This is the BEST FPV Long Range Drone Under 250 grams – Explorer LR with INSTA360 GO – Review

This is the BEST FPV Long Range Drone Under 250 grams – Explorer LR with INSTA360 GO – Review

In this episode I take a look at the amazing Explorer LR. This drone is under 250 grams and is a long range FPV drone that can fly for up to 18 minutes. The version I showed in this video is the Digital version, but you can also purchase the Analog version. The links to both are here:
USE DISCOUNT CODE TO SAVE 5%: EXPLORER0507
– FLYWOO EXPLORER LR: https://flywoo.net/collections/explorer-lr/explorer?sca_ref=513052.PTyWfZFwl1

– INSTA360 GO Camera (USA): https://amzn.to/2FtDiyN
– INSTA360 GO Camera (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Y57pDf
– DJI FPV Goggles: https://click.dji.com/AIy9WnYbq9PFxscPvnKSIg?as=0011&ch=GOGGLES&pm=custom
– RADIOMASTER TX16S: https://amzn.to/2PYoGJQ

BELOW IS THE GEAR I USE TO CREATE MY VIDEOS:
Action Camera Hat (USA): https://amzn.to/2OFz5Hu
Action Camera Hat (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2NwT7Zh

SOFTWARE I USE TO EDIT MY VIDEOS IS ONE OF THE FOLLOWING:
iMOVIE
FINAL CUT PRO
DA VINCI RESOLVE

ACTION VLOGGING CAMERAS:
DJI OSMO ACTION: https://click.dji.com/AGMYePtvQpUgGrPm-JdOVg?pm=link&as=0018&ch=OSMO%20ACTION
GOPRO HERO 8 (USA): https://amzn.to/31BWboJ
GOPRO HERO 8 (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2MYs5WX
GOPRO HERO 7 (USA): https://amzn.to/2XXqeWv
GOPRO HERO 7 (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Xjq6Vr
GOPRO HERO 6: https://amzn.to/2PA2Law
RUNCAM 5: http://bit.ly/2NHBPHb
MOBILE OSMO POCKET: https://click.dji.com/AF16aDSox3GLFnRjHDxCkQ?as=0014&ch=OSMO%20POCKET&pm=custom
ACTION CAMERA 3 AXIS GIMBAL: https://amzn.to/2DCrTJj

PRO CAMERAS:
Canon EOS R: https://amzn.to/2W0qPq9
Canon M6 MkII: https://amzn.to/2n0ISiO
Canon 80D: https://amzn.to/2Kmggb4
Panasonic 4K Camcorder: https://amzn.to/2JYGFdx
Lenses: https://amzn.to/2AWjZJ9
https://amzn.to/2Gwb6JT
Gorillapod 5K Tripod (AMAZON USA): https://amzn.to/368TFtH
Gorillapod 5K Tripod (AMAZON CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Tg3G39
Cool Orange Mini Tripod (AMAZON CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Xk5vNV
Cool Orange Mini Tripod (AMAZON USA): https://amzn.to/2X4JYsn

SOUND AUDIO:
MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (USA): https://amzn.to/2IKMr6n
MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2p3mExN
STUDIO BOOM MIC: https://amzn.to/2CgZ1ru
STUDIO VOICE OVER MIC: https://amzn.to/2TlTjJt

LIGHTING:
STUDIO LIGHTING: Studio Softbox: https://amzn.to/2GZTPX6
STUDIO LIGHTING: FalconEyes SO-40TD: https://amzn.to/2N9pp7J

DRONE ACCESSORIES:
Round Landing Pad: https://amzn.to/2HBqp2w
Square Landing Pad SMALL (USA): https://amzn.to/2Yl7SPf
Square Landing Pad LARGE: https://amzn.to/2nukqqH

#Flywoo #ExplorerLR #FPV #250grams #Drone #CaptainDrone #Ottawa

50 Comments

  1. Gad Reem on July 15, 2021 at 11:49 pm

    Great review Steve, started very promising, but I guess I will wait till you have an update! Thanks!

  2. qygp ygpq on July 15, 2021 at 11:51 pm

    Thanks for the review. The Explorer is amazing.
    The Vista Unit support the DJI Controller; i think this has a way more reach than the XM+ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Mason Weber on July 15, 2021 at 11:52 pm

    Could this hold gopro 8

  4. Nathan Gordon on July 15, 2021 at 11:58 pm

    Is the flywoo explorer still under 250g with the insta360 go and the 650mah batteries?

  5. Augustinho Neto on July 15, 2021 at 11:58 pm

    Captain I will have a decent range with the digital controller?

  6. Gregory Henderson on July 16, 2021 at 12:01 am

    Question what about woody area ?

  7. EffTee on July 16, 2021 at 12:02 am

    @Captain Drone
    Is this quad factory or you put different antena? Looking for long range drone with bit of freestyle so i can make beautiful videos in nature and i need something as far is possible with good antena so i can fly inside of forests etc without loosing the signal. Any reccomandations? Also what controller are you using? Do you think the DJI one is any good? Sorry for questions and i hope you show me the way a bit as i am new to this hobby and still learning stuff. Thank you for your time and answer…. pretty much anyone

  8. Leo1807 Leo1807 on July 16, 2021 at 12:05 am

    hello captain!…..iam looking to get into fpv and I like this drone with the goggles and the radio you have…..a part of this video where you said something about the reicver you should have left it digital???and you have an xm+…..is digital better for this set up or does xm…is the only that would work with this radio if I pick digital transmission Will it work with this tx master radio???.

  9. Robert Clouden on July 16, 2021 at 12:07 am

    Can i use a box goggles with that drone?

  10. Joey Atilano on July 16, 2021 at 12:07 am

    Explorer LR does it have auto level mode?

  11. Jackie Gan on July 16, 2021 at 12:08 am

    I’m not into FPV but if I do have to buy one, this is definitely the best.

  12. David c Goodwin on July 16, 2021 at 12:09 am

    Exalent as usual, as you know I have been following you for a few years now and I am trying to start a fpv club in Eastlothian Scotland and I hope you can help me with your input as I have got some people who are interested in a club thanks Steve., ๐Ÿ’ข๐Ÿด๓ ง๓ ข๓ ณ๓ ฃ๓ ด๓ ฟ๐Ÿ’ข

  13. Loft54 on July 16, 2021 at 12:10 am

    Nice Review!

  14. Benjo Tyson on July 16, 2021 at 12:12 am

    Stay in shadow. Nice video!

  15. Rcgolf on July 16, 2021 at 12:12 am

    Hi Captain can you please tell me if the fly wood can hold position, Hover in the same position if you donโ€™t touch sticks. Iโ€™m new to drones not fairly new I have a tiny hawk 2 which Iโ€™ve been practicing with so will this be able to hold position more easily here than a tiny hawk Iโ€™ve seen the DJI drones just stay there and follow you around which I know this doesnโ€™t.

  16. hanumantha rayappa on July 16, 2021 at 12:13 am

    can we buy it

  17. wownt on July 16, 2021 at 12:13 am

    I would recommend not waving the goggle lenses in direct sunlight ๐Ÿ˜‚

  18. layton7430 on July 16, 2021 at 12:14 am

    Can this be used with a 6s? Or 2x 4s batteries to extend flying time?

  19. Kevin Humble on July 16, 2021 at 12:15 am

    Love your channel and have been watching a load durring lock down. I remember one of your videos you detail how to bring a drone back when you could only just make it out. Something about flying in a circle till it stopped moving to the side… can’t remember exactly. Can you (or anyone else) point me to that video so I can watch it again please?

  20. jager Cow master on July 16, 2021 at 12:17 am

    Can u use lite radio with this

  21. Eden Valley Drones UK on July 16, 2021 at 12:20 am

    It looks great something I am thinking about. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

  22. Terry cobb on July 16, 2021 at 12:21 am

    FPV ok if kept far away from people and active cities.

  23. Fpv Pilot on July 16, 2021 at 12:23 am

    I wish you guys would stay with the name quadcopter like they were before the news media named them drones and created drone haters. I flew quadcopters for years and had never heard the word drone unless it was referring to a military vehicle. I have a camera on my dirt bike and it can leave the ground is it a drone? That thing does look good for the price. Can they be set to hold position if signal is lost?

  24. Adam Heidingsfelder on July 16, 2021 at 12:24 am

    You’d be able to go out even farther if you’d properly orient your transmitter antenna. Also the shape of the arms is like the old dead cat frames from TBS. That’s back in FPV infancy.

  25. Wolf Arcade on July 16, 2021 at 12:25 am

    How much does it cost

  26. mallamasj70 on July 16, 2021 at 12:26 am

    really a very good review. I would like to make you a question. Do you see your gps coordenates in your dji googles? Thanks!!!

  27. ByteMeFPV on July 16, 2021 at 12:27 am

    You’re getting a thumbs up on your shirt! Great minds…

  28. Nicholas Becker on July 16, 2021 at 12:27 am

    How far away can it fly

  29. LongRange FPV on July 16, 2021 at 12:28 am

    Put in a better gps with compas and flash inav on it ๐Ÿ‘

  30. Tomaso on July 16, 2021 at 12:29 am

    I am listening to your unboxing and in the background it sounds like someone is crumbling paper or a bag of potato chips? Is that noise from your microphone? Itโ€™s subtly annoying. Let me know what you are doing that causes that noise. Great review. Superb if the noise was edited out if possible.

  31. Bodek's RC on July 16, 2021 at 12:29 am

    I just sold my Fatsharks and bought dji fpv goggles together with this drone, I mean from two different sellers but in the same day. I just love this quad! It is something Ive been always waiting for. Andy RC has even done some nice freestyle flying with it and it did handle it very well. Cant wait to put my hands on it๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

  32. George Voicu on July 16, 2021 at 12:31 am

    Great video and very detailed. Question. Can you make a video how did you set up the radiomaster tx16 to work with this drone. I am waiting for the drone to come and I want to know how you did it. Thank you for your work and sharing with us all your reviews.

  33. The van with no name on July 16, 2021 at 12:31 am

    Great Drone Steve, Im interested in one of these , I’ve been flying mavics for quite a while and fpv is getting to me, time to get one, I’m in UK and see one one cheap drones.co.uk ยฃ140 , which receiver fr sky r9mm , xm , or crossfire….as it is digital what transmitter would I get away? And am I thrashing out on the DJI goggles? I’ve been watch John on JJ FPV on YouTube….check him out , English fella called John, awesome….stay safe And cheers for any info. Tony

  34. Martin Wynne on July 16, 2021 at 12:31 am

    Dude . Im probably trolling you at this stage . So i got the novice Iv .stupidly i had trees behind me . As u know these drones are nothing like dji drones and i broke a arm hit the tree . So can i buy this drone and link it to eachine googles n tx 12 same drone or eachine copied it right?Ordered spares but i now realise u need spare drones . The few mins i had in the air was really good . Fly so diffrently n so fast….

  35. INTELMAXELL MULTI-ROTORS on July 16, 2021 at 12:31 am

    Wow this is impressive. This is what I think DJI will do soon if they decide to make an FPV drone, in my opinion it will be similar to this GPS idea with long range plus long flight time.

  36. Jan Miketa on July 16, 2021 at 12:33 am

    Captain drone, Just want to start with I am a huge fan of your videos! Could you help with something?

    I am looking into buying Explorer LR 4" as my first FPV drone. I already have the DJI FPV goggles and transmitter. I have been using a simulator to practice so I should be okay for my first flight.

    Will the "Explorer LR 4” Micro Long Range FPV Ultralight Quad w/ RunCam Nano 2 (BNF)"
    be able to work with the transmitter and goggles I already own Or do I need to buy the "PREORDER Explorer LR HD 4” Micro Long Range FPV Ultralight Quad w/ Caddx Vista HD System"???

  37. Just Another FPV Guy on July 16, 2021 at 12:33 am

    Why is this the best? Iv seen custom quads getting flight times like this in the past.
    So you meant to say is: The best Mainstream market quad. Oh, ok. Itโ€™s still out dated and old tech to the company that built it.

  38. Babis xalkias on July 16, 2021 at 12:34 am

    Itโ€™s called a "DeadCat style" itโ€™s started from Team Black Sheep with the TBS Discovery. The arms are for having the props out of the view.

  39. Carl Watson-Grant on July 16, 2021 at 12:35 am

    "PandaRC VTX wiring Error, DOA
    Seams that all of the flywoo explorer LR with the analog VTX are wired incorrectly. They have been wired from the FC 5v out to the 5v out on the
    PandaRC VTX. Causing the 5v regulator to pop. Very dissatisfied with the product. I shouldn’t have to QC the QC. Since it was wired to the 5v out on the VTX and 5v out on the FC. I’m not sure if it’s just the FC or has also taken out the VTX feeding lower into the 5v out of the VTX. If you have placed an order for an analog, and it does not have the Goku VTX or any VTx, double-check all the wiring. Even though you shouldn’t have to, and mine had a QC sticker on the XT30."

    This is from a customer review on Banggood and a recurring theme from a lot of customer reviews, I think newbies to FPV like myself should be aware of this…

  40. BIG STR on July 16, 2021 at 12:36 am

    I never really got this stupid rule, why do you need a license to fly a drone over 250g but not one under 250g? What’s the difference really? So if I fly a drone that weights 255g I guess the whole earth will split in half and the world would end, but if I fly a drone that weights 247g evrything would be just fine. CMON CANADA๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜‘๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

  41. ุณุนูŠุฏ Sa eed on July 16, 2021 at 12:38 am

    Hi ,
    Sorry for my very late question, can fpv dji radio control ( small ,new one ) be used in this drone ุŒ

    Thank you ,

  42. FPV Mississippi on July 16, 2021 at 12:39 am

    Guess you are too white ๐Ÿ™‚

  43. Jawn on July 16, 2021 at 12:40 am

    Hello, how many miles do you think it could fit in a straight line? Thanks

  44. Benjo Tyson on July 16, 2021 at 12:40 am

    Let these goose chill ๐Ÿ˜…

  45. Frankie Knows Best on July 16, 2021 at 12:41 am

    How do you upgrade with the digital version that you mentioned in your video ? And can this drone record what video you see with the camera thatโ€™s mounted in the drone without using a GoPro?

  46. FPV Mississippi on July 16, 2021 at 12:42 am

    Great Job!

  47. nwestwind on July 16, 2021 at 12:43 am

    that massive antenna flag pole right next to where people play ๐Ÿ™

  48. damian hudlin on July 16, 2021 at 12:45 am

    mavic mini killer

  49. Aarons14bugs on July 16, 2021 at 12:45 am

    Will the Runcam Hybrid fit into it? (The non-HD one)

  50. Adrian Monjes on July 16, 2021 at 12:45 am

    Sweet drone! Your videos really inspire me to get into FPV. Which goggles do you recommend for someone who wears glasses?

    I noticed you wore glasses with the DJI googles, but not the DJI goggles. I’m hoping to be able to bind and fly with many aircraft in the long run.

    Keep up the great work! Your reviews really help.

    Cheers,
    Adrian

Leave a Comment