Are Underwater Drones Worth it? – The Navatics MITO Review

The best thing about underwater drones? No rules! The worst thing? You have to have somewhere to use them. This video reviews the Navatics MITO Underwater Drone and also talks about why you may want to skip getting into the hobby.

Learn more about the MITO here: https://www.navatics.com/ (Not an affiliate)

Link to other popular underwater drones: https://amzn.to/2ZzLt3B

Here are Dustin Dunhill’s videos in playlists: https://www.youtube.com/c/DustinDunnill/playlists

All the gear I use to manage 51 Drones: https://kit.co/the51drones/51-drones-youtube-kit

All music in my videos come from Epidemic Sound. Click here for a free 30 day trial: http://share.epidemicsound.com/BLNwJ
It’s the best COPYRIGHT FREE YouTube music out there right now.

My Patreon for exclusive content: www.patreon.com/51drones
*As an Amazon affiliate, this channel does benefit from qualifying purchases.
#mito #navatics #underwaterdrone
@Dustin Dunnill

50 Comments

  1. Elite Kumite Australia on November 3, 2020 at 1:38 pm

    Thanks for all of your great vids man! Hey i wanted to ask you a question, wrestling or bjj, which do you train or used to train? πŸ‘

  2. Bill Karle on November 3, 2020 at 1:40 pm

    I found this to be very informative – thanks! These always bring back visions of the Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea Flying Sub πŸ™‚ Another channel I subscribe to, WWIIHistoryHunter, has started using an underwater drone equipped with a claw to retrieve submerged items, and in his case, several times he’s had to haul the drone back in using the tether (thank goodness it’s designed for that). I can see the benefits of having the wireless feature with the floating buoy, but also some drawbacks. The wifi antenna could definitely act as a sail if there’s some wind. In which case, you may want to have a floating retrieval line attached to the buoy. I envision the tether getting wrapped around some underwater obstacle and stranding the drone. I’m curious about the difference in operations between salt water and fresh water, when it comes to buoyancy. And my last concern is the issue with water and electronics in general; water, especially salt water, and electronics do not play well with each other. I can assume the drone, tether, and buoy have good waterproof connections and bodies. I’m thinking the controller, with touchpads instead of joysticks, may also be designed to be waterproof or water resistant. Of course, as you mentioned, the weak point would then be your phone πŸ™

  3. Tierra de Gracia - Viajes y Turismo on November 3, 2020 at 1:42 pm

    A underwater drone good for searching drowned drones in lake or sea…

  4. Bo Zire on November 3, 2020 at 1:42 pm

    If it was cordless, I would love it. I don’t love it with the cord. THAT gets wrapped around things REAL quickly. Just grab a waterproof action cam or camera and go get your shots.

  5. Tonys Rc Tech on November 3, 2020 at 1:43 pm

    Fantastic test, fantastic info and a fantastic Video, really like that underwater drone 😁 big thumbs up πŸ‘

  6. mark vangorp on November 3, 2020 at 1:45 pm

    You could probably connect some high strength fishing line or some other type of line to one of the hooks and use it to pull it back in the event that it jammed up out where you couldn’t reach it. Still has some risk to it though.

  7. Robert Lee on November 3, 2020 at 1:46 pm

    This might be cool for anglers depending on the depth it can go & if you can tether a fishing line to it Incase you have any problems , get ahold of a big strong surf pole & string it with 500 lbs deep sea line then you could see where the fish are , if there on rock or down deep or where all the big ones are or even have it drop a bait near a big one kinda cheat at fishing .

  8. 68jacen on November 3, 2020 at 1:47 pm

    Maybe a collaboration with Adventures with Purpose, but most of the water they dive in is murky too. Could you get one with other sensors? Detecting metal/large objects would better than 4k

  9. Huschtify on November 3, 2020 at 1:48 pm

    Nice video! I have a shallow section of a fjord (10×10 km) with lots of history that is just waiting for me to get a drone. I am looking for a underwater drone, but my Mavic Air and goggles has eaten most of my drone budget. They are still too expensive, but I am getting one someday.

  10. Gaptastic on November 3, 2020 at 1:49 pm

    while i like different drones (and gadgets), I’m not sure u need to waste ur time on this. I have yet to see a use in Boston.

  11. Preston Jensen on November 3, 2020 at 1:53 pm

    This interests me because I enjoy scuba 🀿 diving. You are right, tough to find lakes with good visibility in the area. Spiritwood Lake is probably the best clarity I have personally dove in ND. It would be fun to test this drone on Long Lake by Park Rapids, MN. Thanks for the video.

  12. SnomanFPV on November 3, 2020 at 1:54 pm

    No thanks. Not for me..😊

  13. Ron Brown on November 3, 2020 at 1:55 pm

    Very interesting drone, I’ve looked at some of these in the past, but I just don’t know how much use I would get out it. Great review, and I’m sorry you didn’t clearer water to film in.

  14. Doug Youtube on November 3, 2020 at 1:55 pm

    Since you have the drone/submarine some under the ice fish videos sounds very interesting.

  15. J Dog on November 3, 2020 at 1:56 pm

    Can I also say you live in America so use america measurement please!

  16. Mr. Robert -aka Robert on November 3, 2020 at 1:56 pm

    Russ, Interesting subject! YES, more content, please.

  17. Jakes Dronelife on November 3, 2020 at 1:57 pm

    So if I get into this hobby will amazon take away our waterways also ?

  18. libertyauto on November 3, 2020 at 1:57 pm

    I definitely want to see the ice fishing videos it might take.

  19. Atlas Shrugged on November 3, 2020 at 1:58 pm

    I would love to see more of that drone in clearer water. How deep can it dive?

  20. Phil W on November 3, 2020 at 1:59 pm

    But Russ, this is perfect for us pilots who have always had the dream of recreating the first 10 minutes of the movie Titanic πŸ€“

  21. Up Your Game on November 3, 2020 at 1:59 pm

    Very interesting and fun hope you make more underwater Drone content because your content is really good, good job Russ!

  22. Mainly Fishing on November 3, 2020 at 2:01 pm

    Yes more under water drone stuff

  23. Virgil StJohn on November 3, 2020 at 2:02 pm

    Yes, I’m interested in knowing more about underwater drones. I live in Sydney, Australia so I can see a LOT of applications.

    Thanks for taking the time to review some new and interesting platforms.

  24. Jenna C on November 3, 2020 at 2:02 pm

    It’s a whole new or a different world under the water and it would be very interesting to see what lays beneath in the ‘underworld’……

  25. AirWorthy Tours on November 3, 2020 at 2:03 pm

    the lack of joysticks is a no for me. But I am interested in seeing more underwater drone reviews and footage.

  26. Sgt Ramthun on November 3, 2020 at 2:05 pm

    Russ, come to WI for sturgeon spearing in Feb!

  27. 18 Wheels and a Drone on November 3, 2020 at 2:06 pm

    Lowrance makes a castable fish finder that’s $100 on Cabela’s/Bass Pro. The Provision Powerray (underwater) and Powerdolphin (boat) have a fish finder module. They are interesting.

  28. Edward Shaw on November 3, 2020 at 2:08 pm

    This drone would be useless where I live, the gulf coast of Texas where the water has the visibility of mud, πŸ‘Ž, but informative review. They need screens where the propellers are, but you still have debris such as grass etc., that may get tangled. If I lived in Hawaii, Florida or Paciific Coast, I would consider.

  29. Huschtify on November 3, 2020 at 2:08 pm

    I would like to see some deep sea/ocean exploring. As deep as possible, to see if its usable there.

  30. Simon Nicolas Costa. Born Coster on November 3, 2020 at 2:10 pm

    put the brightest led 40 000 lumen or high torch on it !! how deep can these drones go as i need to find the bottom or close to the bottom of the sea at 5 atm 6 atm 7 atm or more ???? at what pressure do they collapse 30 meters 40 meters 60 meters 80 meters ???

  31. Glen Smith on November 3, 2020 at 2:12 pm

    Think they could be great if one lived near the seaside and have interesting things to film underwater. And like flying drones, good weather conditions will make those nice videos. Pity they cannot make them cordless. Maybe in time.

  32. G scop on November 3, 2020 at 2:12 pm

    Maybe they will wise up and install some fencing around the props to keep out rocks etc

  33. Chris Coleman on November 3, 2020 at 2:13 pm

    Thanks for sharing , but I don’t want one , can’t wait to see your Hero 9 review,bet you have one already !

  34. Simon Nicolas Costa. Born Coster on November 3, 2020 at 2:14 pm

    im a coster has anyone any info on the world shipping register coster navigation .s.a. simon coster redresonantskywalker7@gmail.com

  35. Ford Truckers on November 3, 2020 at 2:21 pm

    Yes,more under water drone video please! Very awesome video

  36. J Dog on November 3, 2020 at 2:21 pm

    First I need to state the obvious and that is it is not a drone. It is more like a submarine with a camera and that remote is just stupid. Sorry but waste of money as I can see but great video as always!

  37. Simon Nicolas Costa. Born Coster on November 3, 2020 at 2:24 pm

    i think they need to build one in a small dive tank with propellors all around it that move slow so as not to cause silt and bottom debris to lift thus clouding what you want to record !!! a small dive oxygen bottle able to with stand 200ft to 200 meter depths with all the batterys and componants in side a bit like a torpedo is going to be able to record 200 meters down if towed very very slowely drifted or pulleyed with an anchored boat !! i want to find my familys boats from the royal netherlands voc woc and maybe the new zealand shipping companys royal mail steamers so wrongly destroyed and sunk contact me on redresonantskywalker7@gmail.com

  38. iAMhonka on November 3, 2020 at 2:26 pm

    You know this is a subpar video.

  39. Simon Nicolas Costa. Born Coster on November 3, 2020 at 2:27 pm

    if a camera dosent see much ?? then a 4 small dive oxygen bottles together with a strong metal detector placed on the bottom able to with stand 60 to 80 to 100 200 meters depths ??? for cannons anchors and other metals brass to iron to be found by metal detection sweeping the floors of possible areas of wrecks unknown ???

  40. Vijval Jain on November 3, 2020 at 2:28 pm

    I really want to see more videos on underwater drones!

  41. Ramiro Antonio Sandoval on November 3, 2020 at 2:29 pm

    Yes more

  42. caro baez on November 3, 2020 at 2:30 pm

    holaaa muy buen video desearΓ­a que prosigan haciendo material de calidad!!! Voy a seguir mirando sus creaciones. Les mando un abrazo nos vemos luego πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½

  43. Dennis on November 3, 2020 at 2:30 pm

    None of these drones are worth the money they sell them for. Doesn’t matter if you fly them in the air or go underwater. I’m slowly finding out the many places I can’t fly my drone in my travels. Seems to more places no drones are allowed now than where I can fly. I no longer trust the DJI maps at all since my fiasco in Big Sur with my drone. If you’re out of town and need a waiver you only get the waiver for one crappy day. Not very good unless you only staying one day.

  44. BigIsle REBroker on November 3, 2020 at 2:30 pm

    Awesome..also in Hawaii, but havent seen one of these up close. Geez everyone I know has quite a learning curve operating Lion, LiPo, Hybrid in cold- so what (w/this has LiPo) battery time/life you will be able to get in near freezing temps is going to be super interesting! I hope you are going to be able to check temperature of the water under ice. Thanks for sharing, thanks for video!

  45. Larry T. on November 3, 2020 at 2:32 pm

    I have been interested in underwater drones for awhile. We winter in Florida.

  46. Denney Fifield on November 3, 2020 at 2:32 pm

    I have been interested in how feasible an underwater drone would be, so thank you for clarifying that for me. We have the same water problems in Utah, so I’ll probably not invest in one, but I would love to see winter underwater footage!

  47. chriswillems13 on November 3, 2020 at 2:33 pm

    Do you think this could work in ice fishing conditions?

  48. fly with me on November 3, 2020 at 2:34 pm

    Yeah I’d like to see more of them at a lower cost, I can’t afford that one

  49. Harvey Wallbuilder on November 3, 2020 at 2:35 pm

    I am wondering how it will be under the ice… Especially after getting my first drone for Christmas and learning pretty quick that batteries don’t like the cold…

  50. Roy Morgan on November 3, 2020 at 2:37 pm

    Stick with the air drones. Unless you can show them with decent imagery, it is a wast of time.

Leave a Comment