XK Detect X380 GPS QuadCopter Drone Full Review – [Setup, Flight Test, Pros & Cons]

Here’s is a full and in-depth review of the XK Detect X380 Quadcopter Drone which you can find here: http://tinyurl.com/jgteukl

In this complete review I put the X380 through it’s paces. Out of the box inspection, extensive flight testing, flight video (onboard and off) range test, altitude test, fail safe TX shut off test, barometer test hover test, after test pros and cons… the list goes on.

Below are the parts I’ve used since this review to fully mod the X380 for long range FPV flight and links where to find them:

Walkera G2D Gimbal
http://tinyurl.com/zoodosz

600mw FPV Video Transmitter/Receiver Combo
http://tinyurl.com/jqdzuml

2.4ghz Transmitter Signal Booster
http://tinyurl.com/h8jka83

5v/6V UBEC Regulater for Transmitter Booster
http://tinyurl.com/h3mc3ry

5.8ghz Bluebeam Ultra FPV Matched Antenna Set
http://www.getfpv.com/ibcrazy-5-8-ghz…

DJI Lift Boosted Props
http://tinyurl.com/zl6tap8

Mini Coaxial Antenna Extension Cables to bring antennas down legs
http://tinyurl.com/j22fyxe

Seby’s Video for how to change quad parameters with links to software in his video description: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0waf-…

It has been a long journey and took a while but hopefully my learning experience can help those who are looking for the best way to smooth dependable flight, long flight time, long range control, FPV.

Let me know if you have any questions and be sure to check out this great forum to help you if you’d like to do these mods: http://www.rcgroups.com

Be sure to checkout my other Drone videos on my channel for reviews and flights like this one.

Send me a Letter | Donation | or anything else. I may feature your contribution in an up-coming video 🙂 !

Dustin Dunnill
P. O. Box 880040
Pukalani HI 96788
Help support our channel https://www.patreon.com/DustinDunnill

50 Comments

  1. UK drones on October 24, 2020 at 12:49 pm

    Hi, We have a problem with take off. The drone tips the same way from good level ground standing. Only became an issue on the last two takeoff attempts. We appear to have calibrated and trimmed as per all the advice. Any help will be appreciated please? Thank you.

  2. Mirco Pintican on October 24, 2020 at 12:49 pm

    hi Dustin, recently my x380 was about 1,200 ft away and it wouldn’t respond to my controls, so I hit the RTH switch and still wouldn’t respond, it would just hover in place. If the quad lost communication, it should go into fail safe mode and return but none of that happened. This leads me to believe that the quad didn’t loose communication because it didn’t go into fail safe. I ended up eventually getting control after 7 a minute hover. what could be the issue? replace transmitter? quad receiver? or re-download software files?

  3. Frank Napolitano on October 24, 2020 at 12:49 pm

    Why XK does not provide a LCD Monitor with the Transmitter is beyond me ?

  4. David A. Lorduy M. on October 24, 2020 at 12:51 pm

    XK X380 Dron , You can lift the weight of a cell?

  5. Costa Rica Flyer on October 24, 2020 at 12:52 pm

    Very nice video. I convinced Santa I’d been good this year (ok…ok….I lied) and one is on the way. In the product description it says it has "circle hovering" which I would assume is FAP (Fly Around Point). Do you know if it in fact can do this?

    I always enjoy your aerial views of Maui since about 25 years ago, I lived on the east end of Molokai and we could see the north shore resorts on Maui and the sunsets over Mount Haliakala were always spectacular to see. We used to take the Maui Princess from the docks at Kaunakakai at 5am to Lahaina then loot and pillage the Costco in Kahalui.

    Anyway, another great review and many thanks.

  6. Robert Paul on October 24, 2020 at 12:53 pm

    I received a thumb drive with mine. What is it for? Also since I am new to this, what are you watching the videos on? Do I need a separate device or do you view it on the remote control screen. The quick guide is pretty shitty. I would of thought this unit would of come with a more detailed user’s manual.

  7. pete piper on October 24, 2020 at 12:53 pm

    Hi Dustin, when I first purchased the X380, I didnt have a good lipo battery for the transmitter like most people used in their transmitter mod so I put weak AA batteries, long story short, my transmitter shut down, the quad went into "return to home mode" and hit a tree going up and came crashing down. Only thing that went bad was an ESC and motor. I swapped those two out and redownloaded the software files on my X380 and notice that I still have the same problem as I did before and was wondering if you ever had this issue or can help?

    1) the X380 drifts and does not maintain its spot after I maneuver the quad up down left and right a few times. Anytime I play with the joystick and let it go, the quad drifts and I notice that I have to flip the top right switch to "return home" then back to "GPS" mode for it to maintain hover and work again.
    2) headless mode does not work properly. When in headless mode and I push the right joystick to move left, the quad goes forward, when I push the joystick to the right the quad instead goes backwards.
    3) At times, randomly, the quad just freezes in mid air and does not respond to my controls when I try to make it go left or right but it will move forward or backwards, at this point i quickly land it out of fear of crashing into something.

    sorry for my long post, these are my 3 only issues which are major even after re-downloading newer software files. Ever had any of these issues? any advice?

  8. John Wedrall on October 24, 2020 at 12:53 pm

    Good review 👍 nice up close shots of the drone hovering. thanks. 😎

  9. Nghĩa Trương on October 24, 2020 at 12:56 pm

    In your opinion, Original Detect X380 and original FUAV Seraphi which is the better ?

  10. Paul Hyde on October 24, 2020 at 12:57 pm

    can not find  software link

  11. Scott Snodgrass on October 24, 2020 at 12:59 pm

    How do you get the gps lock on it before a flight?

  12. Firal Rally on October 24, 2020 at 1:01 pm

    Hey Dustin, I cannot seem to get a GPS lock on my x380, (2 flashing green lights) It is stuck at 1 flashing green and 1 flashing red over and over again. What am I doing wrong here? Thanks in advance 🙂

  13. mike Kay on October 24, 2020 at 1:01 pm

    Top review; clear and informative. They have a current model with a camera, in Gearbest. Have you had the chance to look at it for reviewing?
    Mike in Oz

  14. Bananaphone93 on October 24, 2020 at 1:03 pm

    30min or 13min? it was 13 right??

  15. Newfie World Order on October 24, 2020 at 1:05 pm

    Got a question for you my friend …. if you use phantom blades will that help the vibration if u use the stock camera mount ?

  16. 3DVOROS on October 24, 2020 at 1:06 pm

    Hi. Thank you for your video, it served me a lot. I have a question for you. I put the gimbal. Without problems, and it works, but now the dron does not fly, it comes out a color code that says the manual "control overload" ….. what is it?

  17. ne0ns1 on October 24, 2020 at 1:06 pm

    Hello Dustin,
    Your mount for a Sony Action camera caught my eye. I have been looking all over for that type of mount. I did find a red plastic 3D printer one on eBay but not totally like your mount adapter. http://www.ebay.com/itm/222267849335
    Where did you find that one in this video. What alterations did you do to it to fit the Walkera 2D gimbal. Thanks.

  18. Randy Lachermeier on October 24, 2020 at 1:10 pm

    Do you or anyone else know if this has autonomous flight? I read somewhere that it does but didn’t see it mentioned in the video.

  19. reason43 Poole on October 24, 2020 at 1:11 pm

    JUST TRY DEALING WITH THE COMPANY THAT MAKES THEM, NO RESPONSE WHATSOEVER, THEY MUST SIMPLY DELETE ALL EMAILS. MINE CAME WITH NO BATTERY, WHAT A SAGA i HAD TO INDEPENDENTLY SOURCE THE BATTERIES WHILE RECEIVING A REFUND FROM THE SUPPLIER. THEN I HAD PROBLEMS WITH CONNECTORS TO CAMERA, SO DIFFICULT TO PULL OUT THE WIRES DISENGAGED, I ASKED FOR HELP FROM THIS COMPANY, NOTHING. THIS IS NOT A CRITICISM OF THE SUPPLIER OR THE PERFORMANCE OF THE DRONE JUST THE MANUFACTURER.

  20. backyardbasher on October 24, 2020 at 1:14 pm

    you cut the footage at 10:50, there was obviously a problem with RTH, we need to see them problems so not a good review.

  21. Stop Political Correctness Now on October 24, 2020 at 1:15 pm

    can you use goggles with this unit and if you can where can I purchase them?

  22. Alec Rider on October 24, 2020 at 1:17 pm

    I was having problems deciding which drone to chose, the CX-20 or The Xk Detect 380 and finnaly decided on this one. Thing is, I’m having problems finding a Go Pro mount so if you could give the link as to where you got the mount it would be of great help. By the way I love your reviews, they are really useful!

  23. roman shumskiy on October 24, 2020 at 1:18 pm

    молодец!!!

  24. radaxx on October 24, 2020 at 1:18 pm

    Outstanding review Dustin.

  25. Basetau on October 24, 2020 at 1:20 pm

    Hi, just one question. Does the transmitter display battery percentage?

  26. daz Ler on October 24, 2020 at 1:20 pm

    Ive connected my camera and my display screen and display saying no signal what am i doing wrong

  27. patchpaddy on October 24, 2020 at 1:21 pm

    Does anyone know if the remote controller on the x380 is compatible with the v303 namely can the v303 be controlled with the x380 controller. thanks

  28. Erik kasep on October 24, 2020 at 1:24 pm

    nice

  29. UK drones on October 24, 2020 at 1:24 pm

    Can someone tell me if I can attach the new GoPro hero 5 to my xk detect x380 and if so how do I do it can you attach the karma gimbal to it? Thanks for the help.

  30. Rich T FPV on October 24, 2020 at 1:25 pm

    Looking back just shows how far these drones have come along I had my x380 nearly 2 yrs

  31. John Wedrall on October 24, 2020 at 1:26 pm

    Beautiful close up shots of the quad flying 👍😎

  32. Dustin Dunnill on October 24, 2020 at 1:26 pm

    Hey all! Hope your enjoying the review. Gearbest whom provided this drone for review notified me they are having a "Big Summer Promotion Sale" which is ending this week. Please check it out and don’t miss the deals here: http://goo.gl/U5nL8x

  33. OVERLOAD-RC on October 24, 2020 at 1:30 pm

    Loved my xk380

  34. Drone pilot 1969 uk- metal detecting finds uk on October 24, 2020 at 1:32 pm

    great review yet again, it as helped a lot, as i have just brought one today

  35. CNCmachiningisfun on October 24, 2020 at 1:32 pm

    Sweet review.
    I got one of these a couple of days ago. It’s still in its box, as I want to get some clues before I spin ‘er up for the first time 🙂 .

  36. Joel George on October 24, 2020 at 1:32 pm

    does this come with a camera

  37. William Horsley on October 24, 2020 at 1:33 pm

    Is spherical camera on A model xk 380 is 1080p any good

  38. Christopher on October 24, 2020 at 1:33 pm

    great videos!! i have a choice between h501s, free-X, cx-20, or this xk380.. which would you rather have if you had to choose just one of them??

  39. איתי אורן on October 24, 2020 at 1:33 pm

    he has fpv

  40. zsolt6719 on October 24, 2020 at 1:34 pm

    Is the basic model includes everything to add gimbal and camera? I have 160g and 230g gimball and 60g and 100g camera
    if that camera is Firefly 6s or Yi 4k will it be possible to control the camera from the transmitter?

  41. איתי אורן on October 24, 2020 at 1:35 pm

    he has fpv

  42. Mirco Pintican on October 24, 2020 at 1:35 pm

    hey Dustin, is it possible to monitor the battery remotely via telemetry on the x380?

  43. GamerDeal on October 24, 2020 at 1:35 pm

    Hello, another great review!
    What happens when there is no GPS, losses in mid flight? (this happens in my area)

  44. J. Wilson Perez on October 24, 2020 at 1:35 pm

    can you recommend this over dji P3s?

  45. rahalati on October 24, 2020 at 1:37 pm

    Nice review. What will happen to the drone when the battery becomes very low? Is the drone going to fall or will automatically comes back home. What if there is no enough battery life to go home.

  46. Dustin Dunnill on October 24, 2020 at 1:38 pm

    Looks like XK is having the best blowout sale they have ever had to date. Great opportunity to pick up what you’ve had your eye on for cheap: goo.gl/I663h7

  47. San Santos on October 24, 2020 at 1:41 pm

    Hello, I can put the LCD screen in control? and put the camera Xiaomi yi? and be able to view while Quadcopter fly?

  48. matthew sargent on October 24, 2020 at 1:43 pm

    Hi Dustin. git thus quad on way from gearbest. when it arrives is it advisable to update the firmware and master files? I’ve seen instances were this thing either drops or flips and new firmware fixes it.

  49. Caleb Hayward on October 24, 2020 at 1:45 pm

    Is there a follow me?

  50. Petrolhead on October 24, 2020 at 1:45 pm

Leave a Comment