DJI Mini SE Camera Drone – Is it any good? The Review

DJI Mini SE Camera Drone – Is it any good? The Review

In this episode I take a look at the new DJI Mini SE Camera Drone. It is not available in every country yet but soon will be. In Canada it is sold as a Fly More Kit with 3 batteries.
Here are some links to where you can find the drone for sale:
-USA: adorama.rfvk.net/jWngq0
-CANADA: https://www.google.com/search?q=buy+dji+mini+se+canada&rlz=1C5CHFA_enCA927CA927&oq=buy+dji+mini+se+canada&aqs=chrome..69i57j0i333l2j69i64j69i60l2.4783j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
-ALIEXPRESS: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005002804888844.html?spm=a2g0o.productlist.0.0.2b734c3dc2lvCw&algo_pvid=a3503ec8-9636-45d8-b0b3-11648a3201d9&algo_exp_id=a3503ec8-9636-45d8-b0b3-11648a3201d9-3
– EBAY: https://www.ebay.com/str/djiofficialstore
– DJI STORE MINI SE (only works in Canada): https://www.dji.com/ca/mini-se?site=brandsite&from=nav

****************************************************
BELOW IS THE GEAR I USE TO CREATE MY VIDEOS:

Action Camera Hat (USA): https://amzn.to/2OFz5Hu
Action Camera Hat (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2NwT7Zh

SOFTWARE I USE TO EDIT MY VIDEOS IS ONE OF THE FOLLOWING:
iMOVIE
FINAL CUT PRO
DA VINCI RESOLVE

Lipo Batteries I use on most FPV Drones: https://genstattu.ositracker.com/191200/13968

ACTION VLOGGING CAMERAS:
DJI OSMO ACTION: https://click.dji.com/AGMYePtvQpUgGrPm-JdOVg?pm=link&as=0018&ch=OSMO%20ACTION
INSTA360 ONE R: https://store.insta360.com/product/one_r?insrc=INRM6DQ
INSTA360 GO2: https://www.insta360.com/sal/go_2?insrc=INRM6DQ
INSTA360 GO: https://www.insta360.com/sal/go?insrc=INRM6DQ
GOPRO HERO 9 (USA): https://amzn.to/3dlZasS
GOPRO HERO 9 (CANADA): https://amzn.to/30Ttmq2
GOPRO HERO 8 (USA): https://amzn.to/31BWboJ
GOPRO HERO 8 (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2MYs5WX
GOPRO HERO 7 (USA): https://amzn.to/2XXqeWv
GOPRO HERO 7 (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Xjq6Vr
GOPRO HERO 6: https://amzn.to/2PA2Law
MOBILE OSMO POCKET2: https://click.dji.com/ABIkCjLwufxszCwdkduYyQ?as=0028&ch=OSMOPOCKET2&pm=custom
ACTION CAMERA 3 AXIS GIMBAL: https://amzn.to/2DCrTJj

PRO CAMERAS:
Canon EOS R: https://amzn.to/2W0qPq9
Canon M6 MkII: https://amzn.to/2n0ISiO
Canon 80D: https://amzn.to/2Kmggb4
Panasonic 4K Camcorder: https://amzn.to/2JYGFdx
Lenses: https://amzn.to/2AWjZJ9
https://amzn.to/2Gwb6JT
Gorillapod 5K Tripod (AMAZON USA): https://amzn.to/368TFtH
Gorillapod 5K Tripod (AMAZON CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Tg3G39
Cool Orange Mini Tripod (AMAZON CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Xk5vNV
Cool Orange Mini Tripod (AMAZON USA): https://amzn.to/2X4JYsn

SOUND AUDIO:
TASCAM MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (USA): https://amzn.to/2IKMr6n
TASCAM MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2p3mExN
ZOOM MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (USA): https://amzn.to/3bHzh86
ZOOM MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (CANADA): https://amzn.to/3sqFA5A
RODE STUDIO BOOM MIC (USA): https://amzn.to/2LqTzrL
RODE STUDIO BOOM MIC (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2XIX3s6
STUDIO VOICE OVER MIC: https://amzn.to/2TlTjJt
RODE WIRELESS: https://amzn.to/2LS2nqp

LIGHTING:
STUDIO LIGHTING (USA): GVM: https://amzn.to/35HcV2K
STUDIO LIGHTING (CANADA): GVM: https://amzn.to/3bG0kAD
STUDIO LIGHTING: FalconEyes SO-40TD: https://amzn.to/2N9pp7J

DRONE ACCESSORIES:
Round Landing Pad: https://amzn.to/2HBqp2w
Square Landing Pad PRO SMALL (USA): https://amzn.to/3e9Us2c
Square Landing Pad LARGE: https://amzn.to/2nukqqH

#DJIMINISE #Drone #Review #CaptainDrone #Ottawa

50 Comments

  1. Arhanth Singh on September 9, 2021 at 10:37 pm

    Can it be shipped to India yet?

  2. The Mexican Australian on September 9, 2021 at 10:46 pm

    Sooooo helpful!! Thanks!

  3. bar nel on September 9, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    We flight time

  4. CVRS;SBDAI on September 9, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    I was really hoping for something like a Mini 3 but they’ve gone this SE route instead. It seems like even a step backwards from the Mini 2. I was hoping that the Zino Mini Pro would advance the Mini concept, but the reviews of that seem kind of disappointing.

    I really just want a Mini 2 that runs higher MP for stills.

  5. TONY SIMEK on September 9, 2021 at 10:52 pm

    Appreciate the background on these. That was helpful and informative!

  6. Lasindu Wepola on September 9, 2021 at 10:54 pm

    Nice review and worth it so much💖👌

  7. DJ's Half marathons on September 9, 2021 at 10:56 pm

    I have the mini 1… Fly more combo … I use it for work purposes …. Honestly , the mini 2 is just for people who want to see how far away they can fly….

  8. Local Trap Star on September 9, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    “Mini PRO” will be next…… calling it now!

  9. Gadget Boy on September 9, 2021 at 10:58 pm

    Purchase drone ?

  10. Ritz Engineering GmbH on September 9, 2021 at 11:01 pm

    Does it have MSDK 5?

  11. Larry Norcott on September 9, 2021 at 11:01 pm

    Always spot on. Your the best reviewer by far.

  12. Dryden39 on September 9, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    What are the chances that the prop guards for my Spark fit the SE?

  13. mohammed algomaty on September 9, 2021 at 11:02 pm

    Are you sure that mini 1 bataries isn’t compatible with mini se?
    Have you tried ?

  14. raunak rathod on September 9, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    Is the pivot/turn right & left speed much slower on your SE as compared to the original mini? It’s happening with mine. Ps- flying rates were same when compared

  15. Willy'classic MOTOvlog on September 9, 2021 at 11:04 pm

    Hi captain drone im your subscriber from the philippines..hope someday i have drone but i cant afford..godbless and more videos.

  16. Drone Video UK on September 9, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    When can we see the mini 3 a lesser youtuber saidmhe got info today so you must know. You liked my comment yesterday but didnt answe? Do i buy a mini2 or wait a few months for tje 3?

  17. Bay P on September 9, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    Amazing video very thorough and to the point! I might just buy my first DJI drone and it will be the mini se!

  18. NBATVForum on September 9, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    Thank you for the review. I just got my SE and only other drone I tried was a big Yuneec Q500 that wasn’t in the best of the shape. This fly’s very nice and good. thank you again.

  19. Ellexis on September 9, 2021 at 11:08 pm

    Hi Steve! Just an update from the USA regarding the DJI Mini SE; it IS now available at Best Buy for $299.99. I had watched your video when you first published it, July 26th, 2021, it was nowhere to be found in the USA, which you mentioned in your video. And yes, of course I couldn’t resist, so I ordered the SE without hesitation! Thanks again for your EXCELLENT reviews on so many cool drones! You are certainly The Captain, and I salute you!

  20. Aerials on September 9, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    Captain the SE ang Mini 2 s same battery?

  21. Ellipse40FD / Horizon 42Q on September 9, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    Pretty cool, I’ll keep my Mini
    Next for me will me a higher end unit.

  22. Akif Zakuan on September 9, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    The night flight testing! You remembered! Thank you!

  23. tukangbobo on September 9, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    Waiting my SE to be delivered 🥰

  24. Ewan McCarthy on September 9, 2021 at 11:15 pm

    Captain I’m only 13 so I can’t get money easy nor fast. When I saw the mini se it seemed perfect in terms of price, power and abilities but I want to fly it to an island 2.5 km from land and the land is in the middle of nowhere and very little interference. Another drone flyer from my town flown the mavic mini there fine and I was wondering would the mini se be able to do the same. I presume it can but though it’s best to find out from the best

  25. Tc Aerial Photography on September 9, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    they could have put ocusync 2.0 on it atleast. i was gonna buy it but i may as well save up for a air 2

  26. Kevin In Carolina on September 9, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    Truthfully I don’t get it. It seems like the SE is just a waste. If it had occusync controller I would buy it but it is just a better all around deal to get the mini 2 or Mavic mini fly more which is virtually the same price as the SE.

  27. Floyd Rudolph on September 9, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    Best reviews, thank you. As my 1st drone I will be buying the Se for sure

  28. Mrcatisannoying on September 9, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    I am having alot of issues connecting my phone to my DJI mini SE. I downloaded the DJI Go app from the Play Store but it did not have the option for a dji mini SE. Can someone please help? I do not want to have a $300 paperweight

  29. cameraz99 on September 9, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    Several other drone reviewers are recommending against storing your batteries inside the charger. They say you will have Intelligent Battery failure. So when I saw you take a charger filled with batteries out of the DJI case, I cringed. Great review, however!

  30. karma koma on September 9, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    Picked up a Mini SE last week as my Mini suicided into a ravine with white water. There’s a world of difference in flight/wind stability with the SE. My original Mini would constantly be throwing out wind/prop overpowered warnings, not so with the SE The camera seems the same, and needs to be under exposed a bit for stills.

  31. G. on September 9, 2021 at 11:21 pm

    Do I have this right:
    SE = 2.7k, Mini 2 = 4k
    SE = Lithium, Mini 2 = Lipo
    SE = ~3k range, Mini 2 = 10k!
    SE= $300, Mini 2 = $400
    …does the SE and Mini 2 both come with a case standard?

  32. beyonder1977 on September 9, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Very informative review. Very good comparison. Great great video

  33. Bellairvideo on September 9, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Just so informative Steve. Well done! A lot if work putting this together. Any thoughts about the Mini 3?
    Keep safe & well mate. Greetings from Australia

  34. Dexter Toby on September 9, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    Hey that was some great advice help alot but I have a problem with my phantom 3 advanced think u can help me out please

  35. Air Fried Quads bw on September 9, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    Spark was great! DJI lost in court, the ripped off the prop install mech. They killed them with updates. Very few left. I loved that thing. Like a pet, do anything I asked of it. Then bam update, they were falling out the air.

  36. Phil Nitchie on September 9, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    Brilliant review, thanks.

  37. MisterWillX on September 9, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    Man, you do the best, most thorough, reviews. I trust your reviews over all others. Great job!

  38. starhawke380 on September 9, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    So these days, its now August 2021, if one wants the similar features of a mini SE but doesnt want to buy a DJI product… what is the current recommendation?

  39. Arob javan on September 9, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    Is this the same drone that is sold at Costco ?

  40. DarthVaderBlue on September 9, 2021 at 11:27 pm

    Hi Captain Drone. Question, is it advisable to stick your personal info on drones? Name & hp no?

  41. Daniel Poulin on September 9, 2021 at 11:28 pm

    what does se neans??

  42. Tony Robinson on September 9, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    Thankyou so much from across the pond UK, Explaining return to home brilliant I’m just about to buy dji 2 my first drone at 66yrs of age, Take care keep safe.

  43. Pandacat 666 on September 9, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    "i once had chains… but now i am free"
    me as a FPV pilot after selling all my DJI crippled crap. i love to fly drones but oh boy did DJI teach me to hate them so much. now i fly my own FPV quads. changed my life. no limitations. no locked motors in the middle of my holiday. uuuhm sorry that had to be said

  44. Dhemaji Creation. on September 9, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Sir how buy this dji se drone

  45. André Larochelle on September 9, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Does the Mini SE have a photo bracketing mode in the app ? The Mini had that mode. This is what could make me buy a SE for photography.

  46. Tim Mayeux on September 9, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    I have been looking for a drone to get started with, from the HS720e, Mini, Mini2, F11 GIM, I think you just sold me on the SE…..other than fun, the only thing it "might" get used for is house photos for my real estate friends Thank you for the time and effort you put into your videos

  47. Michael Bekic on September 9, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    Great info! The se is now available in the USA and I just purchased it last weekend from Amazon. But I have to ask where did you get that red case from in the background?

  48. Moja Ortiz on September 9, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    That was awesome! Thanks a lot!

  49. Couch Potatoes on September 9, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    Does the mini SE not have the orientation compass on the bottom of the are screen?

  50. Alex Bond-Smith on September 9, 2021 at 11:37 pm

    Thanks. Nice and detailed. Mine is on it’s way. I have the Litchi App on my phone for my other DJI drones and wondering if the SE will work with it. Any thoughts on this?

Leave a Comment