This is the BEST FPV Long Range Drone Under 250 grams – Explorer LR with INSTA360 GO – Review

This is the BEST FPV Long Range Drone Under 250 grams – Explorer LR with INSTA360 GO – Review

In this episode I take a look at the amazing Explorer LR. This drone is under 250 grams and is a long range FPV drone that can fly for up to 18 minutes. The version I showed in this video is the Digital version, but you can also purchase the Analog version. The links to both are here:
USE DISCOUNT CODE TO SAVE 5%: EXPLORER0507
– FLYWOO EXPLORER LR: https://flywoo.net/collections/explorer-lr/explorer?sca_ref=513052.PTyWfZFwl1

– INSTA360 GO Camera (USA): https://amzn.to/2FtDiyN
– INSTA360 GO Camera (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Y57pDf
– DJI FPV Goggles: https://click.dji.com/AIy9WnYbq9PFxscPvnKSIg?as=0011&ch=GOGGLES&pm=custom
– RADIOMASTER TX16S: https://amzn.to/2PYoGJQ

BELOW IS THE GEAR I USE TO CREATE MY VIDEOS:
Action Camera Hat (USA): https://amzn.to/2OFz5Hu
Action Camera Hat (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2NwT7Zh

SOFTWARE I USE TO EDIT MY VIDEOS IS ONE OF THE FOLLOWING:
iMOVIE
FINAL CUT PRO
DA VINCI RESOLVE

ACTION VLOGGING CAMERAS:
DJI OSMO ACTION: https://click.dji.com/AGMYePtvQpUgGrPm-JdOVg?pm=link&as=0018&ch=OSMO%20ACTION
GOPRO HERO 8 (USA): https://amzn.to/31BWboJ
GOPRO HERO 8 (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2MYs5WX
GOPRO HERO 7 (USA): https://amzn.to/2XXqeWv
GOPRO HERO 7 (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Xjq6Vr
GOPRO HERO 6: https://amzn.to/2PA2Law
RUNCAM 5: http://bit.ly/2NHBPHb
MOBILE OSMO POCKET: https://click.dji.com/AF16aDSox3GLFnRjHDxCkQ?as=0014&ch=OSMO%20POCKET&pm=custom
ACTION CAMERA 3 AXIS GIMBAL: https://amzn.to/2DCrTJj

PRO CAMERAS:
Canon EOS R: https://amzn.to/2W0qPq9
Canon M6 MkII: https://amzn.to/2n0ISiO
Canon 80D: https://amzn.to/2Kmggb4
Panasonic 4K Camcorder: https://amzn.to/2JYGFdx
Lenses: https://amzn.to/2AWjZJ9
https://amzn.to/2Gwb6JT
Gorillapod 5K Tripod (AMAZON USA): https://amzn.to/368TFtH
Gorillapod 5K Tripod (AMAZON CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Tg3G39
Cool Orange Mini Tripod (AMAZON CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Xk5vNV
Cool Orange Mini Tripod (AMAZON USA): https://amzn.to/2X4JYsn

SOUND AUDIO:
MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (USA): https://amzn.to/2IKMr6n
MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2p3mExN
STUDIO BOOM MIC: https://amzn.to/2CgZ1ru
STUDIO VOICE OVER MIC: https://amzn.to/2TlTjJt

LIGHTING:
STUDIO LIGHTING: Studio Softbox: https://amzn.to/2GZTPX6
STUDIO LIGHTING: FalconEyes SO-40TD: https://amzn.to/2N9pp7J

DRONE ACCESSORIES:
Round Landing Pad: https://amzn.to/2HBqp2w
Square Landing Pad SMALL (USA): https://amzn.to/2Yl7SPf
Square Landing Pad LARGE: https://amzn.to/2nukqqH

#Flywoo #ExplorerLR #FPV #250grams #Drone #CaptainDrone #Ottawa

50 Comments

  1. Fpv Pilot on June 12, 2022 at 7:12 pm

    I wish you guys would stay with the name quadcopter like they were before the news media named them drones and created drone haters. I flew quadcopters for years and had never heard the word drone unless it was referring to a military vehicle. I have a camera on my dirt bike and it can leave the ground is it a drone? That thing does look good for the price. Can they be set to hold position if signal is lost?

  2. Joey Atilano on June 12, 2022 at 7:14 pm

    Explorer LR does it have auto level mode?

  3. hanumantha rayappa on June 12, 2022 at 7:15 pm

    can we buy it

  4. Terry cobb on June 12, 2022 at 7:17 pm

    FPV ok if kept far away from people and active cities.

  5. mallamasj70 on June 12, 2022 at 7:20 pm

    really a very good review. I would like to make you a question. Do you see your gps coordenates in your dji googles? Thanks!!!

  6. Nicholas Becker on June 12, 2022 at 7:21 pm

    How far away can it fly

  7. layton7430 on June 12, 2022 at 7:22 pm

    Can this be used with a 6s? Or 2x 4s batteries to extend flying time?

  8. INTELMAXELL MULTI-ROTORS on June 12, 2022 at 7:23 pm

    Wow this is impressive. This is what I think DJI will do soon if they decide to make an FPV drone, in my opinion it will be similar to this GPS idea with long range plus long flight time.

  9. Mike Baccala on June 12, 2022 at 7:23 pm

    Love your videos but I have one question why don’t you ever add the price?

  10. Frankie Knows Best on June 12, 2022 at 7:24 pm

    How do you upgrade with the digital version that you mentioned in your video ? And can this drone record what video you see with the camera that’s mounted in the drone without using a GoPro?

  11. Aarons14bugs on June 12, 2022 at 7:25 pm

    Will the Runcam Hybrid fit into it? (The non-HD one)

  12. damian hudlin on June 12, 2022 at 7:25 pm

    mavic mini killer

  13. سعيد Sa eed on June 12, 2022 at 7:28 pm

    Hi ,
    Sorry for my very late question, can fpv dji radio control ( small ,new one ) be used in this drone ،

    Thank you ,

  14. karan rana on June 12, 2022 at 7:29 pm

    Hi big fan of yours I wanted to ask you which budget remote controller will work with the TBS crossfire on this drone thanks you

  15. Bodek's RC on June 12, 2022 at 7:29 pm

    I just sold my Fatsharks and bought dji fpv goggles together with this drone, I mean from two different sellers but in the same day. I just love this quad! It is something Ive been always waiting for. Andy RC has even done some nice freestyle flying with it and it did handle it very well. Cant wait to put my hands on it😁👍👍

  16. Ervine4 on June 12, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    Does this have geofencing?

  17. Jawn on June 12, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    Hello, how many miles do you think it could fit in a straight line? Thanks

  18. Nabin Bhandari on June 12, 2022 at 7:31 pm

    Does caddx vista HD sends telemetry to dji google?

  19. J G on June 12, 2022 at 7:31 pm

    I’m not into FPV but if I do have to buy one, this is definitely the best.

  20. 416 SRT-8 on June 12, 2022 at 7:34 pm

    Just got mine and completed first flight ✈ 🙌🏿 🤗 loved it. 5 inch in the near future.

  21. Martin Wynne on June 12, 2022 at 7:35 pm

    Dude . Im probably trolling you at this stage . So i got the novice Iv .stupidly i had trees behind me . As u know these drones are nothing like dji drones and i broke a arm hit the tree . So can i buy this drone and link it to eachine googles n tx 12 same drone or eachine copied it right?Ordered spares but i now realise u need spare drones . The few mins i had in the air was really good . Fly so diffrently n so fast….

  22. Nathan Gordon on June 12, 2022 at 7:35 pm

    Is the flywoo explorer still under 250g with the insta360 go and the 650mah batteries?

  23. herp hermits on June 12, 2022 at 7:35 pm

    Hello!
    Do i need to register my drone and get myself a canadian drone flying certificate? The drones i’m flying is the SG108 Pro and the Sg906 Pro2, which just a few grams more of 250gr.?
    I hope you can answer my question.
    Thanks

  24. qygp ygpq on June 12, 2022 at 7:36 pm

    Thanks for the review. The Explorer is amazing.
    The Vista Unit support the DJI Controller; i think this has a way more reach than the XM+ 😉

  25. SkyLab Films on June 12, 2022 at 7:37 pm

    @Captain Drone
    Is this quad factory or you put different antena? Looking for long range drone with bit of freestyle so i can make beautiful videos in nature and i need something as far is possible with good antena so i can fly inside of forests etc without loosing the signal. Any reccomandations? Also what controller are you using? Do you think the DJI one is any good? Sorry for questions and i hope you show me the way a bit as i am new to this hobby and still learning stuff. Thank you for your time and answer…. pretty much anyone

  26. ShadowMoses FpV on June 12, 2022 at 7:38 pm

    Can I put a GoPro on this

  27. TINE ČERNE on June 12, 2022 at 7:43 pm

    How much does it cost

  28. szaki on June 12, 2022 at 7:45 pm

    Long range FPV?
    Drones can only be flown by the line of sight, even with commercial license!
    Just my 2 cents!

  29. CaptainDronieVerse FPV on June 12, 2022 at 7:46 pm

    with that battery (tattu 650 ) + Insta 360 go = <250gr ? Really ?

  30. Rcgolf on June 12, 2022 at 7:47 pm

    Hi Captain can you please tell me if the fly wood can hold position, Hover in the same position if you don’t touch sticks. I’m new to drones not fairly new I have a tiny hawk 2 which I’ve been practicing with so will this be able to hold position more easily here than a tiny hawk I’ve seen the DJI drones just stay there and follow you around which I know this doesn’t.

  31. Benjo Tyson on June 12, 2022 at 7:47 pm

    Let these goose chill 😅

  32. Adam Heidingsfelder on June 12, 2022 at 7:48 pm

    You’d be able to go out even farther if you’d properly orient your transmitter antenna. Also the shape of the arms is like the old dead cat frames from TBS. That’s back in FPV infancy.

  33. Kevin Humble on June 12, 2022 at 7:49 pm

    Love your channel and have been watching a load durring lock down. I remember one of your videos you detail how to bring a drone back when you could only just make it out. Something about flying in a circle till it stopped moving to the side… can’t remember exactly. Can you (or anyone else) point me to that video so I can watch it again please?

  34. Exploring With Eden Valley Drones on June 12, 2022 at 7:50 pm

    It looks great something I am thinking about. 👍👍👍👍

  35. LongRange FPV on June 12, 2022 at 7:52 pm

    Put in a better gps with compas and flash inav on it 👍

  36. David c Goodwin on June 12, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    Exalent as usual, as you know I have been following you for a few years now and I am trying to start a fpv club in Eastlothian Scotland and I hope you can help me with your input as I have got some people who are interested in a club thanks Steve., 💢🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿💢

  37. Benjo Tyson on June 12, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    Stay in shadow. Nice video!

  38. Anti Doug on June 12, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    Did you have to flash the xm+ receiver to make it work with the tx16s

  39. BIG STR on June 12, 2022 at 7:55 pm

    I never really got this stupid rule, why do you need a license to fly a drone over 250g but not one under 250g? What’s the difference really? So if I fly a drone that weights 255g I guess the whole earth will split in half and the world would end, but if I fly a drone that weights 247g evrything would be just fine. CMON CANADA😭😑😂😂

  40. Mark G on June 12, 2022 at 7:55 pm

    But you can’t fly it miles and miles away, even 1/4 a mile before you lose line of sight. I get all you folks want to make a job of droning. But using an illegal activity(non line of sight flying) as a selling tools seems…odd. I’m just wondering not trying to be unpleasant I really do enjoy your channel.

  41. CoopersWayAdventures on June 12, 2022 at 7:56 pm

    Great Drone Steve, Im interested in one of these , I’ve been flying mavics for quite a while and fpv is getting to me, time to get one, I’m in UK and see one one cheap drones.co.uk £140 , which receiver fr sky r9mm , xm , or crossfire….as it is digital what transmitter would I get away? And am I thrashing out on the DJI goggles? I’ve been watch John on JJ FPV on YouTube….check him out , English fella called John, awesome….stay safe And cheers for any info. Tony

  42. Jimmy Medrano on June 12, 2022 at 7:59 pm

    I really enjoy your reviews, you answer a lot of my questions. Very honest Chanel. Thank you sir. I liked and subscribed

  43. Robert Clouden on June 12, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    Can i use a box goggles with that drone?

  44. Shamsul Kamar Zakaria on June 12, 2022 at 8:02 pm

    I like the way you explained…Great!

  45. Jan Miketa on June 12, 2022 at 8:04 pm

    Captain drone, Just want to start with I am a huge fan of your videos! Could you help with something?

    I am looking into buying Explorer LR 4" as my first FPV drone. I already have the DJI FPV goggles and transmitter. I have been using a simulator to practice so I should be okay for my first flight.

    Will the "Explorer LR 4” Micro Long Range FPV Ultralight Quad w/ RunCam Nano 2 (BNF)"
    be able to work with the transmitter and goggles I already own Or do I need to buy the "PREORDER Explorer LR HD 4” Micro Long Range FPV Ultralight Quad w/ Caddx Vista HD System"???

  46. Babis xalkias on June 12, 2022 at 8:06 pm

    It’s called a "DeadCat style" it’s started from Team Black Sheep with the TBS Discovery. The arms are for having the props out of the view.

  47. jager Cow master on June 12, 2022 at 8:07 pm

    Can u use lite radio with this

  48. Adrian Monjes on June 12, 2022 at 8:07 pm

    Sweet drone! Your videos really inspire me to get into FPV. Which goggles do you recommend for someone who wears glasses?

    I noticed you wore glasses with the DJI googles, but not the DJI goggles. I’m hoping to be able to bind and fly with many aircraft in the long run.

    Keep up the great work! Your reviews really help.

    Cheers,
    Adrian

  49. Carl Watson-Grant on June 12, 2022 at 8:09 pm

    "PandaRC VTX wiring Error, DOA
    Seams that all of the flywoo explorer LR with the analog VTX are wired incorrectly. They have been wired from the FC 5v out to the 5v out on the
    PandaRC VTX. Causing the 5v regulator to pop. Very dissatisfied with the product. I shouldn’t have to QC the QC. Since it was wired to the 5v out on the VTX and 5v out on the FC. I’m not sure if it’s just the FC or has also taken out the VTX feeding lower into the 5v out of the VTX. If you have placed an order for an analog, and it does not have the Goku VTX or any VTx, double-check all the wiring. Even though you shouldn’t have to, and mine had a QC sticker on the XT30."

    This is from a customer review on Banggood and a recurring theme from a lot of customer reviews, I think newbies to FPV like myself should be aware of this…

  50. joesgarage618 on June 12, 2022 at 8:09 pm

    Im new and looking for a long range fpv drone. can you clarify the controller ? the drone was digital but you requested analog ?
    , but I the drone is/was digital ? Its not clear to me. What version would I have to get and what receiver? please.

Leave a Comment