20MP camera. Other than that they use basically the same sensor. it’s just the DJI is mated to a lens whose image circle doesn’t even fully cover that sensor.

  5. Josh Tremba on July 25, 2020 at 7:40 am

    Rolling shutters are compnesated by the software. You had less overlap with the yuneec flight, hence less time points etc.. this has to be true due to the fact your photo amounts we’re near identical and the E90 camera has a large focal length. Waste of 8 minutes of my life. Thanks, and cary on.

  6. Atef Amriche on July 25, 2020 at 7:44 am

    I was taking this video seriously until you mentioned that you didn’t understand "the focal length" of the camera before. That’s a BIG deal !!!!
    Mapping with drones involves 2 things: your platform/drone and your CAMERA !!! The drone can make your life easier with auto-pilot-like options and mission planning BUT the camera is also CRITICAL. To make it simple: ISSUES with camera = ISSUES with 3D model quality
    In the manufacturer website, you can see all the camera specs. You ABSOLUTELY need some basic understanding of photography to get the best quality pictures (shutter speed, aperture setting and focal plane, ISO).

    That all being said, there here is the FORMULA to calculate your average pixel size OR ground sampling distance (GSD):

    GSD = (Sw * H) / (FL * imW) ….. where Sw is the camera sensor width (mm), H is the UAV flight height (m), FL is the focal length of the camera lens (mm), and imW is the image width in pixels.
    SEE HOW THE CAMERA FOCAL LENGTH PLAYS A ROLE IN YOUR GSD !!!!!!

    ALSO, no need for an expensive Pix4D license to get the result of GSD … and point density is correlated to that. And ALSO … there are a few free software packages that do the same thing as Pix4D … but for FREEEEEEEEEEEE

    See how KNOWLEDGE = savings $$$$ and better quality

    Invest in knowledge to get the best out of the equipment !!!

  7. joe fuller on July 25, 2020 at 7:51 am

    GREAT video…..im sure everyone is saying your bais towards dji but i think you did a really good job at not being bais…..i have had both and i could not agree more

  8. John of Drones on July 25, 2020 at 7:53 am

    This was a very informative video.
    I am a hobby flyer who has aspirations of getting my Part 107 certification and flying professionally. I’ve come to realize that aside from straight photo gigs (parties, weddings, real estate, etc.) mapping is where the big ticket jobs are. Y-H520 looked very promising. Glad you pointed out the effect that in-camera focal length has on mapping. You have saved me from potentially making a costly mistake and have given me something to think about when I’m ready to purchase a serious working drone.

  9. Casey V on July 25, 2020 at 7:53 am

    is it possible to take single photos and video with the H520?

  10. Łukasz Solarski on July 25, 2020 at 7:54 am

    Do i need drone with RTK for orthophotomaps and photogrammetry or I can just buy Phantom 4 Pro v2.0? Thanks!

  11. WHITE LION on July 25, 2020 at 7:56 am

    6:46
    OMG! I was just about to place an order for the Yuneec H520 with CG90T camera bundle.
    😭

  12. Tom Gilmore on July 25, 2020 at 7:57 am

    It is obvious that Drone U is a total fanboy for DJI products. I have DJI and Yuneec drones and am actually starting to fall more in love with my Typhoon H Plus as the commercial bird of choice. No crazy increase in geofencing on my DJI Go 4 app and the quality of the image that come out of the C23 1" sensor camera are superior to the Phantom line of drones. How can you beat a built in bright display, six rotor design that can lose a prop and still hang in there on the mission and perform. The only hangup with the Yuneec Typhoon H Plus is it’s size for travel. I haven’t yet found the need to purchase the 520 is due to the fact that I don’t do mapping for clients.

  13. Dana Schoen on July 25, 2020 at 8:00 am

    You are so good when you aren’t trying to do the "drive time jock" tag team thing. This is a superb video.

  14. Antony Keane on July 25, 2020 at 8:00 am

    I have no mapping experience, but based on the samples shown at the end – the P4P results look clearly better to me largely due to the separation caused by much more accurate color. I’m trying to understand, why is rolling shutter an issue? Doesn’t the drone stop each time it takes a photo? If it does stop, wouldn’t the readout would be a non issue for a non moving subject? I have the P4P and the i2 w/ X7, so your claim that the p4p would be “a better mapping camera” is very interesting… especially since you could get extra resolution from the i2 not only from the higher megapixel sensor, but you can throw on 24mm and take more photos for even higher resolution and less distortion

  15. Speed Systems Golf on July 25, 2020 at 8:01 am

    Thank you for the good video. I am wondering why you never took a look at the Parrot Anafi for mapping with Pix4D?

  16. Eugene Allen on July 25, 2020 at 8:01 am

    So can you put a global shutter camera on the yuneec??

  17. Luftaufnahmench on July 25, 2020 at 8:01 am

    no question…DJI P4 its by far better

  18. Tching Tao on July 25, 2020 at 8:02 am

    Totally wrong! I have both platforms and as a certified surveyor who spent hours mapping with both birds I can tell you that the H520 with e90 is way better than the P4P. You just need to know how to correctly setup your camera and missions. When you master that Yuneec machine the P4P will sound like a toy to you…

  19. Tom Saint on July 25, 2020 at 8:11 am

    So many inaccurate info in this video, pretty suspicious review. Unlike

  20. Shift-Light on July 25, 2020 at 8:13 am

    You pay a hefty price for that no fly zone feature apparently lol

  21. Construction Engineering & Failure Analysis on July 25, 2020 at 8:14 am

    Thank for the detail and rolling shutter data… I enjoyed your mind-set…

  22. Accrecon on July 25, 2020 at 8:17 am

    Very informative, if you are looking at a newer mapping UAV, you gotta watch this.

  23. toxin911 on July 25, 2020 at 8:19 am

    i just got the feeling this guy is plugging for the p4p…i like them both but when i want to go flying and shooting video i always take the yuneec the p4p stays home, its more fun oh and btw if the yuneec loses a prop there is a program incorporated in the system that senses that and takes care of the imbalance which allows you to keep the bird in the air…sorry totally disagree with you

  24. westface1 on July 25, 2020 at 8:20 am

    As an actual surveyor, I can tell you that 7000 vs 20000+ points per meter is a frivilous detail. No drafting tech or engineer is going to maintain that point density without either a TINY site, or a very high end CAD station. The rolling shutters are industry standard and have been for years on main air systems.

  25. EdgyNumber1 on July 25, 2020 at 8:20 am

    4 rotor vs 6 rotor… hmm 🤔

  26. OBE on July 25, 2020 at 8:22 am

    Your test plan was extremely flawed. How could you misidentify the camera type and expect positive results. The H520 comes with a mission planner on the ST16S – why were you looking for orbit mode? I’ve seen a YT video with a prop being broken on the 520 – it continued to fly without the rotation you describe.

    Sooo many errors – it’s hard to trust anything you say.

  27. kcoan3 on July 25, 2020 at 8:24 am

    Hey, your link for the best mapping drone is the one that you say is bad. Just an FYI to change your Amazon links above

Leave a Comment