Low-Budget FPV Drones that Don't Suck: Mobula 6 HD + Tinyhawk 2 Freestyle Review

Low-Budget FPV Drones that Don't Suck: Mobula 6 HD + Tinyhawk 2 Freestyle Review

This week I had the opportunity to test and review two small FPV drones that really pack a punch. I gotta say both of them are pretty impressive, and ONE of them has definitely become a daily driver for me…

Mobula 6 HD: https://www.banggood.com/custlink/G3mEch5jM0
Tinyhawk 2 Freestyle: https://www.banggood.com/custlink/GKvhWYtoUQ

Here’s all the gear I currently use:

Nazgul5 HD Drone http://tiny.cc/d73rtz
Radiomaster TX16S Controller http://tiny.cc/24nbtz
Controller Battery http://tiny.cc/d4nbtz
DJI Goggles http://tiny.cc/g4nbtz
My Charger http://tiny.cc/l4nbtz
Drone Batteries http://tiny.cc/p4nbtz
GoPro Hero9 Black https://amzn.to/3ij7FY8
ND Filters for GoPro https://amzn.to/3nHVCVy
Hero9 Drone Mount http://tiny.cc/v4nbtz

Want to fly analog? Here’s my analog setup:

Nazgul5 6S: http://tiny.cc/d7nbtz
Radiomaster TX16S Controller http://tiny.cc/24nbtz
Controller Battery http://tiny.cc/d4nbtz
My OLD Box Goggles: http://tiny.cc/w4nbtz
My NEW Goggles: http://tiny.cc/x4nbtz
My Charger http://tiny.cc/l4nbtz
Drone Batteries http://tiny.cc/p4nbtz
GoPro Hero9 Black https://amzn.to/3ij7FY8
ND Filters for GoPro https://amzn.to/3nHVCVy
Hero9 Drone Mount http://tiny.cc/v4nbtz

The links above are affiliate links. They will not cost you anything extra but will give me a small commission if used!

Project Mockingbird: http://projectmockingbird.squarespace.com/

For business inquiries, feel free to contact me at:
mattpochwat@gmail.com

If you have any other questions, reach out to me here!
https://www.instagram.com/mattpochwat/

50 Comments

  1. Scott Abramczyk on September 2, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    are you able to fly any decent tricks with your mobile HD6? It just seems so light that I can’t do any rolls or power loops, in the house anyways

  2. Geremy D on September 2, 2021 at 10:56 pm

    Isn’t the flight flight time on the Mobula 6 HD flight times less than 1 minute? I want to get one but that flight time is brutal.

  3. CHOPPER GIRL on September 2, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    The Tinyhawk’s and Tinyhawk 2′ Freestyle’s build quality blows chunks… before you even think of buying one, watch Funcentric’s breakdown on them. Don’t trust any reviewer that doesn’t do a complete tear down on something, and only says good things about a product without even looking at it closer. Which is… most of them.

  4. Tyler Harvey on September 2, 2021 at 10:58 pm

    Ok SO. I really liked this video, it was really helpful, but I didn’t catch on to whether you need goggles to fly these drones?

  5. T O on September 2, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    Many drones have been lost to house pet water bowls.

  6. ZUNDER Commander on September 2, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    So in the tinyhawk 2 you can’t take a he video?

  7. Sera Keo on September 2, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    You should check out GnarlyFPV’s Sub Atomic 🔥🤯

  8. Zoltán Kovács on September 2, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    hi there, really appreciate your work with these videos. which 1s batteries do you recommend for the TH freestyle? stick with the original (450) or is it worth buying a larger one (520 / 550 gnbs or even 650) power/weight wise? can i get significantly better flying time with the larger ones? I’m an absolute beginner, on the verge of buying my first fpv drone, just a little bit confused. 🙂

  9. rileyrose7777 on September 2, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    I finally found the Peter McKinnon of drones

  10. diego berry on September 2, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    So I’m just getting into this and am stoked. But my question is how far would the tiny hawk be able to go? With the Same controller etc.

  11. Asger Blauenfeldt on September 2, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    i like how i got 4 DJI fpv drones i just want a drone i can fly like an idiot with lol

  12. Martin Strnad on September 2, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    can i connect mobula with crosfire to Tx16S without crossfire??? I know i will not get crosfire range cause i dont have both with that but i want to buy tx16s without crossfire and maybe later ill get crossfire module if ill need it so i want to take this little guy with crossfire out of the box :D. Thanks for respond

  13. Bobo2billion on September 2, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    Do any of these come with the goggles?

  14. Gareth3952 on September 2, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    Does it come with the controller thingy

  15. Gert-Jan H on September 2, 2021 at 11:12 pm

    Maybe solder an xt30 on and have more flexibility with lipo’s?
    Does it bind to a Radiomaster tx16s?
    Ordered and waiting for goggles for an fpv glider and for the money the tinyhawk seems like a perfect first quad to kill time while waiting for the fixed wing lipo’s on charge lol.

  16. Marc Sigl fpv on September 2, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    if I have betafpv 450mah lipos can I use them on those quads? Bc the connector doesn’t look compatible?

  17. Muhname_esJeff FPV on September 2, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    welcome to the hobby, what communities are you plugged into? have you heard of IGOW (International Game Of Whoop)? the whoop community is one of the best communities out there. also FYI turn your prop removal tool the other way and roll back and forth to get props off easier.

  18. Guido b,el on September 2, 2021 at 11:15 pm

    that turning shot at the end of the video is pretty cool 🙂

  19. Firin Blanks on September 2, 2021 at 11:15 pm

    I’m waiting for a TH3 Freestyle with onboard HD recording 😀 (C’mon EMax, make it!)

  20. Cruel Crusader on September 2, 2021 at 11:15 pm

    Project mockingbird is also a government project.

  21. Imre Test on September 2, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    I like the freestyle becouse i love to fly fast and cool fpv!

  22. Steve Stolberg on September 2, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    i bought 1 of each of those very quads, thety came w goggles and all that. both of thjem flew away cuz i am inexpedrienced and no gps lol

  23. Arthur Torricer on September 2, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    what max size mini SD card works for this micro quad? I can use TX12?

  24. Joris Lue on September 2, 2021 at 11:21 pm

    Concerning the EMAX Freestyle 2 package: Didn’t get the tool eiter 😉

  25. Penguwin on September 2, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Is there anything to know about charging?

  26. Ruvyzvat on September 2, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    I really like the analog DVR aesthetic tho

  27. Scott Abramczyk on September 2, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    It’s fun to tinker with the firmware but I feel inexperienced does not allow me to notice any sort of difference so I did go back to beta flight

  28. Farkas Péter on September 2, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    I am just starting to familiarize with the FPV-world, but you make the best videos for beginners like me. I think you helped me more with 2-3 videos, than the other 50 that I watched from other people. I am going to check your other videos as well. Thank you very much for your work, just keep going!

  29. WardeN on September 2, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    The TH2 is by far the most value for money. The CF frame alone on that is worth paying for.

  30. Guido Kruijver on September 2, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    Hè Matt what is the name of the musician/ producer you use in the intro tune ? Thx.

  31. Twisty on September 2, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    How is your mobula6 cam so good?

  32. Maxim Demin on September 2, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    like for the shot on a newspapper)))

  33. EddyBuild on September 2, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    You should show the price of the drones

  34. ham003 on September 2, 2021 at 11:32 pm

    My tinyhawk 2 freestyle gets the most flight time of all my drones.

  35. jake lang on September 2, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    Mine was a h107d that got me hooked..but a week ago I dropped my racer 2 into a water hole..lol now I just bought another racer 2..they need water resistant for sure

  36. Natalie Joseph on September 2, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    dang, i just got the dji tello – i dd not know about this. thank you for sharing!

  37. Paul Leon on September 2, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    New to FPV. Decided to go with the TH2F. I like the idea of how you tied the 2 antennas to the frame to make sure they are out of the way of the props. I’m trying to work out how you tied the rear antenna up and out the way. It’s not visually clear in the video. And, how did you managed to secure the batteries in place now the cable tie is crossing the top of the frame? It seems less stable now as they want to slide about.

  38. crazydubaddict on September 2, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    Awesome video! But I’m so new to this, which controller should I buy? And what about this tuning or software thing that you spoke about?

  39. Chris Parayno on September 2, 2021 at 11:38 pm

    Does the emaxx free style feel floaty yet controllable? I’m currently on a simulator and will be purchasing my 2nd freestyle drone and looking at cinewhoop and micro size basically for the environment I look to be flying, backyard bashing. I’m eyeing the emax but damn why can’t the freestyle 2s and have the hd camera on it🤦

  40. Daniel Montmeny on September 2, 2021 at 11:38 pm

    You’ve earned another subscriber, sir 😉

  41. EVP meister on September 2, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    which googles and Transmitter are able to get used with the tiny hawk Freestyle 2?

  42. DBcooper 71 on September 2, 2021 at 11:40 pm

    Now, If only they made good affordable goggles.

  43. Vic Handa on September 2, 2021 at 11:42 pm

    Thumbs up for the Raptors shirt. Your video is good too 🙌

  44. thortherockkid on September 2, 2021 at 11:44 pm

    Awesome video

  45. LGNEWS on September 2, 2021 at 11:45 pm

    I am going to cancun Mexico. But I can’t take the dji fpv. Because is illegal there without license and without being Mexican. But micro drones are ok no matter what.

  46. AurA - Pubg Mobile Comp on September 2, 2021 at 11:45 pm

    My initial reaction was “what does this guy know about FPV he only flies DJI FPV” then I realized you don’t only fly DJI haha 😂

  47. Blackninja on September 2, 2021 at 11:47 pm

    Is the Crazepony-UK FPV Goggle also compatibel with the tiny hawk 2? Because I’m looking for a cheap google on Amazon

  48. PMV on September 2, 2021 at 11:47 pm

    So the drone is fpv bit theres no controller or fpv glasses?

  49. Robert Zoellner on September 2, 2021 at 11:47 pm

    I bought a Mobula 7HD two months ago and it was used, there ws grass clippings inside and spots all over the camera, a POS and Beta flight doesn’t even acknowledge it. Got my money back

  50. Iconic Props on September 2, 2021 at 11:51 pm

    Do the DJI Goggles (digital) work with these analog drones? Thats where I am confused. Or do you use a cheaper set of goggles for the analog drones? Anyone? Bueller?

Leave a Comment