Syma X8HG Large Altitude Hold Camera Drone Flight Test Review

This upgrade to the popular Syma X8G includes altitude hold to enable easy stable flying for aerial video. I know it’s been out a while, but I just got a chance to try it. Find it here http://goo.gl/kc1qo9 or here on Amazon http://amzn.to/2sREYJY

Pros
– Nice candy apple red finish.
– Altitude hold feature works very well, and greatly eases flying of the quadcopter.
– Relatively good video from included remote controlled 1080p camera. Camera resolutions include 1080p @ 30fps, and 720p @ 60fps.
– Camera can be removed and replaced with a GoPro camera.
– Uses the same widely available and inexpensive parts/batteries of the Syma X8 series quadcopters.

Cons
– Reduced range as compared to the original X8G model (about 100 meters vs. about 300 meters of original X8G).
– One of the motor shutdown procedures can possibly result in the accidental shutdown of the motors in-flight if not careful.
– Some jello noted in aerial video when flown stock out of the box. Props may need minor balancing to reduce the jello.

Affiliate links: At no cost to you, I do receive a small commission for sales resulting from these links.

This video along with every video of the Quadcopter 101 channel was produced and edited with VSDC Free Video Editor. You may download this excellent, and no kidding “free” video editor here http://www.videosoftdev.com/free-video-editor

MUSIC LICENSE
“Awel” by stefsax
http://ccmixter.org/files/stefsax/7785
is licensed under a Creative Commons license:
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/
music was shortened to fit length of video.

50 Comments

  1. ATCRyderX© on December 28, 2020 at 10:28 pm

    the SYMA X8HG vs the HD8500WH – anybody? What the hells the real difference other than the controller? Altitude Hold is garbage and just absurd on these "cheap" drones imo if you’re anywhere the wind blows. Does the HD3500WH not have the AH?

  2. Not A Channel At All on December 28, 2020 at 10:29 pm

    Can I have a drone I will trade u dji phantom 2

  3. R. Gane on December 28, 2020 at 10:31 pm

    Hello Quadcopter 101, i know (in drone years) this model is now a bit long in the tooth, and this video is now nearly two years old; but if you know, or can remember what happens to the Syma X8Hx when it loses transmitter signal? I know you typically do a ‘transmitter off’ test but on this video you didn’t. I have always wanted a Syma X8xx and the price has just gotten to low for me to ignore now, so I have an X8HC coming. Thanks for all your fantastic videos!

  4. sparky42 on December 28, 2020 at 10:33 pm

    Great vid , thank you . Just got my X8HG .waiting for nicer weather here in Pa. I love your desert flying area . We are moving to Vegas area soon . Cant wait .

  5. egga plays on December 28, 2020 at 10:33 pm

    Wow… Nice review! Want to buy one

  6. Hamza Zaman on December 28, 2020 at 10:33 pm

    Does the camera that comes with it have FPV ?

  7. agerven on December 28, 2020 at 10:34 pm

    Lot of talking, but no high altitude?

  8. redalrt4 on December 28, 2020 at 10:35 pm

    Since I fly with thumb and forefinger, using my thumb to prevent a shutdown is the best idea I’ve seen yet.

  9. R1zzy on December 28, 2020 at 10:36 pm

    This drone or syma x8 pro ?

  10. Lawrence Sand on December 28, 2020 at 10:41 pm

    i wish you have a review of the syma w1…

  11. #시흥갈매기 on December 28, 2020 at 10:42 pm

    Subscribe to YouTube Channel

  12. Bepe Gabianni on December 28, 2020 at 10:43 pm

    Have you ever tried splicing 2 batteries together for extra flight time?

  13. Lovely Heaven on December 28, 2020 at 10:49 pm

    how do you connect the drone to the phone?

  14. skyzx on December 28, 2020 at 10:50 pm

    Can you get a fpv version of this?

  15. Augustus Iulius on December 28, 2020 at 10:52 pm

    I’m pretty new to quads, so what does headless mode do?

  16. Cliff Chism on December 28, 2020 at 10:53 pm

    Got mine today. First flight was not near as good as yours… LOL But, it was my first time flying a quad. I ordered 2 more batteries right off the bat. Thanks for the video. Hopefully, this will be the first quad of many as my skills progress.

  17. eFiJyDESIGNS - Webdesign si Publicitate on December 28, 2020 at 10:53 pm

    Hi. I don’t know if anyone can help me, but I will throw this anyway. I have the Syma X8HG for about two weeks now, and all is fine, I like it a lot. I crashed it several times, since it’s my first drone and I had to get used to flying it, but it doesn’t have a single scratch on it. Nice job, Syma! My problem now, which appeared 3 days ago, is related to my remote control. All of a sudden, when I turn it on, the sound is very low on volume, and every press of a button is really hard to hear The beep from the headless mode can be heard only if I put my ear near the remote, which is not acceptable. Have you come across this situation before? Thanks.

  18. steve64464 on December 28, 2020 at 10:54 pm

    I successfully modified my controller to add a descent button , So when pressed it throttles back to 99% but not enough to kill the engines, I did accidentally terminate the engines in flight once but i was high enough to restart them and recover.

  19. B0LT on December 28, 2020 at 10:55 pm

    on mine it said over 9 mins

  20. frank Emmanuel on December 28, 2020 at 10:55 pm

    PLEASE IS THERE ANY WAY FOR ME TO CONNECT TO MY PHONE??

  21. Amos Skogster on December 28, 2020 at 10:57 pm

    why is the range worse compared to the x8g? And if the range truly is worse, why would one buy the x8hg over the x8g?

  22. agaveman on December 28, 2020 at 10:58 pm

    100 meters range?
    300 feet?

  23. Lord Helmet on December 28, 2020 at 10:58 pm

    How to stop the jello effect with this camera?

  24. B0LT on December 28, 2020 at 10:58 pm

    i lost my drone i lost control sadly still lost it took of so fast went up about 35 feet high and i tried bringing it down. Well bringing it toward me but no luck and it fell i think i lost sight and still looking for my Syma X8HG it really sucks tho i didn’t even have it for a week

  25. Gods OG on December 28, 2020 at 11:01 pm

    Hello I have watched a lot of your drone videos and they inspired me to review some of my Drones you can check those out on my channel but you don’t have to. I just wanted to drop this comment and say that you have really inspired me for my drone videos. Have a nice day and keep up the good work 💪🏼

  26. kilamanjaro Mountain on December 28, 2020 at 11:01 pm

    Good info! I shot off the motor a few times trying to land it!

  27. Quadcopter 101 on December 28, 2020 at 11:01 pm

    *Find it here* http://goo.gl/kc1qo9 or *here on Amazon* http://amzn.to/2paNray

  28. David Ellis on December 28, 2020 at 11:01 pm

    I notice the American drones are bigger than ours, so i will check the dimensions carefully the next time i buy.

  29. God Level Gaming with 卂ㄚㄩ丂卄 on December 28, 2020 at 11:03 pm

    Is this drone stable at one height

  30. Tord Andersson on December 28, 2020 at 11:07 pm

    Thank you for having a good program and showing all the drones as found in the market Tord I live in Sweden

  31. Tim Rousch on December 28, 2020 at 11:07 pm

    Love the videos dude, I always check with you first before I buy a new one. I just bought this Syma X8HG but I notice it is a little heavier and want to know, will I need an FAA license to fly this legally? If so how much are they and where do I begin the process? Keep up the great work dude.

  32. David Ellis on December 28, 2020 at 11:09 pm

    Got to admit not much point recording if its just dry lake beds and fields all the time. we want buildings, something to look at waterfalls, cliffs, roads, anything that’s a bit more interesting.

  33. X Gamer on December 28, 2020 at 11:09 pm

    Hey.. I’m looking a drone, can you recomended syma x8hg or wltoys q333a?

  34. Dante Del Travis on December 28, 2020 at 11:12 pm

    That is an awesome drone!😊😊

  35. Jorge Rodriguez on December 28, 2020 at 11:14 pm

    Thanks for the advice on the Throttle , I’m sure many people forget that specially beginners like me Good review BTW

  36. KALANI12017 on December 28, 2020 at 11:15 pm

    What’s the best inexpensive drone that can fly over the ocean for surf videos?

  37. Schiefy on December 28, 2020 at 11:15 pm

    Would you say this camera is better than the x8g?

  38. JPNA on December 28, 2020 at 11:17 pm

    May I have this drone for Christmas🤣. Just hopin for some Christmas Spirit haha.

  39. Justin P Vlogs on December 28, 2020 at 11:17 pm

    Hi how much flight time do you get on this? On mine I only get around 5-6 minutes

  40. ғᴇᴀʀʟᴇss_ɢᴀᴍᴇʀᴢ ᴏғғɪᴄɪᴀʟ on December 28, 2020 at 11:17 pm

    Wi-Fi FPV?

  41. Eazy Red on December 28, 2020 at 11:18 pm

    This vid has almost as many views as his Subscriber count

    The ratio is insane

  42. Stefan Dacic on December 28, 2020 at 11:19 pm

    Can this camera connect to an Xk x380 drone?

  43. Tony's Tiny Toyotas on December 28, 2020 at 11:20 pm

    Nice video. I’m new to all this, got a question. I’ve seen most people have taken their blade guards off. What’s the advantage of that? I’m very new to drones so I still tend to hit things and those guards saves my blades. LOL. Is it worth taking them off? Thanks!

  44. Björn Bergerheim on December 28, 2020 at 11:20 pm

    well this camera is not bad. It is good enough for me, but I want a fpw quad, because I want to record when I am sailing. Is it possible to get a Syma with fpw with same picture quality?

  45. B0LT on December 28, 2020 at 11:21 pm

    do you consider this toy grade, or hobby grade?

  46. Ayaan Naeem on December 28, 2020 at 11:23 pm

    I got this and. Im11 any tips I haven’t took it for an actual fly in the air I’m scared it will fly away or hurt me or go out of control any tips

  47. Tord Andersson on December 28, 2020 at 11:23 pm

    Thank you for having a good program and showing all the drones as found in the market Tord I live in Sweden

  48. David's World on December 28, 2020 at 11:25 pm

    Hello Quadcopter 101, received my syma x8hg in only 5 days pretty good. I am beginner at this and want to add another hobby. My first is oil painting wet on wet. now is the quadcopters. Already have the aosenma cg035 on order. I don’t see any reviews on the aosenma cg035 will you review soon. Also my wife and I will be moving to the big PH Bohol. At that time will purchase Phantom 3 or 4. I watch your videos daily nice reviews keep up the good work.

  49. Peter Bilt379 on December 28, 2020 at 11:25 pm

    Ok so I liked that drone when I had it my dad crashed it into a tree and one of the Motors stoped working. Now I have a Potensic t25

  50. CaptRizq on December 28, 2020 at 11:27 pm

    Hi, I am a kid and I can fly this drone!

Leave a Comment