HUBSAN X4 H501S ADVANCED – Full Review – [Unbox, Inspection, Setup, Flight Test, Pros & Cons]

Enjoy my review. You can get the H501S Advanced and accessories here: https://goo.gl/hQYUUt

I use PD15 to edit my vids: http://amzn.to/2ftrZ8I

Part 2 – [Dual Battery Mod / Antenna Swap / Range Test] here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4hRtv-vCkTA

Send me a Letter | Donation | or anything else. I may feature your contribution in an up-coming video 🙂 !

Dustin Dunnill
P. O. Box 880040
Pukalani HI 96788
Help support our channel https://www.patreon.com/DustinDunnill

50 Comments

  1. Mr. Ray Barker on December 21, 2020 at 10:00 pm

    Great Video! I have this drone I cannot figure out how to film videos? Could you help me?

  2. Pratheeshps Pratheesh sundran on December 21, 2020 at 10:02 pm

    Thanks

  3. Tatou2B on December 21, 2020 at 10:03 pm

    Hello, what about the size of the screen on the remote? Isn’t it too small in comparison with a smartphone screen? Thanks for your help.

  4. thuggalo21 on December 21, 2020 at 10:03 pm

    Hey buddy great vids, i have watched numerous reviews on the H501ss Pro and just ordered mine. suppose to come in in 3 days i cant wait. i had a few questions on mods, i have seen that some people have made an external antenna mod on the outside of the quadcopter, but with that being said i have yet to find any videos on how to actually do the mod. do you have any tips or ideas on how to mod mine for best distance and fpv range?

  5. mdfouru on December 21, 2020 at 10:03 pm

    Some improvements lately. One is that it no longer returns to home facing backwards. I’m getting 700m range with stock everything before I have to turn around for battery reasons. This is in a forest/power line/highway ecosystem. I dream of deserts.
    Pricing has improved as well with the BNF going for <$100 and the full pro RTF for <$180. For a bonus, it’s not that hard to to mod the 5m/s GPS speed limit, the altitude ceiling, the radius limit and the RTH altitude. That solves most of the other annoyances of the 501s and keeps it on my short list of good deals.

  6. Bolt Wrath on December 21, 2020 at 10:04 pm

    The controller looks like a boom box 😂

  7. Chris Ricotta on December 21, 2020 at 10:04 pm

    I know this is a old video but what’s your favorite drone ???

  8. McgarickWAstate on December 21, 2020 at 10:08 pm

    Do you have to calibrate for every fight or powering on? thanks

  9. Franko Flyer on December 21, 2020 at 10:09 pm

    My h501s came with a rechargeable Lipo battery for the controller.

  10. Mountain Biker on December 21, 2020 at 10:12 pm

    Hi Dustin. I know it may have been a long time since you flew the H501SS with advanced controller, but did you typically get about 17 minutes of flight time before hitting around 7.0V and the warning on the transmitter? That is the voltage Hubsan says one should land pretty quickly. That looks to be about the time you got in your video (from around the 15 minute mark til 32 minutes in the video). I’m only getting about 10-11 minutes on two fairly new OEM Hubsan 2700 mAh 10C batteries using the stock charger and I believe the batteries are getting fully charged as I check it with a cheap digital voltmeter which shows 8.35V. I always fly in calm conditions and not aggressively so a baffled why I get so low a flight time. Any ideas? Otherwise the H501SS is a nice drone. Thanks

  11. Rayden Kundera on December 21, 2020 at 10:13 pm

    Hi Dustin,
    Many people say about fpv goggles, is not possible to use it for classic drones. In this review do you use a Fatshark goggles that are connected to the drone? Can you tell me pls if this drone only you can connect and others don’t?
    Thanks for your videos and wish you all the best

  12. Eddy Carrolo on December 21, 2020 at 10:17 pm

    Dustin i am unable to record video or photo. What i am doing wrong??

  13. bill howes on December 21, 2020 at 10:17 pm

    I’ll be buying my third H501S shortly. How amazing someone "Liked" my "Highlighted Comment" from two months ago. I was only kidding about affording this drone. I was serious about affording "Hawian Boy’s" wife. I bet she’s a knock-out and quite costly. All kidding aside. I highly respect "Hawian Boy" sometimes called "Dustin Dunnill". -Bill Howes.

  14. Dr. Ronald Clark on December 21, 2020 at 10:18 pm

    Everyone needs to know that the1.1.17 software is for the old version and the new LED screen H906A requires V 1.31.19 which has glitches. I will be happy when Hubsan gets quality control going and makes sure everything works before shipping things out. Also where does it say what sd cards work and which do not? Not in my manual.

  15. ISANTA AIRLINES on December 21, 2020 at 10:19 pm

    Thanks for the videos and reviews, your the best and only guy I go to.

  16. wippity wine your memes are mine on December 21, 2020 at 10:19 pm

    out of all the gps drones under 100$ which would u recommend

  17. Clark Eugene on December 21, 2020 at 10:20 pm

    I’m here in 2020 and intend to purchase the newest version this week. This video sold me. Thanks.

  18. Martin Meadows on December 21, 2020 at 10:20 pm

    Hi. Can i fly this just using an app on my phone? Are there any restrictions on capability if I can. Where are they for sale? Thanks

  19. steve mcgowan on December 21, 2020 at 10:20 pm

    hi dustin.i have a hubsan h501a.been great flying it using standard controller and smartphone.then thought would try using h901a controller with built in screen and antenae.but cant seem to control drone after calibrating sticks an bind an calibrate too.then it crashed into tree an dropped to ground an needs new shell.that was after had good flight with smartphone and standard controller.one chap said maybe antenae faulty.i just had no control with the h901a and that cant be right.the chap flashforwardrc said it was best controller too.

  20. Chuck Morton on December 21, 2020 at 10:20 pm

    I have two of these – my black one RTH flies camera forward and my White one has the camerafacking away on the RTH. I have more expensive drones but the 501S is still my GOTO drone. I do primarily take still photos and it is a very good photo platform. There is a bit of fisheye so the horizon is curved. Since it is fairly inexpensive I am more confident using iti in a "risky" situation, but I have never lost of crashed one.. I just completed a flight to get pictures of a wildfire area that was still "hot" at the request of our Forest Service.. That was what I classify as a risky flight. because recovery might be impossible if anything had gone wrong.

  21. bill howes on December 21, 2020 at 10:22 pm

    I am listening to this "High End" Drone reviewer. He seems to have class as he reviews expensive commercially available drones you can buy on the market. He said a "Strange" remark that makes me wonder. He said, " I just got a low battery warning. I had better bring this drone back now. The batteries are so expensive. I’ll have to send my wife out to turn "Tricks" to buy another battery." I wonder if I can afford this drone or his wife? -Bill Howes.

  22. FPV5150 on December 21, 2020 at 10:23 pm

    I had a buddy with this quad that used a set of Fatsharks that would pick up the video feed, so it made flying it a bit more fun in Fpv mode.

  23. RC Gamer on December 21, 2020 at 10:23 pm

    Thank you for this, I finally got one of these today, just brilliant !so happy with my choice

  24. David Rivero on December 21, 2020 at 10:23 pm

    Got the White one bnf & waiting for my offer acceptance from seller 😉 to get the Black Advanced. 🙏 Be watching for all the reviews on it, like you usually do. Well done. !

  25. Daniel Glover on December 21, 2020 at 10:24 pm

    Return to home lands by the transmitter. If you walk around, move 40m when flying the thing, return to home will land a few meters from your position now. Transmitter hand set got a GPX in, drone goes for that. got one on it’s way. Try and get into my youtube videos. Nice videos, watched the lot on this thing. OK, not the best camera and shame it lands on it’s own not recording you, comes in backwards. Guess can be done manual landing. control yourself.

  26. Mackan68 on December 21, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    Hi Dustin, thanks for this review! It seems like a nice drone for me to start with. The other review i saw about the Hubsan, you were flying it with the app on your phone. Does that work for this one too? Going for some fishing now and will be watching part 2 when i get back home. Thanks again!!

  27. Mountain Biker on December 21, 2020 at 10:25 pm

    Dustin… do you or any subscribers here have a source for a case for the H501SS/H906A pro transmitter? All I’m finding on Amazon, ebay and banggood are suitcase style that only work with the H901A std. transmitter.

  28. ROB-IN-PHILLY on December 21, 2020 at 10:26 pm

    Thanks for the upload…I love this little quad copter…I’m an older guy and wanted to get into these things…I watched your other videos, I already owned the 501s but I had never flown it..Your videos really helped…I just did my maiden flight this weekend past…:)…These things are so killer…Perfect for a beginner…

  29. Rick Sánchez on December 21, 2020 at 10:27 pm

    The advanced drone you have there is actually superior than the original 👍

  30. Brian Schotts on December 21, 2020 at 10:31 pm

    Hi! I’m looking to purchase my first drone. Want something that will take decent pics/videos. These were considerations as I wanted to stay under $200.
    SJRC F11 Pro
    JJRC X7 Smart
    MJX Bugs B5W
    ZLRC Beast SG906

    I love the distance on this one but the difference being the screen on the transmitter rather than viewing on the phone. I’m sure the picture will be better using SD card but I like the convenience of recording directly to my phone.

    Any suggestions/recommendations? Thanks in advance!

  31. nube negra on December 21, 2020 at 10:31 pm

    Why can this channel can’t make the drone footage bigger. I don’t care about looking at grass and their shodow

  32. Jonny Crash on December 21, 2020 at 10:33 pm

    Ok this or the GPS EACHINE E511S WiFi FPV Live Video with 1080P Camera? I’ve only had a piece of crap Syma X5c, so I’m techinally still a beginner.

  33. Fiat Uno Newsletter on December 21, 2020 at 10:34 pm

    Video tips for this drone. To get a stable video, in your video editing software, choose half the original speed. It would show much less jerks. After that, use the freeware video stabilizer software and the result is almost cinematic. With recording issues, just format the micro SD card without "volume label".

  34. Paul Ryder on December 21, 2020 at 10:37 pm

    It’s there a LiPo battery pack upgrade for the controller? I don’t fancy the ££ to keep replacing the AA batteries over and over 👍

  35. Vedo Malijah on December 21, 2020 at 10:40 pm

    My Hubsan 501s camera stop working what do you think happen?

  36. Andrew Doolittle on December 21, 2020 at 10:40 pm

    Rotate your body and calibrate compass 2 will go away is another option. Also don’t forget to tune the sticks prior to flight and also reset the internal gyro before each flight (left stick hard right/right stick back and forth left to right until full orange on the bird then let reset). Also going through the settings menu doesn’t hurt for a pre-flight review. Much easier on the new controller than the old controller.

  37. Si Briers on December 21, 2020 at 10:42 pm

    Just got the Hubsan H501SS Pro for my birthday, not flown it yet but can’t wait, so many good positive reviews…. 🙂🤘

  38. jtwotimez 216 on December 21, 2020 at 10:43 pm

    So will the drone not fly without a SD card in it? My friend just gave me one but the drone won’t turn on when I try to calibrate it.

  39. Carlos Rios on December 21, 2020 at 10:45 pm

    My congratulations for your videos so well explained, I have a H501A hubsan I did the drone update but I can’t do the advanced radio control because it doesn’t seem connected to the update tool on the pc (not connect) the pc accepted the control but does not connect to the update tool, I already bought three cables from different suppliers but none connect the tool and NOT CONNECT appears. Can someone help me solve this problem because I don’t know what to do. I thank you in advance, stay with God.

  40. THOMAS FISKE on December 21, 2020 at 10:45 pm

    Camera not so good…

  41. Alex Fromin on December 21, 2020 at 10:45 pm

    Thanks for video. The color on video is good, but the video is very unquiet, troubled. It´s pity. I cancel this drone from my list. All the best, -A-

  42. Jamesr on December 21, 2020 at 10:45 pm

    Your spinning it to fast !!! Slow it down and it will calibrate !!

  43. Black Yellow on December 21, 2020 at 10:46 pm

    Super crap toy drone……
    When I see the video from drone I throw up……like sit in a boat……

  44. alan durden on December 21, 2020 at 10:47 pm

    my old quad has H501S-H on the underside of the quad , anyone know what the difference is

  45. TK Mo on December 21, 2020 at 10:49 pm

    Thanks, informative vedeo. I saw another video where instead of spinning the drone, he held the drone and spun his body. It seemed to work well.

  46. Tatou2B on December 21, 2020 at 10:52 pm

    Hello, i’m about to buy this drone, pro model. But, on te size of thé screen of the remote control, don’t you think is a little small?what’s your opinion on that?
    Thank you.

  47. Florida Wildlife on December 21, 2020 at 10:52 pm

    I have many drones and my hubsans are such great flyers and no problems ever. Thanks again for a great review!

  48. Kris P on December 21, 2020 at 10:53 pm

    Have to tried the circle mode?

  49. Dr. Ronald Clark on December 21, 2020 at 10:54 pm

    Actually, look back at your takeoff and you will see it landed on RTH almost exactly where it started.

  50. Javier Tabernilla Diaz on December 21, 2020 at 10:54 pm

    Really good video!
    I just have one question, what the máximum speed it could follow you?

Leave a Comment