CheerWing CW4 Camera Drone Flight Test Review, The X5C Successor!

CheerWing CW4 Camera Drone Flight Test Review, The X5C Successor!

This quadcopter may likely be the current and best successor to the Syma X5C. Game changer in the small cheap toy grade camera class. This is how the X5HW should have been designed. Buy it here http://amzn.to/2bEYTF2

Pros
– Classy looking well built design. Actually seems better built than the X5C. Good quality plastic with white body with gold “CheerWing” lettering.
– Uses widely available and cheap Syma X5C batteries. Two batteries are already provided with the quadcopter 🙂
– Includes effective altitude hold.
– Altitude hold works well with flips in maintaining the quadcopter’s altitude after a flip.
– Auto takeoff and auto landing. Auto landing descent is possible even from extreme altitude. But auto landing is not a return to home. You still have to control the quadcopter’s movement and turns to your desired landing location while auto descending.
– Quadcopter will also automatically descend and land itself if transmitter signal is lost.
– Headless mode and one key return.
– Very stable flier. Excellent for video.
– 720p jello free camera.
– Low battery telemetry. The controller gives good warning by beeping when the quadcopter’s battery is low.
– The quadcopter will automatically descend and land itself at low battery (no dropping from the sky).
– Small and lightweight, does not require FAA registration.
– Very good price with all of these features.

Cons
– Camera angle is pointed slightly downward so that the horizon isn’t readily viewable.
– Binding procedure is very different than most other quadcxopters. 1) turn on trnsmitter and move throttle all the way down and then release. Notice slow blinking red light at on/off switch. 2) Then turn on the quadcopter, and place on flat and level surface. It should automatically bind to the transmitter within a few seconds. Blinking light on transmitter should turn solid indicating bind is complete.
– Careful when pressing auto takeoff and landing button. Holding this button down for 2 seconds will emergency stop the motors. It is possible to accidentally stop the motors in air with this button if you forget that the takeoff/land button is also used for emergency stop.
– Headless mode worked fine, but I could not determine how to activate one key return (even though it’s described in the manual). However, could not find this feature mentioned in the vendor’s description, and it may have been removed from the quadcopter’s features. No big loss as one key return is not normally accurate on most toy grade quadcopters (many a quad has been lost due to this feature on other quadcopters ;-).

Vendor’s Description:
* Equipped with 2MP (720P) HD camera to take aerial photos and videos while flying! Bring a new perspective to your photos and videos from the air. Movie resolution has been upgraded to 1280 × 720 at 30 frames per second. With removable Micro-SD (TF) card stores enough for several flights.
* ONE KEY TAKE OFF and ONE TOUCH DOWN function: allow beginner to easy to fly the drone without any skill. One Touch Down function is most important to protect the drone when it is out of control or low battery power, the drone will fly down slowly and land on the ground automatically before the motors stopping.
* Headless mode makes easier flight: Once the fuselage direction can not be recognized, it can enter headless mode so as to continue the flight. One key 360° roll, continuous roll for perfect action and wonderful performance.
* Hover / Altitude Hold Mode: Drone altitude specified a flight mode. Beginners easy to manipulate; Aerial photography more stable.
* 2pcs Batteries Included, double your flying time! It can be swapped or charged in place easily via USB with your power bank or car charger!

Specifications:

* Dimensions: 36 x 35.6 x 10.8 cm
* Aircraft Weight: 120g / 0.26lbs (no need to register with FAA)
* Camera: 2MP 720P
* Max Flight Time: 6-8 minutes
* Charging Time: Approx. 60mins
* Control distance: 50 meters (I got further range)
* Battery for quadcopter: 3.7V 500mAh Li-Po battery
* Battery for controller: 4 “AAA” batteries required (not included)

Package Included: 1* CW4 Quadcopter, 1* 2.4Ghz Controller, 2* 500mAh LiPo Batteries, 1* USB Battery Charger, 1* 4GB Micro-SD Card, 1* Card Reader, 4* Spare Propellers, 1* User Manual

Affiliate links: At no cost to you, I do receive a small commission for sales resulting from these links.

This video along with every video of the Quadcopter 101 channel was produced and edited with VSDC Free Video Editor. You may download this excellent, and no kidding “free” video editor here http://www.videosoftdev.com/free-video-editor

MUSIC LICENSE
“Awel” by stefsax
http://ccmixter.org/files/stefsax/7785
is licensed under a Creative Commons license:
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/
music was shortened to fit length of video.

50 Comments

  1. Scott Moore on September 23, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    They should give you a commission! I just bought one (under $50 w/free shipping – big box), I wanted to get some info before buying. Thank you!

  2. AJ Mitchell on September 23, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    I’ve modded my camera to point straight. It’s so much better.

  3. Row Dogg on September 23, 2021 at 11:16 pm

    Hey so I have a question this is under the .55 lbs?

  4. Christa Griffie on September 23, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    i have trouble keeping it i one place for taking videos

  5. Franko Flyer on September 23, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    Awesome and informative video thank you for sharing

  6. Vinny Contini on September 23, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    howdy you use the altitude control on this one?

  7. Nick H on September 23, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    I got one of these everytime i take off it loses signal right away it doesnt even make it 5 feet

  8. Aveenash Ramlal on September 23, 2021 at 11:21 pm

    can the camer pair with the phone

  9. Roko Nava on September 23, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    hello, the entrance that brings the camera to the back so that it serves, it’s like connecting something, right?

  10. Michael Tayo on September 23, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    i always scope out youtube before i buy any gadgets. this is a great video. im a beginner so this was very helpful. i will be purchasing this drone for sure !

  11. Keith Tiberius on September 23, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    I just purchased this drone, and promptly lost the instruction booklet…Thank you for providing this tutorial in how to operate my quad-copter. Asking anyone who knows: Is there a method for adjusting the pitch of the camera to point the lens horizontal, or is it locked in place?

  12. John Doe on September 23, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    Bought it 16 months ago! It’s been great and I still fly it! Thanks for sharing your videos with us all!

  13. Steven Miley on September 23, 2021 at 11:24 pm

    I bought this drone but one of the propellers does not spend fast any ideas what’s wrong?

  14. HONCHO TOO CHEESY on September 23, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    Very nice video

  15. MarcoRey on September 23, 2021 at 11:29 pm

    What’s a good external camera for this drone?

  16. Anthony Sturchio on September 23, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    Does anyone have any information regarding the protocol the CW4 uses? I’d love to use my Taranis with IRX4 multi-protocol module, but I’m thinking this is a proprietary protocol since it has battery telemetry.

  17. Keenan Lanser on September 23, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    Hey! How do you recover footage from the drone? Is there an app?

  18. jassal saroj on September 23, 2021 at 11:35 pm

    Could I see it record while it is recording on my phone ?

  19. Drone Home on September 23, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    I bought a brand new one of these for10$. Now I am an experienced flyer I have a hubsan h501s a bebop and a spark and many other quads but I still love to go back to the basics and have fun with these. Great little unit here. Especially for 10$.

  20. Dan Shankle on September 23, 2021 at 11:41 pm

    GREAT, NO Nonsense Review!!! Thank you! for a job well done.

  21. Josh Peters on September 23, 2021 at 11:41 pm

    kind of odd question but ihave the x5c case for the drone and parts, will this drone fit in that case

  22. Ronald Domino on September 23, 2021 at 11:42 pm

    I love the way this drone Flys I have one myself thinking about getting a new camera for mine

  23. Jeremy Tucker on September 23, 2021 at 11:42 pm

    How do you hover? What button?

  24. Tanishk mishra on September 23, 2021 at 11:42 pm

    Can it lift my 20gram camera to 80-100 meters in sky ?

  25. GR on September 23, 2021 at 11:43 pm

    I have this. It doesn’t work as well anymore. So I’m taking out the motors and the LEDs and putting them in my rc duet

  26. x_Icarus_x on September 23, 2021 at 11:43 pm

    How do you conned your phone to the drone.

  27. JUST US on September 23, 2021 at 11:43 pm

    got 1 and flysssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss all over the place………dont do what ur video says

  28. William Mchugh on September 23, 2021 at 11:43 pm

    I flew a couple of these. Only thing I don’t like about it is the range. The ones I’ve flown only ended up going about 200 feet (about 1/2 of what an X5C can do). Whenever you lose connection with the Cw4 momentarily, the video camera will turn off until you can restart the camera. It’s also a lot harder and expensive to find parts for the CW4. I ended up gutting the CW4 and put it into a X5C airframe (along with using the X5C motors). It’s a great quad like this and still uses the CW4 camera but it continues to suffer from range problems. I wish I could solve those issues as they are the biggest con to the CW4.

  29. DL B on September 23, 2021 at 11:48 pm

    I recently purchased a CW4. Even after 4 years since it’s release, you will be hard pressed to find a better flying toy-grade quadcopter. The altitude hold works amazing well, and it flys very smooth.
    I’d consider it a step up from a Syma X5-C or the X5-SC1
    Thank you Quadcopter 101 for yet another of your excellent reviews!

  30. Kenneth Young on September 23, 2021 at 11:50 pm

    Ur video had me buy this drone and I’m glad I did.thanks.👍

  31. CC25 on September 23, 2021 at 11:51 pm

    Could this hold a GoPro?

  32. Justin P Vlogs on September 23, 2021 at 11:51 pm

    Also, when I trim it, and turn the transmitter off and turn it back on, the trim is reset. How can I save the trim?

  33. No scopes 123 on September 23, 2021 at 11:52 pm

    Hi I love your vids and decided to buy a cheerwing like you recommended. Unfortunately I crashed the cheerwing into a wall and one of the propellers is not working. Any advice on how to fix it? (Cant return it to the company any more, 30 days passed)

  34. Jacque Pebworth on September 23, 2021 at 11:53 pm

    I have owned and flown the CW4 for 11 months now (ordered in September, 2016). A great flyer.I have mounted a 808 keychain camera and used the Scotch 2 sided mounting tape to reposition the camera that came with it to a upward position (very easy)for fantastic video. I have quite a collection of quadcopters (12 in all) from the Syma X5c to the Hubsan H501s with GPS, the CW4 is one of my favorites. For pure fun and great video with such stable and smooth flight you just can not beat the CW4. It is a great quadcopter for teaching purposes for those who want to learn to fly a drone ( I have helped 12 people now from 9 to 82 years old, I am 74). This is a great flying drone with slim chances it will not crash with the advanced features that it has and just a little bit of careful flying. Quadcopter101 has given a honest and thoughtful review on the CW4. The Cheerwing CW4 is great!

  35. Axodus on September 23, 2021 at 11:53 pm

    I bought the X5SW-V3 but wish I had bought this one for 4 more dollars.

  36. Drone Home on September 23, 2021 at 11:55 pm

    Ps Quadcopter 101 is a great channel!

  37. Jason Sandoval Salazar on September 23, 2021 at 11:55 pm

    It’s possible use this drone with a action camera?

  38. Justin Curless on September 23, 2021 at 11:55 pm

    How do you pair you phone to it?

  39. Gary Basham on September 23, 2021 at 11:55 pm

    camera suxxxxxxx nice quad but the camera eats crap

  40. Veronica Secret on September 23, 2021 at 11:58 pm

    How do you record and stuff is there an app for it or something cause I just got one and I have seemed to crash it into the wall and I used to know how to turn it on but now I don’t know what I did to it or something lol someone pls reply and tell me what I did wrong lmfao

  41. Life IsPie on September 23, 2021 at 11:58 pm

    Is there a way you can see the video from your phone

  42. powerofdreamx on September 24, 2021 at 12:00 am

    Is there a flight controller with all these features (auto takeoff/land, attitude hold, etc)?

  43. Mike Ashbaugh on September 24, 2021 at 12:02 am

    I see you removed the Guards, from the props, I broke one if mine, I was thinking of just removing the others, and adverse effects?

  44. Leonardo Albano Sachetti on September 24, 2021 at 12:03 am

    How to calculate the distance not to pass the 50 meters of range marks you the control

  45. MC TIGERSHARK on September 24, 2021 at 12:05 am

    Can u control the gyro of the camera

  46. Glacier74 on September 24, 2021 at 12:05 am

    I own this drone and have never flew it, your tutorial will help me understand the controls and help me fly it better

  47. Kenneth Young on September 24, 2021 at 12:05 am

    I just bought this drone yesterday.its probably one of the best drones under $100.once I get used to this drone I plan on getting the mavic pro 2 or the mavic mini.also holy stone makes some pretty good drones.i saw one for $270 that I really liked.

  48. Justin P Vlogs on September 24, 2021 at 12:05 am

    Hi awesome video! I ended up buying this drone!!! I have a question though: when I put the drone high in the air it rotates right, and even when I trim it to the left it still happens. There is a little bit of wind, but I don’t know if that’s the cause. It’s like a tiny amount of wind…

  49. Jeremy Tucker on September 24, 2021 at 12:06 am

    What software do you use for viewing video on your computer? My video was frame by frame and freezing constantly. Any suggestions? Thanks.

  50. D Me on September 24, 2021 at 12:07 am

    I find it odd that you didn’t comment on it’s very limited distance capability.
    Something you judge almost every other quad on.
    It’s like you purposely omitted it in your review.

Leave a Comment