DJI Mavic 2 Zoom, drone video quality review

Review of the video quality of the DJI Mavic 2 Zoom drone. Aerial footage shot in London, Cambridge, Oxford and mount Etna in Sicily, in all sort of light conditions and different situations. I compare it to the Phantom 4 Pro. Analysis of the performance of the zoom, of different ISO levels and of the two color modes: D Cinelike and Normal.
My video are for sale at Pond 5 as Vicfilm

15 Comments

  1. albeja56 on August 30, 2020 at 10:26 am

    Hey, thank you alot for your review, I’m considering this drone! Optical zoom is nice. What interests me however, that while Mavic 2 zoom’s _digital_ zoom works on HD (1080p) but not in 4K, but … could you please tell/check how is it with 2.7K? I ask because, interestingly, my Mavic 1 Pro has digital zoom, which works with 1080p, works not with 4K, but, a bit surprisingly, WORKS fine with 2.7K, and that is one reason why I use that resolution.

  2. Adrian Vasian on August 30, 2020 at 10:29 am

    believe me, no one will complain about you flying too close :))

  3. JimiRox on August 30, 2020 at 10:34 am

    Very nice presentation sir. Thank you for your time. When I first got my Mavic 2 Zoom I was very disappointed. I really don’t want to do professional photography nor do I care for motion blur etc. I don’t do any post editing either. I like to see the world as it really is from my drones. I have a Phantom 3 Pro and a Phantom 4 which I always use D-Cinelike so I used D-Cinelike on my Mavic 2 Zoom but everything was washed out. Finally after about a week I switched from D-Cinelike to Normal and everything looked very, very good. A bit oversaturated which can be fixed in the color profile. The footage I’m getting now in 2.7k and 4k is perfect for my needs and the zoom is great. The problem with the footage getting very dark when tilting the camera down is something I will have to work on. I have been using Litchi only because I can program the 5D button to change the ISO and Shutter which I haven’t figured out how to do with the Dji GO 4 app yet. Cheers!

  4. Sean Silas on August 30, 2020 at 10:35 am

    Thank you for this amazing video! I own all 3 mavics and I LOVE the zoom because of the 48 zoom in 4K. Your video explains it nicely.! Cheers!

  5. Adrian Mateo Drones on August 30, 2020 at 10:45 am

    Nice video my Sir. Nicely done and good job well done. Please keep those good videos coming. I also have the Dji Mavic 2 Zoom and I absolutely love my Drone. 👍👍👍✌️✌️👍👍👍✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️🚁🚁🚁🚁🚁🚁🚁💯💯💯💯💯💯👨‍✈️👨‍✈️👨‍✈️👨‍✈️👨‍✈️👨‍✈️. I just subscribe to your channel Sir and would appreciate it if you subscribe to my YouTube channel as well. Thanks for all you do and please keep flying.

  6. Alex Orchilles on August 30, 2020 at 10:49 am

    Awesome video thank you!

  7. Marc Trainor on August 30, 2020 at 10:50 am

    Excellent presentation. I really like how you talked about the shots, and the settings while viewing your terrific footage. Very smooth, nice footage. Most of the time, I hear and see people talking about how the Phantom 4 Pro still beats the Mavic 2, but again, when you consider the form factor, size, and in the case of the Mavic 2 Pro, you can even get aperture. I like what I’m seeing here with your M2-zoom. The zoom is an excellent tool to do a number of different things and I actually prefer the sharpness and crispness of the M2-zoom over the Pro 2. Keep up the good work. Marc T.

  8. Thomas Kerrigan on August 30, 2020 at 10:52 am

    Great Footage and great examples of the use of ISO settings and mode, thank you for sharing Vic, I have subscribed to your channel if you get time to have a look at some of my Videos done with the Phantom 4 standard and the Autel Evo which I have to say is my now Go to Drone, regards TJK UK

  9. Ludwig Kastner on August 30, 2020 at 10:55 am

    Very nice footage! Keep it up!

  10. Dale Davis on August 30, 2020 at 11:01 am

    Opening up my e-mail and finding another video from you always makes my day. I am still with my first drone, the Mavic Air, and after 6 months I still have apprehensions every time I put her up into the air. I’d get a Mavic Pro with the Hasselblad, but too afraid of losing it at my stage of learning. Smart move to avoid the inevitable regulations by moving to beautiful Sicily. We spent a wonderful trip there, pre-drone days (May 1018). If you have some time, watch this . https://vimeo.com/279282046. Now using multiple modes for an upcoming trip to Joshua Tree Park, California….including . Dynamic Precision Sapphire 3 axis slider, astrophotography, Mavic Air, and two D750’s, doing timelapse and hyperlapse, and oh, forgot to mention the new Osmo Mobile 2. Too much.

    I stand in awe of your cinematography.

    Dale-Miami

  11. FLIGHT GALLERY on August 30, 2020 at 11:01 am

    Love my M2 Zoom. Your footage is amazing! Now I love my Zoom even more seeing the capabilities it has in the hands of knowledge and experience.

  12. William R on August 30, 2020 at 11:06 am

    Excellent review, and video examples. As an experienced drone pilot, and amateur photographer I look forward to your future footage.

  13. Burette Andrews on August 30, 2020 at 11:14 am

    You just sold another Zoom!
    Thanks for your shared knowledge.

  14. Syk Cicada on August 30, 2020 at 11:15 am

    I’m only here the fantastic accent…

  15. Wailer Mon on August 30, 2020 at 11:19 am

    Very informative. Thanks!

Leave a Comment