DJI MINI KILLER?! – FIMI X8 MiNi Drone Flight Test Review In-Depth

DJI MINI KILLER?! – FIMI X8 MiNi Drone Flight Test Review In-Depth

Enjoy my In-Depth Flight Test Review for the new DJI Mini competitor FIMI X8 MINI! Is it a DJI Mini 1 or 2 KILLER?! Get it here https://amzn.to/381Mi9r 8% off code 08LQUL8Z
or here https://www.banggood.com/custlink/mDKRgVYphH
or here https://bit.ly/382ijht
X8 mini Gear, Batteries & Parts here https://www.banggood.com/custlink/vmvhBPYJd8
Tablet Bracket for X8 Mini Controller https://amzn.to/3816qZ8

The X8 Mini has some claimed improvements like real tracking compared to the limited Quick Shots of the DJI Mini series. Can it perform good enough to compete or beat DJI’s Minis at a better price? We will find out together as this review series unfolds.

My X8 Mini Unboxing, Setup and Updating Review here https://youtu.be/piv3b6bMhoE

Check out and support my Son Kyan’s gaming channel here (Thanks for the help Kyan!) https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCv__E0KFZOwAPsKdWFncQDg

My Tried and True Everyday Gear that works:
Drone/Camera Bag https://amzn.to/3wbSJ4p
Drone Launch Pad https://amzn.to/2ucvqsg
One+ 6T Phone – Fly App Never Crashes https://amzn.to/2Ea6O9u
Ipad Mini 5 https://amzn.to/35YOK0r
Ipad Air 2 https://amzn.to/2kjcBPw
Tablet Bracket (side clamp controllers) https://amzn.to/3816qZ8
Tablet Bracket (DJI top clamp controllers) https://amzn.to/2W7WevO
DJI Action 4K Hat Cam https://amzn.to/2MAdcgG
Sony 4K Action Hat Cam https://amzn.to/2I08fKN
DJI Osmo Pocket 4K Tracking Cam https://amzn.to/2ZyHMeF
Portable Body MIC https://amzn.to/33cCFjb
SD Card for all 4K Recording that lasts https://amzn.to/2N8pCce
3D Printable SD Card Tool http://bit.ly/2QICVns
Portable Compact Table https://amzn.to/2Q58g41
Portable Chair with built-in Sunshade https://amzn.to/2DOgPum
Full Featured Mobile Power Station https://amzn.to/2Whn2rb
Wrist Watch (my old one) https://amzn.to/2pHllFk
Smart Watch (my new one) https://amzn.to/3wfQ9KD

Stay tuned and SUBSCRIBE for future Drone Reviews and more!

Aloha,
– Dustin & Family
Help support our channel https://www.patreon.com/DustinDunnill

50 Comments

  1. Dennis Nguyen on October 9, 2021 at 8:04 am

    Can you review the DJI Mini Se please and thank you!

  2. Time Capsule on October 9, 2021 at 8:05 am

    Breaking AUMN found huge gold vein 150 meters long

  3. The Dronz Dr on October 9, 2021 at 8:05 am

    You pay for what you get.

  4. Chinnam Praveenkumar on October 9, 2021 at 8:06 am

    Cost??

  5. Toby Real on October 9, 2021 at 8:06 am

    I see .. proberbly the DJI Mavic models !?..

  6. William Holderby on October 9, 2021 at 8:07 am

    Hey I have a review idea for you (that I don’t think you have done *could be wrong*) – what about taking a DJI drone (or any decent/supported drone) and do a thorough review and demo of the Litchi app. I really do like it, even though it seems to be in perpetual beta form I am enjoying the FPV-like functionality of the app though I have not played with Waypoints or some of the more exotic things. Would love you to do a A to Z review of it.

  7. tredstone on October 9, 2021 at 8:07 am

    A drone is worthless if you can’t trust it not to keep disconnecting all the time . This drone is junk

  8. Steve Knapp on October 9, 2021 at 8:08 am

    Liked the review, they still haven’t fixed the vignetting BUT, ditch the hat cam please, all the motion gave me a headache. Fimi & Hubsan both have a LOT of work to do if they want to be "DJi killers". Aside from all the App, flying and drone quality "issues", the other major concern that can’t be minimized, is the service, support and parts availability of both Fimi & Hubsan compared to DJi products. That alone shouldn’t be overlooked.

  9. Richard Pryde on October 9, 2021 at 8:09 am

    Very similar looking to the DJI Mini 2

  10. Sugar Daddy on October 9, 2021 at 8:13 am

    In terms of Raw Picture/Video quality, do you think it is better than DJI Mini? I feel like it capture more details.

  11. G_GAMING T-T on October 9, 2021 at 8:14 am

    Hi, could you please do a review on the hubsan zino mini pro, it’s a pretty new drone and I want to see a review from you because I always enjoy watching your drone reviews, and they are high quality. 😁

  12. Suazzz on October 9, 2021 at 8:14 am

    Can’t wait for the range test

  13. Twobarpsi on October 9, 2021 at 8:17 am

    Great review! I’m holding out for the Mini 3.

  14. Quadroneld on October 9, 2021 at 8:17 am

    While I think it’s a nice development that there are other companies that are competing with established names like DJI so that the products will improve and the price will fall, I don’t think an exact copy of the drone will convince anyone to just buy the cheaper version.

  15. Keith Whisman on October 9, 2021 at 8:17 am

    Camera doesn’t seem all that bad

  16. alex.g on October 9, 2021 at 8:18 am

    Hey mate, you might now remember but a couple years ago you put a video about the Hubsan H501s and had a bee swarm as an addition to it 😂. Anyway, I’ve recently got the same drone and I am unable to IMU calibrate. It just won’t work. Why is this? Also, I’ve reached 600m and then lost control and video went black. Is this normal or can I do something to get further? Thanks in advance

  17. Rick Killian on October 9, 2021 at 8:20 am

    It seems like the Fimi really sucks bxxxs

  18. BigG UAV on October 9, 2021 at 8:22 am

    Great review buddy as always. I agree, a disappointment. Companies are always trying to keep up with DJI, which is good for us consumers price wise, but the technology just isn’t there. 🙁
    Looking forward to your range testing Dustin. Take care of yourselves. 🙂

  19. Crazy Danish Viking on October 9, 2021 at 8:23 am

    See if you can reach the ocean and let it drop in it and put it out of its misery lol

  20. Phillip Scearce on October 9, 2021 at 8:23 am

    I can’t get the Amazon discount code to work…

  21. Kenny K on October 9, 2021 at 8:24 am

    Hello Dustin ,
    I have a Fimi 2020 flew it a few times without issue ..now I cannot get it to connect to the app..the drone starts and fly’s but nothing at all on the app ..no video ..no anything ..I erased the app ..re downloaded it ..new account ..I can’t get it to work ..any advise to cure the issue would be greatly appreciated..Thank you Sir !

  22. Peter Van burin on October 9, 2021 at 8:25 am

    I’m looking for a drone with long range and battery life, like really long range and battery, and recoomdations?

  23. candlercando on October 9, 2021 at 8:25 am

    I don’t think any drone could have handled that massive wind so well. Very impressive!

  24. wreckinball11 on October 9, 2021 at 8:27 am

    That controller just seems unbalanced, and uncomfortable. I should have never bought a Mavic 2 Pro, because that is how all drones are judged now.

  25. Matthew Downing on October 9, 2021 at 8:27 am

    Dustin. Interesting video as usual. Not sure about your connection issues as I have a mini and use both android and iPhones and have never dropped a connection. You also don’t seem to have a lot of "patience" with this drone. Instantly you’ve dismissed it once it didn’t do what you wanted even though as in the orbit it was your fault. Adding a statement "it may have worked better" isn’t really right. You should have retried it and then added whether it did it didn’t work correctly. Keep up the good work though . Looking forward to the range test.

  26. The Masked Yaker on October 9, 2021 at 8:28 am

    Will you be doing a series on the DJI Mini SE

  27. Megha Bhat on October 9, 2021 at 8:29 am

    bro plese can you gift a drone for me

  28. Dronescape Australia on October 9, 2021 at 8:29 am

    The disconnection with Fimi drones is nearly always due to the crappy phone cable they provide. Replace it with a better cable and the problem usually disappears. I find the FIMI drones are actually great flyers

  29. brokensword on October 9, 2021 at 8:30 am

    Great review man you and your son are a great team. Oh and about this drone gone be mini killer I don’t think so. Dji mini has better hardware and software in total 👍😁

  30. Toby Real on October 9, 2021 at 8:30 am

    Whats the cheapest drone where the automatic/active Tracking actually works ?

  31. Jim Ayotte gmail on October 9, 2021 at 8:34 am

    Thanks for the review of the FIMI X8 Mini. Based on the review I definitely am not going to buy it based on the wacky operation of the app losing connection and the poor performance of stability and the Mini being blown off the target when taking off and the poor tracking capabilities. Instead of buying the FIMI X8 Mini I am going to spend more money on a DJI Mini.

  32. DRONE WOLF on October 9, 2021 at 8:34 am

    Have you done a range test with this one?

  33. Fishing and flying with Tolley on October 9, 2021 at 8:35 am

    Great video of the fimi it just is not a mini killer my mini 1 and 2 definitely eat it’s lunch

  34. shelydon78 on October 9, 2021 at 8:39 am

    I’m looking forward to watching this. You doing the hubsan zino mini pro range test soon? I’m sure you been asked already
    ….Oh, I see you already answered my question
    🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗

  35. Robert on October 9, 2021 at 8:41 am

    Always love your reviews! great and in depth!

  36. SHAK TECH on October 9, 2021 at 8:45 am

    Fimi has flight paths dji does not

  37. SL TECH VM on October 9, 2021 at 8:46 am

    When the phone is mounted on the controller it becomes ugly

  38. PolarBearLP on October 9, 2021 at 8:46 am

    So the X8 SE is the far superior drone. I am happy I got the X8 SE

  39. Sirens & Alarms of Northern IL on October 9, 2021 at 8:46 am

    Great little drone! I still think my mini 2 is better though. I guess it is just what you prefer

  40. Quentin Bush on October 9, 2021 at 8:47 am

    Another good review but to me it’s disappointing. I think slow responses are due to memory issues in the drone. DJI don’t have any worries.

  41. Tech Studio on October 9, 2021 at 8:48 am

    Range test?

  42. Gimp Man on October 9, 2021 at 8:50 am

    I always look forward to your reviews. You’re a little late with the Fimi so I didn’t learn anything new. Hope you can do the Zino mini pro soon. The reviews on the Zino are all over the map. Some say it’s great and lot say it’s crap.

  43. Devon Nick on October 9, 2021 at 8:51 am

    Thanks again Dustin for another great demo.
    Good job to fimi for beating dji (in its class) on their tracking abilities ( at least they tried )
    I’m with other followers, does the actual phone make a difference 🤔 ?

  44. Uroš Makivić on October 9, 2021 at 8:53 am

    Maybe your conection to the phone wasn’t atached properly

  45. Ankit Kumar on October 9, 2021 at 8:59 am

    This is the best channel for all drone and rc toys lover. My inner child couldn’t resist watching his videos.

  46. Paul C on October 9, 2021 at 9:00 am

    Let me see, DJI killer? Again?

  47. Ron Brown on October 9, 2021 at 9:01 am

    This drone has a lot of issues, and can’t really compete with the Mini drones from DJI. But thanks for working your through this review, I know it wasn’t easy, especially with the disconnects. Great review Dustin, and thanks for being so honest.

  48. T Boys Toys on October 9, 2021 at 9:03 am

    I seen guys having trouble with their data cables. Since the new mini came out my 2020 is getting that blotchyness and flickering I was wondering do they share the same app I was flying with one two days ago but didn’t check.

  49. Thomas Scott on October 9, 2021 at 9:03 am

    They do have alot of problems if you ask me

  50. SL TECH VM on October 9, 2021 at 9:03 am

    It is very long

Leave a Comment