Xiaomi Fimi A3 GPS Gimbal FPV Camera Drone Flight Test Review

This is one of the better FPV camera drones in the under $300 price range. Very good stabilized video along with excellent flight range provides for very enjoyable and interesting flights. Find it here http://bit.ly/Fimi-A3 This is a QC101 keeper. It’s perfect for doing FPV exploring with my goggles.

Pros
– Highly accurate GPS/GLONASS system provides very stable hover. Automatic return to home and landing on command or on loss of signal from the controller.
– 1080p 30/25fps full HD camera records directly to microSD card.
– Two axis stabilized mechanical gimbal with three axis electronic image stabilization provides for very stable video.
– 5.8 Ghz analog FPV. Does NOT use or require a phone or WiFi. FPV viewing monitor is installed directly into the controller. Can also use 5.87Ghz anaol FPV racing goggles to receive FPV. A second separate DVR is built into the controller to also record FPV video to a microSD card.
– Advanced flight modes of follow me, orbit, dronie, and fixed wing.
– There is a second very accurate GPS system in the controller. This enables very accurate stabilized follow me capability. One of the better (if not best) follow me drones in this price range.
– 3S 2000mah LiHV battery provides extended flight times (I got close to 15 minutes using the provided LiPo charger).
– Available do it yourself port and controls enables you to attach optional remote controlled features to the drone (servo for parachutes, separate camera, fireworks launcher, etc…)

Cons
– 1080p camera. If you’ve been spoiled with 4K, you’ll definitely notice the difference in image quality.
– Does not return to home on low battery. Instead the drone will land directly under it’s position at low battery. As battery voltage decreases, make sure to bring the drone in close to you.
– I did not get anywhere close to the advertised 25 minutes of flight time (only got about 15 minutes). The LiHV battery can not be charged to its full voltage of 12.75 volts with the provided 12.6V max charge LiPo charger. This is safe and healthy for the longevity of the battery, but will not provide the full potential of possible flight time from this battery.
– The 5 position switch can be cumbersome to access the numerous features and parameters of the drone.
– The controller’s DVR kept stopping recording of FPV video.
– I think that the controller low voltage warning at the end of the flight is a bug in the controller’s software. I think that the controller instead meant to alert that the drone was low battery (instead of the controller). The controller still had plenty of voltage left (was showing almost full). But the drone was definitely depleted at that time.

Affiliate links: At no cost to you, I do receive a small commission for sales resulting from these links.

This video along with every video of the Quadcopter 101 channel was produced and edited with VSDC Free Video Editor. You may download this excellent, and no kidding “free” video editor here http://www.videosoftdev.com/free-video-editor

MUSIC LICENSE
“Awel” by stefsax
http://ccmixter.org/files/stefsax/7785
is licensed under a Creative Commons license:
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/
music was shortened to fit length of video.

50 Comments

  1. gary gilmore on October 4, 2020 at 11:43 am

    5:16 AM (6 hours ago)
    Dear Customer, Thanks for email, by so far we do not have DIY parts to sell. Pls feel free to let me know if any further we can help.Have a good day! Best Regar

    gary gilmore <gryglmr@gmail.com>

    9:35 AM (2 hours ago)

    to sales

    the fimi a3 in your advertisement shows both a fireworks and a parachute used where can these diy products found for purchase? you used them and are promoting them in a sales option but are not listing how to get what is required or how to set them up .please do not tell me you you do not have them when the add shows them being used. and the remote has a feature on it for the drone which had a feature on it for that purpose.

  2. Johnog on October 4, 2020 at 11:43 am

    Great channel! Best reviews in my opinion but would love to see more mid and high range drones reviewed too like the Fimi x8 se 2020

  3. neha patwa on October 4, 2020 at 11:44 am

    Is it raw or edited??????

  4. Steph Boeker on October 4, 2020 at 11:44 am

    it was a very informative video and I did learn plenty. I’m a newbie in
    drone flying and am ready to purchase the drone you recommended. Recently I became interested in aftermarket antenna’s when researching goggles for flying drones.

    It didn’t occur to me that both drone and goggles could benefit from aftermarket antenna’s.

    1st, let me describe what equip. I am interested in purchasing :
    Drone : Xiaomi FIMI A3 5.8G 1KM FPV With 2-axis Gimbal 1080P Camera GPS RC Drone Quadcopter RTF – 5.8G FPV
    Goggles : New V2.0 Version FXT VIPER 5.8GHz Diversity HD FPV Goggles

    2nd,
    some people have mentioned or obviously replaced original antenna’s w/ 2
    different aftermarket antenna’s on the goggles (patch on 1 side &
    circular polar on the other).
    Question :
    What is your opinion on this technique ? (benefits, pro’s / con’s) ?

    3rd,
    all that said, what is your antenna recommendations for setting up my
    1st drone system, (goggles & drone) as I have described above ?

    Thanks you very much for your generous consideration,
    sincerely ……………………….

  5. Jim Richard on October 4, 2020 at 11:45 am

    What about maps – anyway to use maps?

  6. hasan kafadar on October 4, 2020 at 11:45 am

    Hello, thanks for the video. This drone can bear how much weight? I’m a shore fisherman. I want to send the fishing rod away.

  7. Amr Safar on October 4, 2020 at 11:45 am

    Mr. Quadcopter 101, i have been watching many of your videos and i like them, so thanks for that. well i have noticed that in many of them you complain about your poor 100$ phone that in several cases can’t controle the drones apps because of the low power of the phone processor!!!!. That i kan understand, but for the sake of the viewers use or buy a modern powerful cellphone so you can take the full advantage op the apps and introduce the wright image about what you are testing. That is a very useful hint. Thus again i great you for you work. Amr Safar, The Netherlands.

  8. Dozer 806 on October 4, 2020 at 11:48 am

    what’s better this or the upair one?

  9. Gimp Man on October 4, 2020 at 11:51 am

    DO NOT BUY: the fimi a3 has camera, gimbal and FPV screen problems.

    “ We buy a product. We dont need it broken or to fix it. Fimi should be stopped. They cheat and make new rules as they want. I have sent the papers to get the replacement and then they said that they changed their rules…
    I have asked for the supervisor contact and they wont give. This is not correct.
    To finish all this, they say they have the problem fixed but I have information they faulty drone and still being sold.
    They should not be part of Xiaomi brand. “

    This is a post from Sara Albuquerque on Facebook. Today I was also informed that Fimi no longer supporting the fimi a3 and I cannot exchange. Only option is to return to reseller for refund (if they accept)

  10. Sergio Bernardo on October 4, 2020 at 11:52 am

    Coupon for me ? GWTR

  11. Jort Beentjes on October 4, 2020 at 11:52 am

    Does it return to home when low battery after the firmware updates?

  12. Monster Feet on October 4, 2020 at 11:53 am

    For anybody interested I have a $300 and $400 off coupon for DJI..

  13. S123 on October 4, 2020 at 11:56 am

    can you see how much battery left on the drone ?

  14. Rimantas Ri on October 4, 2020 at 11:56 am

    So what charger should I buy to get fully charged drone battery?

  15. Gimp Man on October 4, 2020 at 11:58 am

    WARNING: DO NOT BUY. I recently purchased the fimi a3 from Banggood (May 2018) and it arrived with the well known lens fogging/condensation issue. I have contacted Banggood and FIMI and they have been unhelpful with a resolution. Do yourself a favor and buy the DJI Spark. You get what you pay for.

  16. Steph Boeker on October 4, 2020 at 11:59 am

    I’m a sub 2 ur utube channel Quadcopter 101 and my name is Steph.

    I recently asked ur recommendation for a beginner , FPV w/ controller screen (as I have no cell ‘smartphone’). I believe, at the time, you recommended the Xiaomi Fimi A3 for around $300.

    Since then I’ve saved my $ & am ready to buy. What ever links u shared or I found showed extra batteries and an aftermarket charger (which u also recommended) but I can’t find the link for the 2 batteries and charger now.

    I’d like to know :

    a.) do you still recommend this model ?
    b.) …………… these batteries & charger ?
    c.) if so, do you have latest links or discount codes for all
    d.) why is the max distance (1000 m) and the max altitude (500 m) so different ?
    e.) can you share a link for goggles (headset viewer) I can use for running this FPV model ?

  17. Hakan Keskin on October 4, 2020 at 11:59 am

    can i use my phone charger adapter to charge remote controller? or should I use USB port on computer?

  18. Sparkfly JEF on October 4, 2020 at 12:00 pm

    Tnx for this informative video , I am a dji spark user from the Philippines . I am considering of buying the A3 as well . great features at a much cheaper price .

  19. Crimstic on October 4, 2020 at 12:00 pm

    Just received mine this weekend. Going to have to return it. Accelerometer error issue. Probably going to order something cheaper in the $150 to $200 range. Any suggestions? 300m FPV range, 500m control range, GPS, 1080P, gimbal preferred, RTH, handle 10mph wind, batteries around $30. Possibly looking at the Bugs 5W, Thanks.

  20. weerobot on October 4, 2020 at 12:01 pm

    Best Drone Reviewer on Youtube…

  21. Ollie_7654 _ on October 4, 2020 at 12:01 pm

    Finally I cheap drone with a good camera

  22. Alex Bond-Smith on October 4, 2020 at 12:01 pm

    Hi Thanks for the great review. I have had my A3 for a few weeks now but have only had a chance to fly it once as where I live we get very strong winds, and I am talking 50mph at this time of year. Next week it looks like the wind will drop and I am busy charging all batteries up. My problem is the transmitters built in battery. I connect it to a charger and it turns on automatically and the green battery light on the RC screen starts flashing indicating that it is charging. After a few minutes the screen shuts down and when I press any button it turns on but the green light has stopped flashing indicating that the battery is full, I presume. However if I unplug the USB charger and plug it in again the light starts flashing again until the screen shuts off again. How do I determine when the transmitters battery is actually fully charged? Any advice please.

  23. Max Barrett on October 4, 2020 at 12:02 pm

    Hi , does this return to home on low battery? Or does it just fall to the ground

  24. Jim Richard on October 4, 2020 at 12:02 pm

    I checked out the Viper goggles (v 2.0) pretty impressive, they should work with my DJI Spark since the spark can transmit in either 2.4 or 5.8.. Serious consideration.. Might also pick up the Fimi A3, seems like a pretty good value for the money (also has a discount coupon – save $45) and another toy to play with.. Can get the coupon code here: https://www.xiaomitoday.com/xiaomi-releases-new-drone-xiaomi-mi-fimi-a3/

  25. Kras 4 on October 4, 2020 at 12:03 pm

    I still fly this one at the park. Its a lot of fun.

  26. Goblin 380 Pilot on October 4, 2020 at 12:07 pm

    Scrolling through menus to get ready for flight, sounds like a PITA.

  27. Alex Annis on October 4, 2020 at 12:08 pm

    Thanks for the tips, Job well done.

  28. anzaeria on October 4, 2020 at 12:09 pm

    That orbit was super smooth. Impressive. Though to me, the video quality looked slightly soft. By comparison, Q101’s Mobius camera was sharper and had better colour. Not as blown out too. The difference in quality was quite dramatic when cutting between the two cameras. If the Fimi camera was as good as the Mobius, I’d order it in a heart beat. Alas I’ll have to look elsewhere for a combined camera / gimbal quadcopter.

  29. rifat rofat on October 4, 2020 at 12:09 pm

    সালা

  30. Rimantas Ri on October 4, 2020 at 12:12 pm

    Excuse me, what is the maximum micro sd card’s capacity for this drone and its controller?

  31. Mannix Gittins on October 4, 2020 at 12:14 pm

    First

  32. Brian Haygood on October 4, 2020 at 12:15 pm

    Can the remote play back the video recorded on the remote? That could really help if you lost the thing.

  33. Catia Ribeiro on October 4, 2020 at 12:17 pm

    hi can i ask how many weight lifting handles??

  34. anyshitt on October 4, 2020 at 12:22 pm

    I just knew if I took a little peeky at some quad’s ? I would see something that I want, and boy hear it is. no need dji tech stuff. the bird is made by a name I heard good things about camera wise? I dont need anything to fold up, I have had more than my share of quad’s that folded up during flight, some performed magic and became invisible. so It really is time I try xiaomi , Q ole friend many of us do comparison’s because of the bang for buck and quality factor, something tell’s me I could really use this quad and not look back. Man if only that fpv or the controller could be hacked for a reliable 1,000 meter’s ? Im done, this would be my last and best gps equipped quad purchase ever. I have no curiosity about the hubsan zino at all. before i really backed off of flying I was really curious about Parot Bebop and Up Air one. money is short and amazon cost more, but money is too short to gamble $300 with a company who has left me feeling totally neglected and unappreciated and robbed in the past. I want this bird but not from them, I love the two sd card capability as well as the telemetry ..

  35. Anthony Dajay on October 4, 2020 at 12:24 pm

    How long was the FPV maximum distance?
    Tnx for the review, i thinking og buying it or maybe later reserve my money for FIMI X8.

  36. Technickr on October 4, 2020 at 12:25 pm

    How you did record your controller screen?

  37. Clayton D'Cruz on October 4, 2020 at 12:25 pm

    what stick do you use to make it orbit, right or left stick on the controller?

  38. 7 Drone photography. Aldaba L on October 4, 2020 at 12:27 pm

    What’s kind of fpv goggles are you use on this video? Or wish ones do you recommend to use with this drone?

  39. Alex Fromin on October 4, 2020 at 12:28 pm

    very friendly guy…..quietly man, perfect video and perhaps perfect drone. Thank you, Keep thumbs for you. -A-

  40. Russ Shanks on October 4, 2020 at 12:28 pm

    Nice video…just ordered one! Question: does the SD Card on the Fimi record sound and video?

  41. 3D Printwiz on October 4, 2020 at 12:28 pm

    Does this drone have waypoints?

  42. Longboard Louie on October 4, 2020 at 12:34 pm

    , I missed how you start recording on the transmitter I know it’s a long press with the left button on the back of the transmitter but I didn’t see how you initiated the recording on the transmitter please.

  43. Pine Nut on October 4, 2020 at 12:35 pm

    This drone is now in the +400.00 range and the X8 is around 650.00

  44. Termi Nation on October 4, 2020 at 12:35 pm

    Not bad if you can live with that motor whistle.

  45. Argenis Perez on October 4, 2020 at 12:36 pm

    Sorry for my basic question. Return to home function make the Drone come to Landing position or where is the Remote controller?

  46. Naughty Goat Farm on October 4, 2020 at 12:37 pm

    What is that weird chirping sound when you first take off. Sounds like the props are out of balance or something.

  47. Jeff s on October 4, 2020 at 12:39 pm

    I did check the top speed on this and got 85 mph wide open.

  48. jason jeffers on October 4, 2020 at 12:40 pm

    Wheres the instruction link?

  49. Rajkishore Behera on October 4, 2020 at 12:42 pm

    Help me sir my fimi a3 drone is unable to enter GPS mode

  50. placido Gon on October 4, 2020 at 12:42 pm

    Well, it lasted 20-25 flights. Two days ago I was flying with him, take him to the maximum height that reaches 120 meters and land him on tall grass sideways, but gently without hitting. As soon as he took it, he showed the message "Ready to take off". I put it on the floor completely horizontal and made it take off. As soon as he got up from the ground he went up very quickly and went in the SW direction. When he saw that he was only going up from day to command to lower it but the drone did not respond to any of the controls, not even the automatic return, which I lost, since after climbing he also moved away at full speed. And it was in a land away from the city and without any device that could create interference.

Leave a Comment