4DRC 4D F4 Low Cost Two Axis Gimbal Brushless GPS Drone Flight Test Review

4DRC 4D F4 Low Cost Two Axis Gimbal Brushless GPS Drone Flight Test Review

This may be one of the lowest cost stabilized gimbal brushless GPS drones currently on the market. Find it here https://bit.ly/F4-Drone

Pros
– Very affordable for a stabilized gimbal brushless GPS drone.
– Portable folding drone with very nice carrying case included.
– Brushless motors for motor durability.
– GPS system that provides automatic return to home and landing capability on command, loss of signal, and low voltage.
– Optical flow sensor to enhance hover stability when near the ground.
– 7.4V 3500mah battery provides up to 25 minutes flight time in hover (I got about 23 minutes with maneuvering flight).
– Two axis stabilized gimbal for video stability.
– Video is recorded to an onboard SD card at 2048 x 1152 pixel resolution at 25 frames per second.
– 4DRC Pro app provides real time in-flight FPV video to your phone, along with advanced flight capabilities of follow me, orbit position, and waypoints. This app is available here on Google Play https://bit.ly/4DRC-Pro and here on the app store https://bit.ly/4DRC_Pro .
– Advertised control range of up to 2 kilometers. Note that FPV control range, although strong, will likely be considerably less.

Cons
– App requires a phone with 802.11ac WiFi. Before purchasing, first verify that your phone has 802.11ac WiFi capability, or you may be very disappointed as you will not be able to use the app.
– This drone with battery weighs 400 grams and will require registration in most countries.

Keep in mind that engineering tradeoffs were made in the design of this drone to keep the price at a reasonable level. So some issues are to be expected. These issues include:
– Single GPS system can sometimes requires considerable wait (up to 10 minutes) to achieve satellite lockon.
– I could not get advanced flight control features to turn off (and yes, I did try pressing that red X on the left side of the screen with no result). The only way that I found to shut off these features was to press the return to home button two times to cancel them.
– Waypoint feature would not automaticaly locate my position or the drone’s position on the map. It requires manually scrolling the map to find your location to set waypoints.
– Drone can be unstable in wind above 10mph.
– Gimbal is not the best for stability, with some shakiness was noted in maneuvers. The camera is also not true 4K. Dynamic range performance is also not the best when shifting the view toward and away from the sun.

Affiliate links: At no cost to you, I do receive a small commission for sales resulting from these links.

This video along with every video of the Quadcopter 101 channel was produced and edited with VSDC Free Video Editor. You may download this excellent, and no kidding “free” video editor here http://www.videosoftdev.com/free-video-editor

MUSIC LICENSE
“Awel” by stefsax
http://ccmixter.org/files/stefsax/7785
is licensed under a Creative Commons license:
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/
music was shortened to fit length of video.

50 Comments

  1. Adam Morrison on September 6, 2021 at 10:56 pm

    I really liked you video. It helped quite a bit. I recently ‘inherited’ this drone from my brother who passed away about a month ago. Of course, he apparently threw away the instruction manual. Do you have any idea where I can get one? I have looked all over the internet and am coming up short. Any help you can send my direction would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

  2. Joey Glasser on September 6, 2021 at 10:56 pm

    This was the most wholesome vid on YouTube

  3. Fuse on September 6, 2021 at 10:57 pm

    22minutes flying time – that’s really good! I got this drone a few days ago to learn on, seems complex for a beginner, so hopefully I won’t land it in the river. 🙂

  4. Robert Kelly on September 6, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    I was looking at another drone for £110, but this looks like better value at £65 AND YET IT LOOKS LIKE A GOOD QUALITY DRONE, i MAY BUY IT.Rob

  5. HellBoyYT on September 6, 2021 at 10:59 pm

    Awesome super helpful vid look forward to getting one myself!

  6. Norman N Nguyen on September 6, 2021 at 11:03 pm

    Do you need to register to FAA with this drone ?

  7. niceguy60 on September 6, 2021 at 11:03 pm

    Can I load it with hellfire missiles or C4 and program my ex wife GPS coordinates into it

  8. Dusty L I L D on September 6, 2021 at 11:05 pm

    I’m pretty sure this is how people talk when high on booger sugar lol

  9. Gladiator 1😎 on September 6, 2021 at 11:06 pm

    🔥🔥

  10. RYNO BAM on September 6, 2021 at 11:07 pm

    do you recomend me buying this drone and what is the wind lvl it can take and the distice it go’s?

  11. INFINITE GAMING! on September 6, 2021 at 11:10 pm

    Op

  12. Nic_Cinko on September 6, 2021 at 11:11 pm

    Turned mine on, did the calibration etc… but no connection and unable to fly… any idea what the issue might be? Sat around for about 20 minutes with nothing and about half way through the wait for connection the drone began beeping and blades began twitching but the controller didn’t do anything. Any help would be appreciated!

  13. John Ngatai on September 6, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    take it off safe mode and also lower your follow me distance might help

  14. That one kid on September 6, 2021 at 11:13 pm

    I got it for €50

  15. badluckbro on September 6, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    I cant connect my phone camera to it, please help

  16. Carlos Eduardo on September 6, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    my dream is to have a drone like this, but I have no financial conditions. 🙁

  17. Luciano silva on September 6, 2021 at 11:14 pm

    hello, I bought a new remote control but I’m not able to connect with the drone there is some way to do the pairing?

  18. Stevin Huckabay on September 6, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    Can you tell me what you are doing when you say your syncing up the cameras. Which cameras are you syncing

  19. John W on September 6, 2021 at 11:17 pm

    You hit the red X to stop any mode you’re in

  20. netanel ben shitrit on September 6, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    this looks like a really nice drone deos his max distance is 2km ?? i wonder

  21. Piotr 1234 on September 6, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    Wooow

  22. MsNailgun on September 6, 2021 at 11:18 pm

    Great video. I just bought one. Looking forward to playing with it.

  23. Vaibhav JAIN on September 6, 2021 at 11:19 pm

    Besides the additional features related to its camera and flight controlled via app, but in terms of simple altitude hold and ease of flying / one key take off – landing, how is this drone for a beginner? My question is may be in comparison with a good non camera drone, as I understand, like Falcon GD 116 (though I am not sure if it is available in US).

  24. Bentley I'm on September 6, 2021 at 11:20 pm

    Is it brushLess

  25. Kuba Pucek on September 6, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    Hey, how bind this drone with new controller?

  26. Prospector Tripp on September 6, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    I have the 4DRC F4
    Basically okay.. but the connections to the sats are too slow, video footage just okay some jumping, pictures and quite good, range is inaccurate I believe.. not as advertised.
    It’s basically a drone for learning.
    Thanks
    ✌️PT

  27. Lonely TJ on September 6, 2021 at 11:22 pm

    how to start the motor. I connect GPS and everything camera but not run a motor? please tell me how

  28. Ray Brooks on September 6, 2021 at 11:23 pm

    I’m having a problem connecting the drone to the app, any suggestion?

  29. dsegundo on September 6, 2021 at 11:25 pm

    how big of a micro sd card will it accept?

  30. NatureWatcher on September 6, 2021 at 11:26 pm

    Thank you for your review.
    Just ordered similar one under 40$ on ebay. If it could do the same basic things as yours, then I’ll be very happy. If not – still it’ll be a fun toy to play with before getting a more expensive model.

  31. Karen Whitehouse on September 6, 2021 at 11:30 pm

    hi just got my f4 thanks to your smashing cracking video….,, love your channel my friend,,,please how do you record the 4drc app interface that we see on our phones,,you can see u press the follow me blue highlight,,and loooks like you are recording the app..please how do you do that function,,thankyou kez ,ps i cannot get out of follow me too ,like you had..all the best

  32. Big birchwood on September 6, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    I have no problem buying mine in high speed with the GPS on.
    No problem flying mine in relatively High winds.

  33. Bruce Wilkinson on September 6, 2021 at 11:31 pm

    Do you know where the serial number is located? Anyone?

  34. koltyrini on September 6, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    Нow to reset this drone to factory settings???

  35. Fernando Leardini on September 6, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    Would you kindly share the English user manual in a PDF with us? I bought one directly from China as my first drone ever, but the user manual I got is only in Chinese and I am completely lost. Your video gave me a lot of great information, but having the manual with me would be awesome. Thanks.

  36. Exempty on September 6, 2021 at 11:33 pm

    It’s at $50 on Amazon right now

  37. Ιωαννης Αδαμ on September 6, 2021 at 11:34 pm

    the drone works with the phone 4g and with which app ? Thanks

  38. M G on September 6, 2021 at 11:37 pm

    He said "if you get a satellite lock on" sounds sorta ify

  39. Lawrence Bishop on September 6, 2021 at 11:39 pm

    great little drone….wish I could find a camera for my dji phantom 1 that has this kind of great quality .

  40. reptileminer on September 6, 2021 at 11:41 pm

    Need some help my 4drc f4 drone will not find gps signal I don’t know if it’s because I’m by my house or if I’m just not waiting long enough need help ASAP

  41. Agente Coimbra on September 6, 2021 at 11:41 pm

    Hi, sr. How can i use SD Card to rec video and photos? Thanks!

  42. MAX & MEYLES NIGHT VISION RATS on September 6, 2021 at 11:43 pm

    GOT MY 4DRC F4 TODAY… …love you cannel,,, hope this f4 drone lives up to my expectations ,,charging the battery’s now so will let you know how i get on bud,,,,,,, KEZ INSOUTH WALES UK,,

  43. Dustin DeFoore on September 6, 2021 at 11:45 pm

    This looks to be perfect for a project I have in the planning stages. I need a drone; but I don’t want to spend a fortune. Thanks for the review!

  44. Miguel Huerta on September 6, 2021 at 11:46 pm

    What kind of memory card do you have for drone

  45. Bill Callahan on September 6, 2021 at 11:47 pm

    Great comprehensive instruction of a not perfect but "decent for the price" drone. Surprised me at the flight time especially with camera running entire time. 22+ minutes. Thank you!

  46. Chris M on September 6, 2021 at 11:48 pm

    How do I get this drone to record to the SD card? I’ve tried tech support, all they said is it requires a max 64gb card, but im sure if I need to format it a certain way or select something in the app

  47. Domenico Nappo on September 6, 2021 at 11:52 pm

    Olá amigo, ele tem um cartão MicroSD pronto?

  48. Makalu Rai on September 6, 2021 at 11:52 pm

    My f4 loses fpv less than 100 meters.

  49. Quadcopter 101 on September 6, 2021 at 11:52 pm

    *Find this drone here* https://bit.ly/F4-Drone

  50. Ahmed Rabie on September 6, 2021 at 11:54 pm

    THE FIRST TIME I SEE YOU BUT I LOVE YOU AND YOUR SMILE GOOOD JOB BRO

Leave a Comment