DroningON | Lily Next-Gen Drone Review (Part 2) – Setup, Flight Test, Range & Video Test

DroningON | Lily Next-Gen Drone Review (Part 2) – Setup, Flight Test, Range & Video Test

Finally its time for Part 2 where we charge, setup and flight test the Lily Next-Gen drone, we also take a look at the similarities between this drone and the High Great ‘Take’ drone (https://www.gearbest.com/rc-quadcopters/pp_692715.html?wid=21&hiahd&lkid=12827629), plus other competitors.

This part was delayed unfortunately due to a ‘black screen’ issue that prevented us from capturing video during flight, the drone flew but we had no FPV and therefore couldn’t fly out of LOS. We received a replacement and despite suffering from similar issues, we were able to film the review.

PART 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnbBiYuNVeU
PART 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k041iYR7vGo

FEATURED LINKS:
|– High Great ‘Take’ Drone: https://www.gearbest.com/rc-quadcopters/pp_692715.html?wid=21&hiahd&lkid=12827629
|– ZeroTech Dobby (TomTop): http://shrsl.com/?ig54
|– ZeroTech Dobby (BangGood): https://goo.gl/AzfrlJ
|– ZeroTech Dobby (GearBest): https://goo.gl/PXNwE7
|– ZeroTech Dobby (HobbyWow): http://shrsl.com/?ig53
|– DJI Spark: http://www.droningon.co/dji-spark

EDITORIAL:

Lily Next-Gen Drone Review, Unboxing, Inspection & Flight Test

VIDEO CONTENTS:
00:13 – Lily Next-Gen Introduction/Recap
01:00 – Lily Next-Gen Flight Test Intro
01:30 – Lily Next-Gen Battery & Powerup
02:04 – Lily Next-Gen Dobby & High Great ‘Take’ Drone
03:17 – Lily Next-Gen WiFi Connection
04:08 – Lily Next-Gen EIS Video Test
04:37 – Lily Next-Gen Soft-Mounted Mechanism
05:20 – Lily Next-Gen App Tour/Settings
05:54 – Lily Next-Gen Compass Calibration
06:55 – Lily Next-Gen Take-Off
09:21 – Lily Next-Gen Return-To-Home Test
11:36 – Lily Next-Gen Altitude Test
14:32 – Lily Next-Gen Black Live Feed Fix/Work-Around
15:32 – Lily Next-Gen Follow Me Mode Test
18:25 – Lily Next-Gen 360 POI Mode Test
21:02 – Lily Next-Gen Range Test
23:10 – Lily Next-Gen Photo Test
25:00 – Lily Next-Gen Summary (Positives/Negatives)

———————————————

OUR FILMING/VIDEO EQUIPMENT:
|– Camera: http://amzn.to/2hFiWqB
|– Lens (50mm): http://amzn.to/2hHKjQV
|– Lens (18-135mm): http://amzn.to/2ju11nj
|– Clip Microphone: http://amzn.to/2hDELXV
|– Shotgun Microphone: http://amzn.to/2imbOwr
|– SLR Microphone Cable: http://amzn.to/2jvSMXO

Also visit us elsewhere on the interweb 😉

► VISIT OUR WEBSITE: http://www.droningon.co
► JOIN THE DISCUSSION: https://goo.gl/xP5Wzg
► LIKE US ON FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/droningon.co
► MUSIC BY: https://soundcloud.com/the-chemist-10

50 Comments

  1. Hunter Antill on December 14, 2021 at 11:19 am

    The company i worked at had pre ordered the original lily drone lol

  2. John Leigh on December 14, 2021 at 11:21 am

    awesome review video – it does seem like the next evolution of Dobby which has now been discontinued but it gained a ton of weight taking it to 400 grams – Im still on the fence about Wingsland S6 due to previous issues but at least it seems to be still a current live model getting updates and Im really looking for something less than 250 grams and foldable with excellent video

  3. Qibili on December 14, 2021 at 11:22 am

    I stopped watching when he mentioned you CANNOT fly without internet. This is crap! Can you find internet of GPS out in the woods?

  4. iMeMySelf on December 14, 2021 at 11:23 am

    Good and thorough review, honest as always. Seeing the app and the specs, I immediately compared it to my Dobby, too 🙂
    MOTA disappoints big time with their radio silence it is not to be expected from an American company.
    The Gearbest version seem discontinued, perhaps MOTA bought all the rights to sell it.
    Try getting your hands on the new Walkera Peri when it arrives, it’s very interesting don’t you think? 🙂

  5. Earl J *Maui_Boy* on December 14, 2021 at 11:24 am

    * * *
    Two comments…
    Price for original Lily supporters…
    I originally sent Lily $499 a month after their original offering…
    They kept it for a year and refunded it when they couldn’t deliver…
    I bought the $699 version of the Next-Gen… with the $250 original
    supporter discount – I paid $450 for this one… less than the original
    Lily… worth the frustration and aggravation – TBD … to be determined.
    * * *
    Fan on bottom…
    Is that fan an exhaust fan or an intake fan…?
    I’m not sure an exhaust fan would cause much problem…
    but an intake fan could be a very big problem… for dust and other
    lightweight particles that will inevitably get kicked up during takeoffs
    and landings. . .
    * * *
    Great review… I have a Spark…
    I should place them side by side as well. . . (grin)
    * * *

    Until that time. . .

  6. RMA Studio on December 14, 2021 at 11:24 am

    update for june 2019, lily is now only $199 at b&h. Worth it as a cheap 4k drone for business use and just starting out on a huge budget? Will probably be either this, the zino, or the fimi x8. Leaning towards the fimi being slightly better than the zino at basically the same price as a dji spark. But lily at $200 seems like possibly a good deal too.

  7. Lil Kash on December 14, 2021 at 11:28 am

    Does it follow you?

  8. NJ Tech on December 14, 2021 at 11:28 am

    Good job, Ash!

  9. Brandon Mitchell on December 14, 2021 at 11:29 am

    Cool Review , to bad this product is Shite! Save your monies people… buy a spark with remote and 3 extra batteries for like 600$ usd

  10. Expat in Mazarrón on December 14, 2021 at 11:30 am

    Great review on the Lily Ash, been waiting a while for this and you did a great job giving the info! Many thanks for sharing 🙂

  11. arteshe.sorkh6 on December 14, 2021 at 11:30 am

    No gimbal?How can it be!!!?

  12. Raymond Siewert on December 14, 2021 at 11:33 am

    You dropped under 15% on the drone and it was returning home ! 32 % was the controller battery ! Man some people just don’t get it, even with a Red Low Battery signal on !

  13. Creative SparkZ on December 14, 2021 at 11:35 am

    Nice review, but at £350 (= High Great Take) too expensive. App has somewhat resemblance to the ZeroTech Dobby (which I snapped up recently for £99, incl. a spare battery – and got two drones for that price, one as spare). With the Mavic Air out now, expect the Spark to be dropping in price. And when it does, might get one eventually.

    If the High Great Take goes to £150, might reconsider.

  14. lavaboQC on December 14, 2021 at 11:37 am

    Anyone ordered a lily recently and is waiting for delivery ?? How much time did it take between ordering and receiving?

  15. Michael Ma on December 14, 2021 at 11:38 am

    Can you blame them for not spending millions in R&D? They might sell less than 100. Maybe less than 10. Really no reason to get this over a Mavic Pro or even a Spark.

  16. Paul Fowler on December 14, 2021 at 11:39 am

    This is the first time I’ve watched one of your videos. Thank you. Very informative. Had to subscribe!!!

  17. SELFIE DRONE Philippines on December 14, 2021 at 11:39 am

    Hi. Thanks for the review. Good foldable selfie drone. They need to fix the bugs and price though.

  18. Michael Ma on December 14, 2021 at 11:40 am

    Everything seemed great except the video quality…which is an absolute deal breaker. It’s as if someone built a beautiful car and it drives like a dream. Unfortunately it has no room for any passengers, even the driver. Totally pointless.

  19. elebate on December 14, 2021 at 11:43 am

    Did anybody get a remote controller? I am waiting for mine more than 6 months…

  20. Richard Burley on December 14, 2021 at 11:44 am

    Hi you in bristol hengrove I fly there too

  21. Brian Corbett Videography on December 14, 2021 at 11:44 am

    Hi, you might be able to help, I decided to use the lily next gen drone the other day to find out that the app on phone doesn’t allow me to fly the drone anymore, is the drone totally useless now or is there a third party app I can use to fly the drone. Your help would be appreciated. Brian

  22. SIlver & Black Today on December 14, 2021 at 11:45 am

    If you can’t get video download via USB, how do you download for editing? Thx

  23. blastman8888 on December 14, 2021 at 11:46 am

    $699 for this doesn’t come with a transmitter for $100 more I can get a DJI mavric pro

  24. Sean Tully on December 14, 2021 at 11:47 am

    where were you reciieving wifi from? your service from your phone?

  25. Syho Daranikone on December 14, 2021 at 11:48 am

    Hey I had a question. I ordered a Lily Next-Gen and was playing around with it loving it. But I did notice when I capture video it is not in 4k. I’m not sure if its a setting I didn’t enable that I couldn’t find or what but I’m starting to think it doesn’t record 4k HD Video as stated on the website -_- Starting to get bummed out

  26. Integrated Logics on December 14, 2021 at 11:49 am

    no controller? HATE USING PHONES to fly my Drones. TOTALLY SUCKS

  27. Gabi Dan on December 14, 2021 at 11:50 am

    i have HG Take .. its the same drone inside .. HG Take works with lily app and even updated my drone OP…. :)) IT WORKS WITH flyghtgo app from HG and with lily app also..

  28. el_marto on December 14, 2021 at 11:52 am

    Thank you for the review! Small ones became attractive for me now as in Spain now you can fly small drones inbeneath cities (up to 280g I think it was), but the control is a bit sluggish, granted, it´s WIFI and my Mavic is not particularly faster on WiFi, yet the Mavic has a controller. Hmmm… dunno, for the price, still too much, considering the spark… Your thoughts to this? Thank you as always!

  29. Non Formal Educator on December 14, 2021 at 11:52 am

    How comes there’s still no single video test in 4k from this drone on youtube?

  30. ThePaparazziPH on December 14, 2021 at 11:53 am

    Total waste of money! The new Lily is not waterproof, it has a shorter fly time, and it doesn’t appear to let people launch it by tossing it in the air because the Mota Goup doesn’t see the value ….

    This is what made the Lily so attractive and unique above all the rest of the drones on the market. This makes the new Lily just an ordinary drone and there are far better drones on the market than this and cheaper.

    Lily was reborn but not worth it anymore without all those cool features …..

  31. Joshua Jimmy Tan on December 14, 2021 at 11:55 am

    I have also paid for the Pro Bundle but till date did not received or heard from Mota

  32. jcrutchi on December 14, 2021 at 11:56 am

    *** AVOID BUYING! ***

    I bought on of these at the end of last year. It didn’t work out of the box.
    The few times the support team did reply, they suggest some basic checks and then stop replying all together.
    After MANY emails to their support team and to the online chat team, they simply apologise and assure you the support team will get back to you….they don’t.
    I’ve since sent the drone back to the head office in LA (at my expense) and never received the promised refund.

    Unscrupulous company – AVOID

  33. Brundle Buggy on December 14, 2021 at 11:57 am

    What a piece of shit

  34. Paul Edwards on December 14, 2021 at 11:58 am

    Nice video, subscribed. Nice to see a channel from Bristol.

  35. Simo Alaoui on December 14, 2021 at 11:59 am

    Nice video 🙂
    But i got a Problem i ve got the same drone as a gift and i cannot find the App :/// any help pls

  36. DeadlyDiddly on December 14, 2021 at 11:59 am

    Another cracking in-depth review Ash, with info that others either weren’t aware of, deliberately didn’t, daren’t or couldn’t be arsed to reveal. I’m very impressed with the range of the Lily and the stability of the video, but at the ridiculous asking price who’d seriously buy one of these over a Spark or any of the other “foldie” options you mentioned?

  37. Steven Barrett on December 14, 2021 at 11:59 am

    First time I’ve watched one of your video’s, very good !. If I was buying a drone I would want it to follow me with video and a light for night walking then automatically return to its charging pad when the battery gets depleted or I get back home. Needs to be able to calculate its own battery life to determine its range and when it needs to leave me to recharge. Also needs to be capable of avoiding obstacles such as tree branches etc. But apart from those few things any drone will do !

  38. Carlo Grotti Trevisan on December 14, 2021 at 12:03 pm

    Hello, looks very good, have a question about it, does it have also radio remote? Cause I have Yuneec breeze and the problem is that it lose the signal so easy if go far..

  39. Lily Next-Gen on December 14, 2021 at 12:05 pm

    Thanks for the review, Ash! Impeccable job as always.

  40. Izzak Walton on December 14, 2021 at 12:06 pm

    Video quality looks identical to the Zerotech Dobby. 1080p, 30fps. Perhaps slightly more stable, not significantly. Definitely not worth extra cost.

  41. Gorillaman's Garage on December 14, 2021 at 12:07 pm

    Another great review. Too bad they re-branded and thought it was a better product. But over $600USD is really steep. Do you have a video that has good, bad and ugly drones? or have you thought of doing a points system review chart? Not really the Best Of, but some kind of point system on Indoor, outdoor, mini, Toy, Hobby etc? Just wondering.

  42. ZohaadHasan on December 14, 2021 at 12:08 pm

    1. What’s a Yaw drift
    2. What are sensitivity settings that Lily doesnt have that you alluded to towards the end of the video
    3. While you were flying it between the trees – does it have sensors to stay away from objects ?

  43. christian bernardini on December 14, 2021 at 12:09 pm

    help me!

    I have a lily drone next gen, but I don’t have the app to use it. how and where can i find an app to use it?

    Please help me…

  44. Brundle Buggy on December 14, 2021 at 12:09 pm

    JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK

  45. Ronualdo Santos on December 14, 2021 at 12:09 pm

    Hi, I know this video was posted last January. But it seems that the automatic feature have been activated when you went above 70 meters. maybe because based on some videos I’ve watched said that if the wifi connection between your phone and the drone lost the return to home feature will be activated. so maybe thats what had happen when you weren’t able to control your drone.

    Thanks for the review

  46. T K on December 14, 2021 at 12:11 pm

    Nice review.
    I need your some advice and recommendation.
    Which drone would you recommend for the country where it is really cold in the winter (-35’C) and so hot in the summer (+35’C).

  47. Petit Ueba on December 14, 2021 at 12:12 pm

    What if someone passes by you crossing the square you drew?

  48. Mark Giles on December 14, 2021 at 12:13 pm

    Great little Drone.

  49. Andy Truong on December 14, 2021 at 12:15 pm

    I download the App into my Iphone 8 Plus but it wont see the Drone & can’t use the app to fly the Drone ! I tried to call Mota company’s customer service but never get response for 2 weeks now ! I wouldn’t buy this Drone again ! Beside, I ordered two more extra batteries for two weeks now, It did not arrive yet ! It is a pain when you can’t fly the Drone after you spend a lot of money to buy this expensive toy !

  50. Loco on December 14, 2021 at 12:15 pm

    Better buy the bebop

Leave a Comment