Yuneec Typhoon H Review – Pt 2: ST16 controller in-depth

Yuneec Typhoon H Review – Pt 2: ST16 controller in-depth

In part 2 of this in-depth review of the Yuneec Typhoon H I look in detail at the impressive ST16 controller, the user interface and the specs and options.

You asked (I’ve no idea why) so now you can buy mugs! See http://bit.ly/buymugs
Website: http://www.onthekitchentable.info (videos are categorised and fully searchable)
Twitter: @Simon_Quads
Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1Js7hl1

If you find these videos useful, please like share and subscribe, and if you’d like to support the channel please consider becoming a patron: http://www.patreon.com/newton or donating via https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=3DAQD3G7KQ69A

Or you might like to support the channel by doing your usual shopping via my affiliate links! 🙂
DJI Store: http://bit.ly/djistore
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/ZIfmx5
Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1FqMo5z
eBay US: http://ebay.to/1vWpwDF
eBay UK: http://ebay.to/1zK7G8l
PowerDirector 14 http://bit.ly/pdirector14 – Free trial version for subscribers of editing software I use
Stayblcam: http://bit.ly/stayblcam (hand-held phone/gopro camera stabliser)

I use and recommend http://bit.ly/flytrex products;
I use and recommend http://bit.ly/bestemusa products;

Animation and backgrounds by Blake Evans

My “On the Kitchen Table” videos are mainly aimed at newcomers to multirotors, quadcopters, drones and UAVs, particularly to the DJI product range, and the Phantom line in particular. I have how to’s, product reviews, tips, tricks, hints and information for beginners and those in the early stages of the hobby. I film “on the kitchen table” to show people that, like me, you don’t need a workshop and an array of specialist equipment and years of experience to get started and progress with flying these amazing aircraft and enjoying making great aerial videos and stills. So if you have bought, or are thinking of buying, the DJI Phantom 4 or DJI Pahntom 3, Inspire 1, Yuneec Typhoon H, or even building your own DJI Flamewheel F450 or F550, or considering the Lily, 3DR Solo, or more then you can do it… on the kitchen table!

50 Comments

  1. Kacy Wheatley on November 1, 2021 at 8:59 am

    To use the tablet does the H have to be powered on? Very informative video, thank you

  2. Dutch Marc on November 1, 2021 at 8:59 am

    Controller & LCD in focus would help :-/

  3. Gregory Johnson on November 1, 2021 at 8:59 am

    Hey Simon!! How are you??

  4. Matt Munro on November 1, 2021 at 8:59 am

    Do you know the rated db strength of the 5.8Ghz antenna? Thanks! 👍

  5. KOOL BROTHA on November 1, 2021 at 9:01 am

    good morning Mr. Newton. Well it’s morning here in San Antonio Texas lol. I know this is a stupid question and sorry for the bother. Can you let me know how tall the typhoon h is when arms are folded down.

  6. Anthony Smith on November 1, 2021 at 9:02 am

    yeah but how do you get rid of the camera settings view left of screen? with the ST10+ you just single tap the screen but with the ST16 there is nothing to get rid of it.

  7. TheChupacabra on November 1, 2021 at 9:04 am

    Guys does your controller say 100% when fully charged? Because mine says 95% although the battery symbol shows full charge. Anyone experiencing the same thing?

  8. Biscuit Bass Broom on November 1, 2021 at 9:04 am

    Simon I’ll start again ….. The pressure sensors on the H …….do they detect air pressure …….. And if they do would that mean that the H would stay at a height relative to the ground……..so if you were on a hill with the H in follow me mode or tracking mode would the H avoid hitting the ground……..please respond l look forward to yr reply ….

  9. Hue on November 1, 2021 at 9:06 am

    Very informative video, Thnx! :
    Will the Typhoon H’s gimbal and camera/CGO3+ work with the CGO3 Steady grip?

  10. RaptorGimlet752 on November 1, 2021 at 9:06 am

    I can’t seem to figure out the SD card set up, cant format and not detected, any idea what I’m doing wrong? Thanks

  11. Lori Hayes on November 1, 2021 at 9:06 am

    How do u put on the sun shade

  12. Albert Richard on November 1, 2021 at 9:06 am

    Does one need to charge this device? How is it done?

  13. Chris Brumbaugh on November 1, 2021 at 9:06 am

    I’m watching this on my ST 16 !

  14. SG on November 1, 2021 at 9:07 am

    can this be use on Yuneec q500 4k?

  15. Houston Landscape Images on November 1, 2021 at 9:08 am

    Hi where, can I get those rubber knob cover?

  16. Dave Everett on November 1, 2021 at 9:08 am

    Does anyone here know the function of what appears to be a still/video selector icon on the far right of the screen? It isn’t mentioned in this review, nor in Yuneec’s manual. When I tap the still camera icon the screen stretches and distorts.

  17. Kacy Wheatley on November 1, 2021 at 9:10 am

    One more quick question.. where do you put the SD card to watch the instructions.. In the ground station or my computer? Thanks again!

  18. wwsvs on November 1, 2021 at 9:10 am

    Can you do 23.976fps in 4K or is it locked at 30fps? Thanks!

  19. Bill Larned on November 1, 2021 at 9:11 am

    A very detailed review, thank you for putting in the time to help us understand the Typhoon H features.

  20. John Williams on November 1, 2021 at 9:13 am

    Is it possible to disable channels?

  21. busa on November 1, 2021 at 9:14 am

    Can you go live on Facebook and YouTube like dji

  22. Twisted Trails - Riding Deep on November 1, 2021 at 9:14 am

    Great in depth review. I received my H recently and I’ve been on a quest to learn as much as possible about it, your review(s) are some of the best out there, I appreciate your work.

  23. Anthony Smith on November 1, 2021 at 9:16 am

    Hi simon can you show me what the B1 rates should look like, that’s the start button, I can’t get the motors to start, I have tried to reset not sure what they sould look like, thanks Tony

  24. Roger VANLEEUWEN on November 1, 2021 at 9:17 am

    AH ! THE LIGHTS!

  25. Biscuit Bass Broom on November 1, 2021 at 9:20 am

    Thanks helimoto that’s very helpful…….

  26. richy todd on November 1, 2021 at 9:23 am

    what models can you fly with the . st16…

  27. joseph votta on November 1, 2021 at 9:25 am

    Please be aware that your LED light is reflecting on the transmitter screen! And the screen is out of focus! Do you not look at your footage before posting?

  28. John O'Connor on November 1, 2021 at 9:28 am

    Do Yuneec have a battery percentage like DJI? For example X% your in optimal flight, then you move into yellow and better return to home, and red % it starts to descend? Ty.

  29. MRpilotRCify on November 1, 2021 at 9:34 am

    Does the controller support maps for autonomous mission flights (waypoints)?

  30. Aerider on November 1, 2021 at 9:35 am

    Is it really correct that tilt and pan are controlled with the same hand? How would it be possible to fly and control tilt and pan at the same time? Or in Cable Cam mode, the left stick moves through the mission course, and the camera gimbal controls are operated with the same hand? Seems to be a cumbersome interface.

  31. Overlanders on November 1, 2021 at 9:40 am

    Would be happy to support your channel…… but please, please, please, stop using the term BEVERAGE!!! A pompous outdated term adopted by the advertising and hotel/travel industry, to make a drink sound more exotic and appealing. What is wrong with saying "a glass of wine, or Whiskey or a cup of coffee"?

    Like the videos and content.

  32. Biscuit Bass Broom on November 1, 2021 at 9:41 am

    Hello SIMON …. I have question for you ….. I now have my typhoon H …. I live in Canada …. When I received it the ground station came without a battery so I waited for a battery to come… I now have the battery BUT can not get the camera to work ……do I need to be out side to bind if not how do I bind camera to ST 16 and also can’t get typhoon to start inside is this also as arty thing . Any help would be appreciated .

  33. MrBill on November 1, 2021 at 9:41 am

    The big problem in usa with geofence is it wont fly if you are within 5 miles of airport. You can fly there if you inform the tower…so being able to disable that part is important.

  34. Anthony Trang on November 1, 2021 at 9:43 am

    Awesome review. Your watch needs a shave..

  35. Wayne Brinkley on November 1, 2021 at 9:44 am

    Hi Simon, great video first of all. I thinking of getting a typhoon h but was unsure about yuneec’s geo-fencing & is there any where I can find out please.

  36. Harry Potter on November 1, 2021 at 9:45 am

    no RTH?

  37. Biscuit Bass Broom on November 1, 2021 at 9:45 am

    SAFTY thing I meant …….

  38. Matt Vu Electric on November 1, 2021 at 9:46 am

    thanks

  39. MrBill on November 1, 2021 at 9:46 am

    Do you know how long tx battery last?

  40. DENIS WALP on November 1, 2021 at 9:47 am

    My H landing gear will not Retract.  No hard landings, no crashes.. any troubleshooting things I can try to get them to retract?

  41. MrBill on November 1, 2021 at 9:47 am

    Can this be used for other rc aircraft? What reciever would i need to get?

  42. steve and drones on November 1, 2021 at 9:48 am

    how to turn up the brightness on the st16 controller

  43. EnglishTurbines on November 1, 2021 at 9:48 am

    How do you live with the glare and reflections on that glass touchscreen..?…It must be awful in bright sunlight..?…even with the shade around it.

  44. Tom D on November 1, 2021 at 9:49 am

    ST16 NEEDS A HISTOGRAM !

  45. Boricua on November 1, 2021 at 9:52 am

    Is there a Brightness control for the screen? Because if they are using the same screen from ST10 and ST10+ the screen brightness Sucks… Also sensitivity on screen goes bad after time.

  46. BlacksForTrump on November 1, 2021 at 9:54 am

    Are the settings for max height/altitude adjustable? What’s the max height and distance from operator.

    I spent a lot of money on a different brand only to find out later that these settings can’t be changed.

    I don’t want another one of those.

    Thank you.

  47. Kacy Wheatley on November 1, 2021 at 9:56 am

    Hi, great videos! Question: Does the drone have to be powered on in order to use the tablet and to set way points, etc..?

    Thank you for all of your time to show us everything in depth!
    Cheers

  48. Biscuit Bass Broom on November 1, 2021 at 9:56 am

    Safety thing I mean aaaaaagh,
    !

  49. TAPP Channel on November 1, 2021 at 9:58 am

    where is the battery percentage indicator???? I can see how much of drone battery left over

  50. 3DPeter on November 1, 2021 at 9:58 am

    The only thing that they should have changed is to give the entire remote a glossy finish,
    because this mat black finish looks very cheap imo, so that wil be waiting for first company
    who comes with several decal designs to pimp that plastic to a higher level.

Leave a Comment