Hubsan H501S Follow Me Drone Flight Test Review

Hubsan H501S Follow Me Drone Flight Test Review

This small feature rich FPV quadcopter has a follow me mode that makes it the ultimate sport selfie drone. Small enough to be carried just about anywhere via backpack. It’s also very easy to setup and fly. Find it here https://goo.gl/QY2dxi
or here from Amazon http://amzn.to/2eJMdtY
and VR007 FPV goggles here https://goo.gl/V5oQjH

Pro’s
– Onboard 1080p camera.
– 5.8 Ghz FPV system.
– Lightweight transmitter with built in FPV monitor.
– Telemetry information visible on transmitter FPV screen (quadcopter position, altitude, speed, remaining battery power, etc…)
– GPS position hold and barometer altitude hold modes.
– Follow me mode that automatically points the camera toward you and follows your movements.
– Headless mode.
– Return to home/landing.
– Large battery that provides plenty (about 20 minutes) of flight time.

Con’s
– Altitude can vary (drop) as the speed of the quadcopter increases, or with wind. This is caused by static air pressure drop to the altitude hold barometer from quadcopter movement (or wind). Additionally, the quadcopter can not automatically detect objects in its flight path. Be aware of both of these limitations to prevent unintended impact with trees, or in my case, desert bushes 😉

Description:
Brand Name: Hubsan
Item NO.: H501S
Item Name: Hubsan X4 brushless FPV 1080P camera GPS RC quadcopter
Frequency: 2.4G
Channel: 4CH
Gyro: 6 Axis
Motor (x4): Brushless KV1650 PM1806 x4
ESC: brushless 12A x4
Charging time: About 150mins
Flying time: About 18 – 20mins
Control distance: About 300m
Quadcopter battery: 7.4V 2700mAh Lipo. 105g
Transmitter battery: 4 x 1.5V AA battery ( not included )
Weight(including the battery):410g
Size:220*220*70mm
Package Weight : 1.7 kg
Package Size: 34 x 15 x 32 cm
Max Flight radius:300m
5.8G wireless video transmission distance:300m
Memory card: 4G TF card.
Max support: 64G card
Color: Golden White, Golden Black

Note: The GPS of Hubsan H501S is a Global Version. It can be used in any country.

Package Includes:
1x Hubsan X4 Brushless H501S RC Quadcopter, 1x Transmitter, 1x Battery, 1x Charger, 4x Blade

Affiliate links: At no cost to you, I do receive a small commission for sales resulting from these links.

MUSIC LICENSE
“Awel” by stefsax
http://ccmixter.org/files/stefsax/7785
is licensed under a Creative Commons license:
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/
music was shortened to fit length of video.

50 Comments

  1. Alex Shpayuk on September 8, 2021 at 10:36 pm

    Very nice review, thank you

  2. ChayD on September 8, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    Great review. These have proven to be ‘Dad friendly’, he brought one as his first drone that he can fly without crashing and now takes it everywhere with him. The return home is very useful if you lose track and need a get out of jail free card.

  3. Forex Brizio on September 8, 2021 at 10:38 pm

    Can you explain GPS and Altitude hold mode?

  4. Adam Press on September 8, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    Video does not get recorded to SD CARD?

  5. Mountain Biker on September 8, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    With follow-me mode activated, is the drone still responsive to the sticks? I’m wondering, for example, if you set it up for follow-me mode to say follow you on a hike with the transmitter in a backpack, if inadvertent activation of the sticks would move the drone or even cause a crash!

  6. Sound Avenjour on September 8, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    That thing has Parkinson’s disease

  7. RayFpv on September 8, 2021 at 10:39 pm

    Was this the one that fell from the sky when you was on vacation. I been trying to find that video you made. Could you send me the link. I pick up the hubsan H501S-S and had a fly away and lucky I was able to bring it back with RTH. It was a really weird feeling. I’m scare to put it back on the air. Thank you quadcopter101.

  8. Alva Manuputty on September 8, 2021 at 10:40 pm

    good drone for newbie

  9. gautam senthilkumar on September 8, 2021 at 10:41 pm

    Transmitter rechargeable ?

  10. overbuilt automotive on September 8, 2021 at 10:43 pm

    speed up up test the thing man nice videos

  11. Todd Dixon on September 8, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    Great video man, super informative and you and your dog are the best! So many funny dad comments haha, love it

  12. Amanda Brown on September 8, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    13:13

  13. Al B. Dersame on September 8, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    Quadcopter 101, one more question if I may ? It’s very hard to unplug the battery from the transmitter. I can tell that the wires will tear from the battery before too long. Do you have any special way of removing the battery from the transmitter, without pulling the 2 wires loose ?

  14. cackychet on September 8, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    my fav for back yard flying

  15. ROB-IN-PHILLY on September 8, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    You guys really need to stop thinking you’re connecting to a satellite…It’s not technologically possible with that thing…I have the same model…You are interfacing with cell towers…USAF av com ret.

  16. DN OUX on September 8, 2021 at 10:50 pm

    Can you record video and save the footage to make a movie!

  17. Chris Pepper on September 8, 2021 at 10:53 pm

    My eyes must be going but i don’t see anything on screen lol due to Sun lol

  18. Thanos Thanos on September 8, 2021 at 10:53 pm

    I have this drone from about 3 year’s… It is very good fast and have nice quality… The only problem is the video stability, photos quality is very good!!

  19. Dan K on September 8, 2021 at 10:55 pm

    There is a jst connector inside battery box,you can use battery from H 502e or s drone push it into battery box,then to left,then plug it in,it will last a lot longer regular batteries

  20. orange70383 on September 8, 2021 at 10:56 pm

    Very confusing. Switch up is gps mode, switch down is alt hold mode. But then you said you’re going into alt hold and follow me in gps mode. So I guess the drone will always hold it’s altitude in gps and alt hold unless you move the throttle.

  21. ghost agent on September 8, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    I have to say what a very very informative review you made of this video of this drone it was an extremely good video definitely leaving a like

  22. bmit989 on September 8, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    Can you tell me why mine has a sensor error

  23. Eric Jackson on September 8, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    copter 101 I love your videos by the way I’m a big fan just want to ask you one question love the latin jazz music that you use at the end of your videos I love that music I would like to have a full version of that music if I can find it.

  24. Eric Maurer on September 8, 2021 at 11:00 pm

    Amazing, I think I might get it.

  25. jeff b on September 8, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    This one or the 8811 drone..I like drone to have sum size

  26. Fernando Luna on September 8, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    So I have one of these drones, they are pretty cool and can take a beating, but I have a question for you… what happens if you put the sticks on the remote on the position to "dissarm" the drone while it’s flying??? I’m talking about the same procedure to "arm" the drone when you first start your flight…

  27. Run For Health on September 8, 2021 at 11:03 pm

    Is this drone need FAA registration?

  28. Sandro Pavlinc on September 8, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    Very cool drone i think ny nest Will be This one, it really looks cool in the air and The camera is amazin 👌. Thank you for this video.
    On my channel i have a review of syma x23w.. Nothing like yours 🤣.

  29. Joselo Sanchez on September 8, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    Anyone else read “Husband” first place? 🤣

  30. jelly belly on September 8, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    4 years later still good

  31. phantomalex777 on September 8, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    where do you get compatable  goggles at a good price?

  32. Grace horses on September 8, 2021 at 11:09 pm

    I cant get mine to fly, it just flashes blue and pink lights, but everything else is good

  33. Fiat Uno Newsletter on September 8, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    Thank you sooo much!

  34. Paul Harris on September 8, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    I’ve been pleased with the H501S. Both the drone and controller seem to be well made. Unfortunately I’ve only been able to fly it in my backyard and won’t have a better opportunity until the weather warms up. Oh to have the expanse of the desert to fly in. Thanks for the great review.

  35. Kelvin Bloomfield on September 8, 2021 at 11:15 pm

    nice but well over priced in my opinion 101

  36. WilBeau Guil on September 8, 2021 at 11:15 pm

    Great Drone!!!!!

  37. versatile duplicity on September 8, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    How far does it fly

  38. Julian Tee on September 8, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    Is he in the middle of the Desert

  39. Giles Whitehead on September 8, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    Superb, very human video. Which is the best I have seen. Keep up the good work.

  40. Quadcopter 101 on September 8, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    If you *want the best price* https://goo.gl/QY2dxi
    Also *available on Amazon* here http://amzn.to/2i0wpYH

  41. Diy crafts on September 8, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    These are so good I got one as a surprise and it works amazingly this is a good video to help beginners

  42. Gheorghe Ostache on September 8, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    flight time from 9:10 to 20:10 is 11 minutes – was the remaining charge good for the difference to the advertised flight time ?

  43. Angie Akoto on September 8, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    It ended up hitting me in the hand after I did the down and left and right for the controller and my hand is bleeding atm

  44. dzjc01 on September 8, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    I have the same model but when I record video I don’t get any audio. Is that normal?

  45. Rick Sánchez on September 8, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Love this drone it’s a peach

  46. Captain Marre on September 8, 2021 at 11:32 pm

    Whats the speed

  47. DN OUX on September 8, 2021 at 11:32 pm

    Whats a gimbo?

  48. My Vegan Journey on September 8, 2021 at 11:32 pm

    Hi, could you tell me how you connected a headset to the drone please

  49. Farzana Bibi on September 8, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    Crap

  50. Eric Tyson on September 8, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    I got-getting a lot of good pointers about how to use this-a drone yea thank you sir-mam

Leave a Comment