JJRC H78G Long Flying GPS FPV 1080p Camera Drone Flight Test Review

This very long flying GPS drone comes with a nice carrying case for the drone and its accessories. Find it here https://goo.gl/5Mjhx9

Pros
– Nice travel case to take your drone with you while traveling.
– Folds up to very compact size.
– GPS/GLONASS with automatic return to home and landing on command, lost signal, or low battery. The drone does very accurate return to home landings for a beginner’s drone.
– The drone has two levels of low battery return to home to protect beginner pilots. At 20% remaining battery power, the drone will return and limit the range of flight below 15 meters. At 10% remaining battery power, the drone will land at its takeoff point.
– 1080p camera with 120 degree wide angled lens.
– Good controller that includes telemetry on its built-in LCD screen.
– FPV and advanced flight modes of circle me, follow me, and waypoints all available through JJRC TST app available on Google Play here https://goo.gl/7njt26 and iTunes here https://goo.gl/dkjbs8
– 7.4V 900mah battery easily provides over 14 minutes flight time.
– Overall a very nice small GPS drone for beginner pilots.

Cons
– Uses 802.11ac WiFi for FPV and advanced flight modes. Not everyone has 802.11ac on their phones or tablets. It’s very important to first verify if your phone has 802.11ac WiFi before considering purchase.
– The drone automatically defaults to beginner geofence of 30 meters. You’ll need to manually turn off geofencing using the controller before you can venture further.
– No SD card to record video. 1080p video is instead recorded directly to your phone via WiFi. Expect usual WiFi lag, frozen video, and frame dropping.
– The battery gives plenty of flight time. But with that, the battery can take several hours to charge via microUSB cable.
– I couldn’t get the advanced features of follow me or waypoints to work with the drone.
– The app freezes when flown out of FPV range at about 150 meters. Once frozen, the app must be restarted to regain FPV and telemetry signal.
– Beginner geofence is easily turned off with the controller. However, if flown with the app only (no controller) geofence would always default back to 30 meters. I could not turn off the 30 meter geofence when flying with the app.

This video along with every video of the Quadcopter 101 channel was produced and edited with VSDC Free Video Editor. You may download this excellent, and no kidding “free” video editor here http://www.videosoftdev.com/free-video-editor

Affiliate links: At no cost to you, I do receive a small commission for sales resulting from these links.

MUSIC LICENSE
“Awel” by stefsax
http://ccmixter.org/files/stefsax/7785
is licensed under a Creative Commons license:
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/
music was shortened to fit length of video.

45 Comments

  1. B.S. Reed on September 12, 2019 at 8:13 pm

    Sure looks a lot like the Le idea 7 only White.

  2. Andrean jay leysa on September 12, 2019 at 8:14 pm

    Hello quadcopter101☺

  3. Vint Guitarz on September 12, 2019 at 8:14 pm

    Another (cheaper) clone of the Le Idea 10 which HAS the Micro SD Card slot! Otherwise the nearly identical body, camera, brushed motors, and the controller is the same except the Idea 10 has not LCD.

  4. Reallife Fishingworld on September 12, 2019 at 8:14 pm

    Wow quadcopter 101 you are the man. Have been watching you videos for a few weeks now and have learnt so much from you so much so that I have now got my first drone as well and have started flying it fast and learnt so much on this channel thanks again. Keep up the great work

  5. Ninja Ninja on September 12, 2019 at 8:15 pm

    My compass calibration is not working. Why?

  6. Jack Sloan on September 12, 2019 at 8:16 pm

    Can the camera angle be adjusted from the remote?

  7. Althea Aris on September 12, 2019 at 8:18 pm

    I thougth 5G wifi means the signal is using 5Ghz

  8. David Tovey on September 12, 2019 at 8:20 pm

    Your trying to do things with gps off

  9. John Mindham French on September 12, 2019 at 8:20 pm

    Too much for too little.

  10. BrickTrick | Legofilme u. Tutorials on September 12, 2019 at 8:23 pm

    Garbage Bird

  11. Lawrence Sand on September 12, 2019 at 8:24 pm

    almost all good drones these days only connects on 802.11ac wifi or 5g data connection..anyone here knows a good drone that do not use this kind of connectivity?…thanks

  12. Flodidopro on September 12, 2019 at 8:24 pm

    Why do 5 people said they are the first comment

  13. Robert Howells on September 12, 2019 at 8:27 pm

    I am looking to buy spare parts for the h78g. Do you have any recommendations? Thanks

  14. Ken Lopossa on September 12, 2019 at 8:28 pm

    Will it do circle me etc after 1st lvc..?

  15. Sam O'Boyle on September 12, 2019 at 8:29 pm

    What’s the camera syncing you’re doing? when you get the drone in front of you and wave your hand and the controller what’s the purpose?

  16. Joric78 on September 12, 2019 at 8:29 pm

    The recorded onboard video looks awful. Shame.

  17. Vint Guitarz on September 12, 2019 at 8:33 pm

    Another (cheaper) clone of the Le Idea 10 which HAS the Micro SD Card slot! Otherwise the nearly identical body, camera, brushed motors, and the controller is the same except the Idea 10 has not LCD.

  18. bayudvm on September 12, 2019 at 8:35 pm

    JJRC is getting better and better.

  19. jw drone on September 12, 2019 at 8:36 pm

    This is the same drone…..https://youtu.be/iihgNvOGoyw

  20. John Holmes on September 12, 2019 at 8:37 pm

    Is it the lack of sleep or was there something making that circle me, choppy?

  21. Albert Kim on September 12, 2019 at 8:38 pm

    The H78G doesn’t show up in my JJRC TST app. How did you get it to work?

  22. GAproductions on September 12, 2019 at 8:39 pm

    screen says waiting for GPS signal

  23. Tobi Lang on September 12, 2019 at 8:40 pm

    cool

  24. THEVERYOLDONES on September 12, 2019 at 8:42 pm

    HELLO.. NICE VIDEO THANK YOU! GOING OUT TO BUY MY VERY FIRST DRONE! CAN YOU SUGGEST WHAT DRONE I SHOULD BUY? I WANT ONE WITH 1080P CAMERA WITH LONG FLYING TIME AND WITH A SD CARD IF POSSIBLE!! MONEY IS AN ISSUE SO CAN’T GO OVER 300.00 IS THERE A DRONE OUT THERE LIKE THAT FOR ME THAT IS REALLY STABLE WHILE FLYING AND MAYBE EVEN HAS A RETURN TO BASE KEY? PLEASE ADVISE AND THANK YOU..

  25. Jerry Berglund on September 12, 2019 at 8:42 pm

    Really an ok orbit mode. But why is the app telling you it has no GPS-signal?

  26. Dario Twelve on September 12, 2019 at 8:44 pm

    Sir can you please make a review of SMRC S20

  27. sidinei costa on September 12, 2019 at 8:44 pm

    Sinal fpv 126metros?

  28. thetictinexpress on September 12, 2019 at 8:45 pm

    Not first

  29. Liron Nir on September 12, 2019 at 8:46 pm

    Do video on smrc s20

  30. GamingWithAPuppy on September 12, 2019 at 8:46 pm

    Do you need a license to upload and drive the drone

  31. Siestrzewit No Longer Slaves on September 12, 2019 at 8:46 pm

    Sky checkered … they’re good at poisoning … chemtrail is now all over the world … murderers in airplanes are also poisoning their families

  32. Brett Thiel on September 12, 2019 at 8:47 pm

    Thanks for the review but as the Market place is becoming more competitive every month, this sadly disappoints on spec for money. What about reviewing the bayangtoys x28 which delivers a lot more for an extra 40GBP, add a 2/3 axis gimbal on this fella and could be a great budget travel drone! Really looking for something travel friendly for around 150GBP should be achievable minus a brandname.

  33. Ty Ty on September 12, 2019 at 8:53 pm

    Yey thank you!

  34. Luis Mestra on September 12, 2019 at 8:54 pm

    They could explain the exact steps in the control to be able to match it, I still can not test engines. Thank you

  35. Richard Reavis on September 12, 2019 at 8:55 pm

    103rd

  36. Мужская тема on September 12, 2019 at 8:56 pm

    good morning man,what are u think about xiro mini 1080???and i need drone 1080 with good stabilization till 300 dollars

  37. Brandon Mitchell on September 12, 2019 at 8:57 pm

    fyi , this is a BRUSHED quad …wish you would have started with that …

  38. Ninja Ninja on September 12, 2019 at 8:57 pm

    Do you need a phone

  39. Jan gaming on September 12, 2019 at 8:59 pm

    Can you connect fpv monitor to x5 epik

  40. Ninja Ninja on September 12, 2019 at 8:59 pm

    Where can I buy spare battery’s

  41. Santicasquito on September 12, 2019 at 8:59 pm

    Primero tenes que calibrarlo viejo puti

  42. MoKeN AnGu on September 12, 2019 at 9:05 pm

    Test jjrc h78 again please with wifi booster

  43. GAproductions on September 12, 2019 at 9:08 pm

    the thumbnail image to follow me looks like it wants a box around you

  44. Fight The Bully! on September 12, 2019 at 9:09 pm

    Idea7 clone.

  45. Ninja Ninja on September 12, 2019 at 9:12 pm

    How long does it take to charge (battery)

Leave a Comment