Hubsan H501S Follow Me Selfie Drone Accessories Review

The H501S is a great sports action drone, with ability to automatically follow and keep its camera pointed at the user. Find it here http://www.banggood.com/Hubsan-X4-H501S-5_8G-FPV-With-1080P-HD-Camera-Brushless-Motor-GPS-RC-Quadcopter-RTF-p-1004657.html?p=RB0922217402201307U3
It can provide selfie video of action sports to a leisurely walk through the park. But its camera view angle is fixed, and its FPV screen is large and attached to its transmitter/controller. Accessory solutions are appearing for this quadcopter, such as a removable lightweight gimbal to provide adjustable angle GoPro footage, and a 32 channel FPV monitor watch. Both of the accessories are demonstrated in this video.

You may find the equipment demonstrated in this video here:

Hubsan H501S http://www.banggood.com/Hubsan-X4-H501S-5_8G-FPV-With-1080P-HD-Camera-Brushless-Motor-GPS-RC-Quadcopter-RTF-p-1004657.html?p=RB0922217402201307U3

H501S GoPro Gimbal https://www.foxtechfpv.com/gimbal-for-hubsan-501s-quadcopter.html

GTeng T909 Artifact FPV Monitor Watch http://shrsl.com/?~clc7

Runcam 1080p Camera http://shrsl.com/?~clc8

Velcro Cable Ties http://www.walmart.com/ip/Velcro-50pk-Rip-Tie-Cable-Ties-Black-Gray/16517608

This video along with every video of the Quadcopter 101 channel was produced and edited with VSDC Free Video Editor. You may download this excellent, and no kidding “free” video editor here http://www.videosoftdev.com/free-video-editor

Affiliate links: At no cost to you, I do receive a small commission for sales resulting from these links.

MUSIC LICENSE
“Awel” by stefsax
http://ccmixter.org/files/stefsax/7785
is licensed under a Creative Commons license:
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/
music was shortened to fit length of video.

50 Comments

  1. Steve min on April 20, 2021 at 1:23 am

    after watching this I bought the same one..just uploaded my first footage

  2. Nathan Dean on April 20, 2021 at 1:23 am

    What flight time did you measure?

  3. Arizona Dual Sport on April 20, 2021 at 1:24 am

    Sorry to ask.. I’m so new to this.. so I got the hubsan… just ordered the gimbal .. and got the watch already… the question is does the RunCam automatically have a transmitter for sending the signal to the watch ??!?

  4. santi o on April 20, 2021 at 1:25 am

    link for watch plz .

  5. Michael Patrick Cole on April 20, 2021 at 1:26 am

    Excellent!!! I just purchased the H501S and I will be purchasing the gimbal and camera. Thanks for the great video! Mike

  6. G Melchor on April 20, 2021 at 1:29 am

    Thank you so much for all the videos… I learned a lot and still learning… for me is a good way to relief my stress…. you great Quadcopter 101…. let me ask you something…. (kind of lazy to look places like the ones you use to fly) I live in Vegas, Nv…. love desert…. are you around here or what part lol, excuse my question , LOVE YOUR VIDEOS…. keep going please… Love the way you laugh ….and the your patience …thanks so much for answered me a lot questions …. Blessings 🙂 …. I’m following you.

  7. Walt K. on April 20, 2021 at 1:30 am

    Hello again. Do you think the Elephone ELE Explorer 4K Ultra HD WiFi Action Camera will fit?

  8. gargos15 on April 20, 2021 at 1:32 am

    run the video through software stabilization filter to get an even more quality shot

  9. Edgewalker001 on April 20, 2021 at 1:32 am

    You really only need to spin the copter around its own axes when calibrating the magnetometer, so no need to get dizzy XD
    Also that little twitch it does from time to time when follow me is activated is apparently a GPS synch glitch between the quad and receiver, it needs to synch to make sure it’s looking in the right direction and during that time it pitches backwards and to the left, Hubsan has mumbled something about fixing it with firmware but nothing solid seems to be happening.
    Another bug is what sometimes happens when you turn off GPS stability mode and give it full stick forwards, sometimes it apparently glitches out and starts fluttering around while quickly descending, and the only way to fix it is to re-engage GPS mode.

  10. marjamada on April 20, 2021 at 1:34 am

    Love your review. I just got my advanced (Tx) H501s and it will not record video or photos on either of two new micro SD cards,
    both of which work fine in cameras. Pressing ‘ENTER’ (video) produces a message "Put throttle down" – big help, pressing ‘EXIT’ (photo) does nothing. User manual says nothing about SD card specs, but perhaps you know. Does it require like Class 10 or other specific card specs to record? I like the drone, but I really want to record and can’t. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

  11. bluecreech on April 20, 2021 at 1:35 am

    Hey. Nice videos. But why don’t you let your dog out of the car. She would love it…

  12. Russ on April 20, 2021 at 1:36 am

    Can you download the video’s off the card and then email them? What format does it record in? Thanks

  13. Firman Pradana on April 20, 2021 at 1:36 am

    can apply in h501a or h501c ??

  14. John D on April 20, 2021 at 1:36 am

    Love the video!. Your enthusiasm and jolly nature is refreshing. Cheers me up no end!

  15. Forsyth Bacon III on April 20, 2021 at 1:36 am

    I had a Honda Element that I drove out to my brothers property, Bacon Strip Ranch out in the Mojave. It did terrific. Nobody should laugh. I did become envious of some Toyota FJs that I saw which seemed to be able to drive faster with less teeth jarring and I own one of those now. Thanks for all of the reviews. Keep ’em coming.

  16. Drubadub Adub on April 20, 2021 at 1:41 am

    When I grow up, I am going to be Just like ‘Quadcopter 101′!

    I have an Element (and Freakin’ LOVE It!) and will soon have a Hubsan H501S!! 😀

  17. Quadcopter 101 on April 20, 2021 at 1:43 am

    You can buy the H501S here https://goo.gl/kPNZHT

  18. 2 on April 20, 2021 at 1:43 am

    does the camera bracket come with the drone (metal things under drone which attaches to camera)? also when you go on link to buy drone what version is it that has the camera bracket?

  19. Duane Bowman on April 20, 2021 at 1:44 am

    I see that some people are having problems with the H501s now. I am looking at the H501s or the H109s as a backup drone. what do you feel? Like your vid’s

  20. Captain Greed on April 20, 2021 at 1:44 am

    Hey Quadcopter 101 my number 1 idol when it comes to drones/quad. I would like to ask if I put it on a follow me mode then I ride in a motorcycle with a speed of 40km/h, will it still able to catch up? if yes, what is the top speed of this drone to catch up. Your reply will be appreciated 🙂

  21. nico essesoioo on April 20, 2021 at 1:46 am

    Hi. Do you thing that the accessorie can be used on a h502s?? It is regulable? Thanx!,

  22. Channel cSc on April 20, 2021 at 1:47 am

    Sorry… i can´t good read or listenUS English… sorr 🙁 but what Gimbel system do you use… and were can i order it?

  23. Harley & Me on April 20, 2021 at 1:47 am

    Just ordered my hubsan 501s, can’t wait to get it.

  24. Mike Nice on April 20, 2021 at 1:49 am

    nice video dude

  25. Trike Channel on April 20, 2021 at 1:50 am

    Thank you for posting, looks like even with a gmbal the video still comes out shakey , just like the onboard cameras does.

  26. Ken5imaging on April 20, 2021 at 1:51 am

    Hi Quadcopter 101, Thank you for all your videos! I have a question, with the Hubsan H501s, when you are in "Follow me" mode and in GPS mode, as I understand one of the features, when the battery runs low doesn’t it RTH on its own or does it auto land where is running out of battery or land near the remote…i’m confused..Thanks!

  27. Nicholas Fisher on April 20, 2021 at 1:53 am

    hey quadcopter 101. heard ALOT of discussions about firmware updates causing the hubsan 501s to actually decrease in gps stability( toilet bowl effect) and overall performance. So my question is–what firmware do you use in your videos? Your quad seems quite stable in GPS mode

  28. rlachermeier on April 20, 2021 at 1:55 am

    An always great job. Might have to pick up that gimbal. Glad you answered the question on the firmware as allot of people seem to be having issues. Mine is still coming in the mail and every time in watch you flying it makes me antsy.

  29. UrAsiaticBrothafromAnotherMotha on April 20, 2021 at 1:56 am

    H501S VS. JYU Hornet? Which one would you purchase between the two?

  30. John Luciano on April 20, 2021 at 1:57 am

    Would it have gone back to start point ?

  31. Peter Teng on April 20, 2021 at 1:57 am

    amazing video! really nice place,,, and cool modification

  32. titania1787 on April 20, 2021 at 2:00 am

    will the hubsan 502s be able to fly with a goPro gimbel

  33. rlachermeier on April 20, 2021 at 2:01 am

    One last thought. Have you considered getting a hood for the controller.

  34. Tekolicious on April 20, 2021 at 2:02 am

    I am looking for a quad under 500 that has gps and FPV I have a Hubsan 107c which is a good beginner drone, but made me want something that I can fly when there is moderate winds. What do you think of this drone or is there something better??

  35. Hieu Phan on April 20, 2021 at 2:05 am

    How long is the flight time after you attached the gimbal and go pro.
    Thanks

  36. Mike Nichols on April 20, 2021 at 2:05 am

    Yes I have a question quadcopter 101 can you have 2 x4 h501S drones bound to the same advanced transmitter?? Thanks Mike

  37. Cess Outdoors on April 20, 2021 at 2:08 am

    Why not just turn your hands and that way you will not get dizzy?

  38. 2 1/2 Acres on April 20, 2021 at 2:08 am

    I don’t buy anything from banggood anymore they tried to still everything in my bank. Thank goodness my bank covered it!!!

  39. rlachermeier on April 20, 2021 at 2:11 am

    Wow. 13:53 is not bad. I have the runcam also so that’s good news.

  40. C22Acolyte on April 20, 2021 at 2:12 am

    What FW version are you using on your H501s? I’ve been testing Follow me -mode and RTH and getting a lot of toilet bowl and generally erratic behaviour. First time testing RTH it took the quad to 100 meters flight height and flew in a large radius circle before starting the descent.

  41. SCOTT COLLINS on April 20, 2021 at 2:12 am

    I LOVE THIS GUY HE IS THE BILL DANCE OF THE QUAD WORLD HA HA HE NEEDS TO SHOW US SOME OF HIS FAMOUS CRASH AND BURNS LOL

  42. Adin Walls on April 20, 2021 at 2:12 am

    Okay so you sent me a link to the H501C and I have decided the "s" is the one for me (this video sealed the deal) I have thoroughly enjoyed your channel.

  43. WHEELZ FPV on April 20, 2021 at 2:12 am

    I was wondering how did you do the calibration did you do it like in the manual cuz it says on flat clock wise then nose counter clock

  44. wlacalle on April 20, 2021 at 2:14 am

    Enjoy your videos and have learned a lot from them.  What video editing software do you use to insert second video,  and could you do a tutorial on software?  Thanks for the "How To Fly" videos,  I purchased the Hubsan 502E and learned to fly by watching them.  Also purchased the 501s and love it!  Thanks !!

  45. JM Luab on April 20, 2021 at 2:15 am

    what if a motorized 2axis gimbal is installed… somewhat an interesting also to know the flight time.

  46. G&D Outdoors Gavin Walsh on April 20, 2021 at 2:15 am

    hey I got this drone and I have been wanting to get it flying but when I do a compass calibration and spin it it still won’t calibrate. Do you know how I could fix this or have any recomandations how to find help

  47. LARRY D on April 20, 2021 at 2:16 am

    Not much difference with that bracket then the original still a little bit left and right

  48. chelenthal on April 20, 2021 at 2:17 am

    Do you know if that camera "gimbal" could also be used on the H502E as well? If so, do you think the H502e could lift a gopro style camera?

  49. 2 on April 20, 2021 at 2:21 am

    also sorry to pester u but how long does the battery last? what is the average speed? And which model has the follow me mode on the controller (if it is on the controller)? or am I stupid and should know this stuff? thx just some stuff I want 2 know before buying 😀

  50. Adin Walls on April 20, 2021 at 2:21 am

    Hey there. H501s is on its way! You mentioned a light stabilised Gimbal would be huge. Do you suppose the Feiyu mini 2 axis Gimbal could do the trick? It’s coming in at about 140g and a Firefly 7s is 40g, this seems acceptable to me.

Leave a Comment