DJI Mini SE Camera Drone – Is it any good? The Review

DJI Mini SE Camera Drone – Is it any good? The Review

In this episode I take a look at the new DJI Mini SE Camera Drone. It is not available in every country yet but soon will be. In Canada it is sold as a Fly More Kit with 3 batteries.
Here are some links to where you can find the drone for sale:
-USA: adorama.rfvk.net/jWngq0
-CANADA: https://www.google.com/search?q=buy+dji+mini+se+canada&rlz=1C5CHFA_enCA927CA927&oq=buy+dji+mini+se+canada&aqs=chrome..69i57j0i333l2j69i64j69i60l2.4783j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
-ALIEXPRESS: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005002804888844.html?spm=a2g0o.productlist.0.0.2b734c3dc2lvCw&algo_pvid=a3503ec8-9636-45d8-b0b3-11648a3201d9&algo_exp_id=a3503ec8-9636-45d8-b0b3-11648a3201d9-3
– EBAY: https://www.ebay.com/str/djiofficialstore
– DJI STORE MINI SE (only works in Canada): https://www.dji.com/ca/mini-se?site=brandsite&from=nav

****************************************************
BELOW IS THE GEAR I USE TO CREATE MY VIDEOS:

Action Camera Hat (USA): https://amzn.to/2OFz5Hu
Action Camera Hat (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2NwT7Zh

SOFTWARE I USE TO EDIT MY VIDEOS IS ONE OF THE FOLLOWING:
iMOVIE
FINAL CUT PRO
DA VINCI RESOLVE

Lipo Batteries I use on most FPV Drones: https://genstattu.ositracker.com/191200/13968

ACTION VLOGGING CAMERAS:
DJI OSMO ACTION: https://click.dji.com/AGMYePtvQpUgGrPm-JdOVg?pm=link&as=0018&ch=OSMO%20ACTION
INSTA360 ONE R: https://store.insta360.com/product/one_r?insrc=INRM6DQ
INSTA360 GO2: https://www.insta360.com/sal/go_2?insrc=INRM6DQ
INSTA360 GO: https://www.insta360.com/sal/go?insrc=INRM6DQ
GOPRO HERO 9 (USA): https://amzn.to/3dlZasS
GOPRO HERO 9 (CANADA): https://amzn.to/30Ttmq2
GOPRO HERO 8 (USA): https://amzn.to/31BWboJ
GOPRO HERO 8 (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2MYs5WX
GOPRO HERO 7 (USA): https://amzn.to/2XXqeWv
GOPRO HERO 7 (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Xjq6Vr
GOPRO HERO 6: https://amzn.to/2PA2Law
MOBILE OSMO POCKET2: https://click.dji.com/ABIkCjLwufxszCwdkduYyQ?as=0028&ch=OSMOPOCKET2&pm=custom
ACTION CAMERA 3 AXIS GIMBAL: https://amzn.to/2DCrTJj

PRO CAMERAS:
Canon EOS R: https://amzn.to/2W0qPq9
Canon M6 MkII: https://amzn.to/2n0ISiO
Canon 80D: https://amzn.to/2Kmggb4
Panasonic 4K Camcorder: https://amzn.to/2JYGFdx
Lenses: https://amzn.to/2AWjZJ9
https://amzn.to/2Gwb6JT
Gorillapod 5K Tripod (AMAZON USA): https://amzn.to/368TFtH
Gorillapod 5K Tripod (AMAZON CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Tg3G39
Cool Orange Mini Tripod (AMAZON CANADA): https://amzn.to/2Xk5vNV
Cool Orange Mini Tripod (AMAZON USA): https://amzn.to/2X4JYsn

SOUND AUDIO:
TASCAM MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (USA): https://amzn.to/2IKMr6n
TASCAM MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2p3mExN
ZOOM MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (USA): https://amzn.to/3bHzh86
ZOOM MOBILE AUDIO RECORDER (CANADA): https://amzn.to/3sqFA5A
RODE STUDIO BOOM MIC (USA): https://amzn.to/2LqTzrL
RODE STUDIO BOOM MIC (CANADA): https://amzn.to/2XIX3s6
STUDIO VOICE OVER MIC: https://amzn.to/2TlTjJt
RODE WIRELESS: https://amzn.to/2LS2nqp

LIGHTING:
STUDIO LIGHTING (USA): GVM: https://amzn.to/35HcV2K
STUDIO LIGHTING (CANADA): GVM: https://amzn.to/3bG0kAD
STUDIO LIGHTING: FalconEyes SO-40TD: https://amzn.to/2N9pp7J

DRONE ACCESSORIES:
Round Landing Pad: https://amzn.to/2HBqp2w
Square Landing Pad PRO SMALL (USA): https://amzn.to/3e9Us2c
Square Landing Pad LARGE: https://amzn.to/2nukqqH

#DJIMINISE #Drone #Review #CaptainDrone #Ottawa

50 Comments

  1. Chalky on August 30, 2022 at 8:15 pm

    Never thought I’d ever see a DJI drone being the cheapest in its class, but for sub 250g 3-axis drones it is, but of course that changes when buying spare batteries.

  2. Trey Coursey on August 30, 2022 at 8:15 pm

    Also, super great comparison at the beginning, no clue how you keep them all figured out! lol. What would be the best 249g drone that does auto tracking, I’m a cyclist and want one to follow me up hills or on open roads…. thanks!

  3. CPT 33 STUDIOS (COMING SOON!!!) on August 30, 2022 at 8:17 pm

    Great informative content Captain!

  4. Susie Curtis on August 30, 2022 at 8:18 pm

    i’m in a condo, under a porch on a balcony and want to fly it out and take some pics/videos….being under a porch i can’t do gps cuz the drone can’t come straight down with RH……do i have to just turn gps off and fly manually to get it back under the porch for landing?

  5. fly high on August 30, 2022 at 8:19 pm

    Hi! Great vid! Does the DJI Mini SE drone have the "Follow Me " facility??? Thanks

  6. Josh Marcelino on August 30, 2022 at 8:21 pm

    Woooow a lot of drones ,I wish I had one, even the lowest specs of yours, but sadly i was a victim of a scam after ordered online, I am saving the money for almost a year and scam in just a click , but anyways love this video so satisfying and inspiring to for me 😍😍😍😍

  7. Thomas Linville on August 30, 2022 at 8:22 pm

    Does it come with a memory card? Or does one need to be purchased separately?

  8. s a i n s c o u g h on August 30, 2022 at 8:23 pm

    Great description.

  9. Susie Curtis on August 30, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    update: if i’m in video mode and recording, try to use quick shots i get: shooting in progress unable to switch modes.
    If i’m in quickshots and try to record, i get: button unavailable in quickshots. Help please !

  10. Vcucgf Jfgcmhggvhjg on August 30, 2022 at 8:24 pm

    Would you say that the dji mini se is a drone you can trust flying out above deep waters

  11. Dark Gamer on August 30, 2022 at 8:25 pm

    Can i have a dji mini se like that im a huge fan

  12. Lixing Wu on August 30, 2022 at 8:26 pm

    i literlly got scared watching this, if you know what i mean. but the guys a genius

  13. plunder bunny on August 30, 2022 at 8:30 pm

    LiPo and Li-Ion use the same battery chemistry, just packaged differently. With Li-Ion the electrolyte is inside a metal cell, while for LiPo the electrolyte is inside a plastic membrane (that’s the β€œpolymer” part.) The plastic membrane allows for more irregular and prismatic battery shapes, offering lighter weight and more efficient use of volume, but this is at the expense of energy density, lifespan, durability, and complexity of replacement. EVs use Li-Ion while phones use LiPo.

  14. TED C on August 30, 2022 at 8:32 pm

    I have been flying the se with mavic mini battery. It works. Little less time but it works fine.

  15. Susie Curtis on August 30, 2022 at 8:32 pm

    i’m getting another iphone, 64gb. How much space does a 5 or 10min video take up? is 64 enough room?

  16. John B on August 30, 2022 at 8:33 pm

    Great videos. Thank you! I’m a newbie and just bought the DJI Mini SE. I love it. However, I realized I need a camera with 90 degree UPward view. I have a special tree application where I need to fly straight up through the tree canopy. To avoid twigs, branches and leaves on the way up I need to see straight up. Does anyone know of drones they would recommend with 90 degree upward gimbal rotation? I would like to stay around $200 US or less. Video quality is not important. I just need to fly up, go through a crotch in the tree and drop a weight connected to a line. I did watch your video on the Dragonfly. Thank you! John from Wisconsin.

  17. Abdalla Mohammed on August 30, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    Love this channel

  18. fly high on August 30, 2022 at 8:34 pm

    fly high
    10 hours ago
    @Daniel Sorry to trouble you again! I have an Iphone 7 which is quite small (14 X 6 cm) and hard to see! Would an Ipad that measure’s 24 x 17 cm fit the controller? And would it be compatible! Thanks again for your help!

  19. Larry Kays Delivery Bulldog on August 30, 2022 at 8:35 pm

    Love your drone video. I can’t afford a drone at this time in my life but, thru these videos in can feel like I own one because they are so well done

  20. campbub on August 30, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    Basically it’s in between the mini 2 and the Maverick~

    Better than the mav, not as good as the mini 2

  21. Max Harper on August 30, 2022 at 8:39 pm

    Hello, interesting video and I was just wondering where you bought the DJI Mini SE Camera Drone.

  22. Todd K on August 30, 2022 at 8:40 pm

    Very informative! Thanks for the new user advice about hands off the controller if you lose connection which allows auto return. Nice!

  23. Jakub Zeman on August 30, 2022 at 8:41 pm

    Lost spark once. He was right above me, then the app said GPS error and Spark went full sport mode speed over the horizont. Hope somebody found you buddy πŸ™‚ Great vid though.

  24. GAMS VLOG on August 30, 2022 at 8:41 pm

    Can you send me your old drones…πŸ₯ΊπŸ₯ΊπŸ₯Ί Watching from the Philippines….

  25. Sinan C on August 30, 2022 at 8:43 pm

    This was awesome sir!!!! I mentioned I got this in another one of your video. Only flew this once late yesterday. Looking forward to being an expert flyer after this video!!!

  26. Rodrigo Montiel on August 30, 2022 at 8:45 pm

    thanks for the video!

  27. Hay Loft on August 30, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    Buyer beware. If you don’t want to fork out for a new phone make sure yours works with the app before buying from DJI. A very limited range of Android phones work and it makes me wonder if there is any collusion. DJIs answer we can’t test every phone but being Android I don’t see why it shouldn’t work on any phone above Android 6 which I believe is the minimum version they state is compatible.

  28. Ross Mcgowan on August 30, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    Looking to buy my first. This looks like a good option. Althought I am willing to go to 500 uk pounds so will have a look at some more of your videos. Very comprehensive. Thank you.

  29. Dietrick van N. on August 30, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    If you really want to get a good drone at 250 g. then get the Mini 3 pro. Major improvement! I own the SE and the 3 so I experience the differences.

  30. Michael UK on August 30, 2022 at 8:46 pm

    Good review, Captain, very informative and very good to hear comparison from an expert. Thank you.

  31. Orim on August 30, 2022 at 8:47 pm

    Great video thanks πŸ‘πŸ™‚

  32. Susie Curtis on August 30, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    just bought one….flys great, but….i was under the impression the se could use the quick transfer features to send video from the drone sd to my phone. Doesn’t work. You’re supposed to be able to press the light at the back of the drone to connect the phone to the drone to enable the the program……the mini 2 has a push button lite on the end that does that….the se does not….so can’t use any of the dji editing functions in the app….bummer.

  33. Trey Coursey on August 30, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    Wait you got a case and three batteries! other reviews and unboxings don’t have a case and only 1 battery! hmmm….what gives.

  34. Stefan Karlsson on August 30, 2022 at 8:49 pm

    Impressive level of knowledge, informative, entertaining, and pedagogical! Thank you for this video, Mr Captain Drone! I will buy a DJI Mini SE tomorrow, and start following ur channel!

  35. Mark on August 30, 2022 at 8:54 pm

    i think it might be good to add apple airtag just in case you lost your drone lol

  36. Sacha Knock on August 30, 2022 at 8:55 pm

    Can you recommend a drone that is FPV compatible that is similar to the MINI Se but one that will also not break the bank?

  37. S M on August 30, 2022 at 8:56 pm

    What is the range for this drone?

  38. Change Is Good on August 30, 2022 at 8:56 pm

    The best drone reviews so far for beginner like me. Thanks for tip for not panicking when signal was lost. Planning to get an SE soon. Thanks

  39. Saoirse Doherty on August 30, 2022 at 8:58 pm

    Been doing a lot of research before buying my first drone and this guy is just the best, so informative but a down to earth guy is much easier to listen too. I think I’ll be purchasing the mini se when I get my next paycheck lol

  40. Susie Curtis on August 30, 2022 at 9:05 pm

    for some reason, i can’t record when using quick shots……is that not available on the se?

  41. Jarvis on August 30, 2022 at 9:05 pm

    The DJI official store has among the worse reviews of ANY businesses out there primarily due to very poor customer service. Just a simple cursory look will scare any buyer. The drone is excellent but read the reviews for the DJI store itself. I ended up cancelling my order but am hoping to find another store other that DJI, any suggestions?

  42. christian oppelt on August 30, 2022 at 9:05 pm

    Ich liebe die Dji Mini SE!!!πŸ‘πŸ˜‰πŸ‘ŒπŸ˜

  43. Susie Curtis on August 30, 2022 at 9:05 pm

    how do you upscale video from 2k to 4K ??

  44. Jimi Hendrix on August 30, 2022 at 9:06 pm

    Really good comparison, very informative since i am on the fence about which one to buy and i own a Spark just like yours so it’s kind of a pick between the Mini 2 and the SE. I wonder how close they are to a newer version of the SE, unfortunately in the US you can’t buy the Fly more combo pack for the SE.

  45. RRmi1an on August 30, 2022 at 9:06 pm

    By the way u can turn up the brightness for night and turn it down on a sunny day

  46. Se7en TM on August 30, 2022 at 9:07 pm

    thanks fr this gd infomationπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸ»

  47. Austin Ziegenfuss on August 30, 2022 at 9:08 pm

    I have a dji spark. I think on a tight budget a new SE might be better than buying a mini 2?

  48. Miller Jackson1 on August 30, 2022 at 9:09 pm

    Hi, I’m looking to buy my first drone and have been considering the DJI Mini Se. Would you be able to tell me if this drone is compatible with FPV goggles?

  49. zMrPro on August 30, 2022 at 9:11 pm

    is the mini 2 battery compatible with the mini se?

  50. Aaron A on August 30, 2022 at 9:12 pm

    Is this good for outdoor pictures of properties?

Leave a Comment