Eachine EX5 229 grams Brushless GPS 4K Camera Drone Flight Test Review

This lightweight GPS camera drone does not require registration in most countries. Find it here http://bit.ly/Eachine-EX5

Pros
– Mavic Mini clone (in looks only). Impress your friends who wouldn’t know any better 😉
– Weighs only 229 grams, well below the 250 grams registration limit. Again, this drone does not require registration in most countries.
– GPS/GLONASS positioning system plus optical flow makes this drone steady in hover, with very accurate positioning. GPS/GLONASS positioning provides automatic return to home and landing on command, loss of signal, and low battery.
– 1406 brushless motors that should require little maintenance.
– Camera lens can be remotely aimed up or down.
– 7.4V 2200mah battery can provide up to 30 minutes flight time (I got about 14 minutes on a windy day).
– Eachine Pro app provides FPV video, interpolation of 4K video and photos, telemetry information, and advanced features of circle position, follow me,and waypoints. Eachine Pro app is available on Google Play here http://bit.ly/EachinePro and for iOS here http://bit.ly/Eachine-Pro
– Available in two versions: 1000meter version (for 802.11ac WiFi capable phones), and 200 meter version (for phones without 802.11ac WiFi capability).

Cons
– The 1000m version of the drone requires use of a phone with 802.11ac WiFi. Before purchasing the 1000m version, verify that your phone does indeed have 802.11ac WiFi (not everybody has such on their phone).
– No stabilized gimbal.
– No SD card recording capability. Video is recorded directly to your phone via WiFi connection to the drone. Expect the usual frozen frames, frame dropping, and low frame rate due to inherent WiFi video recording limitations.
– Camera sensor is not 4K (more likely 720p or 1080p). Instead the video and photos are artificially enlarged (interpolated) to 4K using the Eachine Pro app. This interpolation is extremely processor intensive. Some phone processors are not capable of both conducting this interpolation and then storing the enlarged video to your phone’s memory.
– Successful Interpolation on Android requires a phone with a modern processor. As per Banggood, the absolute minimum required phone processors are Snapdragon 660, Helio P60, Huawei Kirin 710, or Samsung EXYNOS 8890. (But note that my Ulefone Armor 6E phone uses a Helio P70 processor, and it still wasn’t fast enough to process and store the 4K video).
– Much phone memory is required to store the 4K video. Some phones (both Android and iOS) may not have sufficient remaining storage space to save the video.

Affiliate links: At no cost to you, I do receive a small commission for sales resulting from these links.

This video along with every video of the Quadcopter 101 channel was produced and edited with VSDC Free Video Editor. You may download this excellent, and no kidding “free” video editor here http://www.videosoftdev.com/free-video-editor

MUSIC LICENSE
“Awel” by stefsax
http://ccmixter.org/files/stefsax/7785
is licensed under a Creative Commons license:
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/
music was shortened to fit length of video.

50 Comments

  1. Robert on April 18, 2021 at 1:16 am

    I just got this drone and yes it’s a fun flyer but I’m looking to up my game so I ordered the Mavic Mini I should have it in 2 weeks

  2. Minarchist 412 on April 18, 2021 at 1:17 am

    Have you moved from the Nevada desert.

  3. drie wiel on April 18, 2021 at 1:17 am

    Silly 4k crap. Just make a good 1080P drone.

  4. Johan Ucup on April 18, 2021 at 1:18 am

    Now L109 pro 2 Axis gimbal same price with eachine ex5 in banggod,,, so you decide..

  5. Play With Me on April 18, 2021 at 1:18 am

    WE LOVE DRONES come check us out

  6. lapulapu54 on April 18, 2021 at 1:22 am

    good morning thanks for sharing once again your tutorials are so helpful and so supportive to beginner droners like myself.
    I know you’re busy I’m not sure if one was sent to you or if you have the time but the ZLRC SG108 came out , I ordered one as a beginner drones for myself , again I’m not sure if it’s worth the tutorial but I thought I’d ask anyways ,,,,, thanks , its the app (HFUNPRO) that I see has issues???? I wonder if it’s a certain device operating system that causes issues….

  7. Kanari Mentos on April 18, 2021 at 1:22 am

    sucks quality of video

  8. Adri A on April 18, 2021 at 1:24 am

    its perfect to learn to use a drone i crashed mine twice and its still working perfect! 🤪

  9. D'Oh! on April 18, 2021 at 1:26 am

    So let me get this straight. If I buy the $100 ex5 I will need to spend $1000 on a new phone. But if instead I get the $400 Mavic Mini my phone is OK. Hmmmm! What should I do? Spend $1100 on the ex5 or $400 on a Mavic Mini? D’Oh!

  10. Ryuk Aidan on April 18, 2021 at 1:28 am

    thanks for giving me info about what phone should to be used..
    👍😎👍

  11. everton Martins on April 18, 2021 at 1:28 am

    Queria um drone desse não ninguém quer realizar meu sonho você pode me ajudar com um drone desse amo parabéns pelo seu trabalho seu drone legal

  12. Nico8D D on April 18, 2021 at 1:29 am

    This seams to be a nice budget brusless FPV stabilised drone. Have you tried pairing FPV goggles with it? Thanks for sharing.

  13. No Name on April 18, 2021 at 1:30 am

    I need follow me and dji mini2 does not have it smh

  14. Michael Whinnery on April 18, 2021 at 1:30 am

    Why would anyone purchase a drone without a stabilization ???
    The footage is unwatchable

  15. MarcRCAddict on April 18, 2021 at 1:33 am

    Another rubbish filming drone by eachine, as soon as I saw 4K I right away drop that down to 720p if your lucky, manufacturers should be ashamed when they state 4K when the footage quality is barely 720p, no matter what the resolution says if the video quality is rubbish it’s rubbish, DONT BUY THIS DRONE IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A DRONE TO FILM WITH..

  16. Gimp Man on April 18, 2021 at 1:34 am

    This is a Mavic Mini without a camera.

    Thanks for mentioning the issues when using an Android Phone. My phone was no good with this drone. Yet the same phone is fine with my Mavic Mini.

    PS. In the end I converted my ex5 to 5.8ghz analog FPV to use with goggles.

  17. MrYuraco on April 18, 2021 at 1:34 am

    The Eachine EX5 drone is complete bullshit. Suitable only for flights without a camera. I wrote about the problems to the seller and sent a video of the flight in an open field, so in response I received: Fly further from the buildings.
    Who cares, I will throw off the real video from this drone mount.
    Poor GPS positioning and disgusting operation of the Follow Me and Flyby functions are its main advantages.
    All that is true about him is the flight time.

  18. Fiferius on April 18, 2021 at 1:35 am

    Does propellers from Mavic mini fit on this clone drone ?

  19. Juben Carmel Membreve on April 18, 2021 at 1:36 am

    Next review GD89 pro plss

  20. Hibou-53 X on April 18, 2021 at 1:36 am

    Can you install the UV camera filter of the Mavic mini to the EX5…? they look very similar

  21. Sexy John on April 18, 2021 at 1:37 am

    Snapdragon 660. Exynos 8890. almost every midrange android phone in 2020 do come with a similiar or better performing soc. I think if u have a very old or cheap android phone thn it should be a problem indeed. But a good review indeed I’ve been seeing ur videos since last year and learnt a lot.

  22. rembo14532 on April 18, 2021 at 1:37 am

    Eachine EX5 is the best budget drone under 250 grams ?

  23. Minarchist 412 on April 18, 2021 at 1:37 am

    For $100 that’s good value for money. Most people have high end phones. Beginners won’t want to buy a DJI.

  24. George Pace on April 18, 2021 at 1:37 am

    Hi mate not a bad little drone there. 4k video follow me mode not bad at all

  25. ferret on April 18, 2021 at 1:40 am

    so a cheap drone requires a high end phone, because some idiot doesn`t think a cheap built in card reader is a good idea, i was interested in getting one of these but lack of sd card and it`s limited range have put me off, i won`t be wasting money on this piece of crap.

  26. Colin Jones on April 18, 2021 at 1:40 am

    Use x recorder and record the screen, if you want a screen without the telemetry you can, press the icon next to the zoom key on the app and you will get a reasonably clear uncluttered screen captured video recordin.

  27. Jefferson Vicente on April 18, 2021 at 1:41 am

    the non stabilised video on cheap drones is a no longer preferable. this one wont sell that much. anyways, thanks for the video sir

  28. The Mike on April 18, 2021 at 1:43 am

    M73 rc drone plsss

  29. Robert Desmond Warner on April 18, 2021 at 1:43 am

    your flyin into a tornado though

  30. JiNdRousH on April 18, 2021 at 1:46 am

    Hi captain,
    Thanks for nice review .. i’m looking for drone at EX5 price level .. would you recommend me this one or there are better ones? Thank you 🙂
    Greeting from Czech republic 🇨🇿

  31. Ian Donaldson on April 18, 2021 at 1:46 am

    noice

  32. Fitrian Sabily on April 18, 2021 at 1:47 am

    Legend channel

  33. Ján Drab on April 18, 2021 at 1:55 am

    Thanks for review. Finally you’ve said how do you like my shirt today :). This drone is not for me. I know you’re reviewing a toy grade drones, but this is just not worth the money I think. Thanks again, I’m looking forward for your next review.

  34. orange70383 on April 18, 2021 at 1:57 am

    I wish all drones would be non phone types, I like the controllers with a built-in screen, it gives the drone a totally independent set-up.

  35. 2611김현석 on April 18, 2021 at 1:59 am

    2k 30fps

  36. SANROCK on April 18, 2021 at 1:59 am

    Hi. please tell me how to work with you. I have drones need to test.

  37. Morgan Tyree on April 18, 2021 at 2:00 am

    What do you think of the still photo quality on this drone? I’m looking for a budget GPS drone as a back-up for my Mavic Mini should I not be able to get it off the ground. I’m mostly interested in still photos whereas video is very secondary. Would you recommend this one, or is there another in your wheelhouse that you have tested?

    BTW: I have a brother in Ridgecrest and in my next visit, I was going to look you up and buy you a cup of coffee or lunch, but now you’re in Erie, PA. Well, I’ve been known to get over in that area of the woods now and then too (Akron, O.), so you never know. All the best to you.

  38. RD's RC Reviews on April 18, 2021 at 2:01 am

    This one is ok. My buddy David is also reviewing it. Just wait until wintertime for your reviews in PA. Going to present a whole new set of problems lol. From snow to cold that makes it impossible to feel your fingers when flying. You may have to review more cars in the winter. Cars are great in the snow.

  39. Keith Benicek on April 18, 2021 at 2:03 am

    You always have a knack for reviewing the cheapest junkies crappiest feature limited garbage drones on the market. All nothing but "Toy" class.

  40. Private on April 18, 2021 at 2:04 am

    I didn’t like your unprofessional laughing on this product. Manufacturer never said it’s MAVIC Mini, its their product Eachine what they could make it the best at this time. Show us drone that you have made you we can laugh on yours too. Be without prejudice when making review without cynic compare. Its like you come with your car, lets presume you have Ford. I could laugh my a**e loud out and state that it will never have performance of Mercedes or BMW or other makes. So stay on point and make nice review. Thank you.

  41. Bloodywasher on April 18, 2021 at 2:06 am

    Ugh… for 150$ bucks you get almost all the features of mavic minus camera + gimbal. This thing has a 1000m+range 1000m is just for video signal. I’ve flown mine on a full charge for 25 minutes before getting low bat warning…. it’s perfect for someone just starting or looking to save money but who doesn’t care about video quality. Heck mavic like 400$+ sooo you can buy a decent stabilized cam for that much or a mini 360 go

  42. Dtown96 on April 18, 2021 at 2:08 am

    How would you remove the battery?

  43. Malik Sahadeo on April 18, 2021 at 2:10 am

    Love from jamaica

  44. drie wiel on April 18, 2021 at 2:10 am

    I do miss the desert. Desert seems so deserted without you.

  45. Gazoo on April 18, 2021 at 2:11 am

    Terrible. Two on my radar are HS720E and Bugs 20EIS.

  46. Intruder Evil on April 18, 2021 at 2:12 am

    Only Mode 1 und And mode 2? Able to switch to mode 3 and 4?

  47. TheTroLLinator2 on April 18, 2021 at 2:14 am

    great review thanks.

  48. mani khaled aidoud on April 18, 2021 at 2:16 am

    can you capture 720p to limit the size and cpu demand on your phone?

  49. Caper Couple on April 18, 2021 at 2:16 am

    i like the fact it has brushless motors and from what i seen it does fly pretty good but doesn’t have a long enough range for my liking

  50. When Mountains Move on April 18, 2021 at 2:16 am

    This is god awful. There is really no stabilization at all and video quality is super grainy. Don’t be a broke ass and save for a DJI mini 2.

Leave a Comment