4DRC 4D F4 Low Cost Two Axis Gimbal Brushless GPS Drone Flight Test Review

4DRC 4D F4 Low Cost Two Axis Gimbal Brushless GPS Drone Flight Test Review

This may be one of the lowest cost stabilized gimbal brushless GPS drones currently on the market. Find it here internationally https://bit.ly/F4-Drone or here on Amazon https://amzn.to/36zl2BT

Pros
– Very affordable for a stabilized gimbal brushless GPS drone.
– Portable folding drone with very nice carrying case included.
– Brushless motors for motor durability.
– GPS system that provides automatic return to home and landing capability on command, loss of signal, and low voltage.
– Optical flow sensor to enhance hover stability when near the ground.
– 7.4V 3500mah battery provides up to 25 minutes flight time in hover (I got about 23 minutes with maneuvering flight).
– Two axis stabilized gimbal for video stability.
– Video is recorded to an onboard SD card at 2048 x 1152 pixel resolution at 25 frames per second.
– 4DRC Pro app provides real time in-flight FPV video to your phone, along with advanced flight capabilities of follow me, orbit position, and waypoints. This app is available here on Google Play https://bit.ly/4DRC-Pro and here on the app store https://bit.ly/4DRC_Pro .
– Advertised control range of up to 2 kilometers. Note that FPV control range, although strong, will likely be considerably less.

Cons
– App requires a phone with 802.11ac WiFi. Before purchasing, first verify that your phone has 802.11ac WiFi capability, or you may be very disappointed as you will not be able to use the app.
– This drone with battery weighs 400 grams and will require registration in most countries.

Keep in mind that engineering tradeoffs were made in the design of this drone to keep the price at a reasonable level. So some issues are to be expected. These issues include:
– Single GPS system can sometimes requires considerable wait (up to 10 minutes) to achieve satellite lockon.
– I could not get advanced flight control features to turn off (and yes, I did try pressing that red X on the left side of the screen with no result). The only way that I found to shut off these features was to press the return to home button two times to cancel them.
– Waypoint feature would not automaticaly locate my position or the drone’s position on the map. It requires manually scrolling the map to find your location to set waypoints.
– Drone can be unstable in wind above 10mph.
– Gimbal is not the best for stability, with some shakiness was noted in maneuvers. The camera is also not true 4K. Dynamic range performance is also not the best when shifting the view toward and away from the sun.

Affiliate links: At no cost to you, I do receive a small commission for sales resulting from these links.

This video along with every video of the Quadcopter 101 channel was produced and edited with VSDC Free Video Editor. You may download this excellent, and no kidding “free” video editor here http://www.videosoftdev.com/free-video-editor

MUSIC LICENSE
“Awel” by stefsax
http://ccmixter.org/files/stefsax/7785
is licensed under a Creative Commons license:
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/
music was shortened to fit length of video.

50 Comments

  1. mohamadnasri Omar on April 27, 2022 at 6:09 pm

    terimakasih bos d atas maklumat tentang drone ini

  2. Cory Keith on April 27, 2022 at 6:09 pm

    How do I get mine to connect to my WiFi you didn’t show that part in the video help would be greatly appreciated

  3. scott j on April 27, 2022 at 6:15 pm

    So why did you move to PA, for the fishing?

  4. Darwin Aseka on April 27, 2022 at 6:16 pm

    Does anyone know if the app bugs have been fixed.

  5. Gamecock Mike on April 27, 2022 at 6:16 pm

    All you have to do in hit the lock button then switch while still on screen. It’s not that hard to figure out the functions.

  6. ikly43s on April 27, 2022 at 6:18 pm

    Having trouble with waypoint flight
    Seems that when I’m connected to the drone via wifi I’m unable to get the maps up and running in waypoint
    How can I solve this issue?

  7. angelhelp777 on April 27, 2022 at 6:18 pm

    Thanks for making this video. It really helped me decide never to buy this drone. 🙂 I look forward to seeing your videos on other drones.

  8. Kevel Polius on April 27, 2022 at 6:18 pm

    Do you think this drone can remain stable with a GoPro attached?

  9. Major on April 27, 2022 at 6:19 pm

    Would this still fly with a gopro attatched to the bottom ?

  10. Philipo Philipo on April 27, 2022 at 6:20 pm

    Nice men👌🍻

  11. mendi ravinder Kumar on April 27, 2022 at 6:20 pm

    Nice

  12. Quadcopter 101 on April 27, 2022 at 6:21 pm

    *Find it here internationally* https://bit.ly/F4-Drone or *here on Amazon* https://amzn.to/36zl2BT

  13. Sputnik on April 27, 2022 at 6:22 pm

    The GPS signals are remembered for the next time you boot it up but only in the same vicinity. Subsequent boot ups will GPS lock pretty fast. There is nothing wrong with this drone and currently you can get ‘used/refurbed’ around $75-90 which is incredible. The battery life is definitely a solid 20+ minutes, the most I’ve personally gotten from any of the advertised "20 minute flight time, yada yada" models out there. The battery case is simple to open and those in the hobby will quickly see it’s possible to add balance and charge connections to the cells inside to use conventional chargers. The controller plastic case is very cheesy but it’s what inside that counts and it works perfectly well. Hit the RED X on the left side of app screen to exit flight modes! Can’t believe Q didn’t see that. The instruction book is Chinglish but better than MOST other model’s books. This is a docile and stable flyer perfect perfect perfect for beginners and great for intermediate and for a fun backup model added to your hobby collection.

  14. Jim Davis on April 27, 2022 at 6:23 pm

    Hello. Thanks for your review. I just got my F4 and it seems to fly ok. The question I have and can’t seem to find an answer for anywhere is, is the camera supposed to be able to point straight down? mine only points about 45 degrees down. I need to know if I need to return it, or if that is normal? Thanks!

  15. Versatile treyy on April 27, 2022 at 6:24 pm

    Great review, definitely thinking about buying this, maybe put a go pro on it

  16. Miguel M on April 27, 2022 at 6:24 pm

    Welp! Now I know not to buy this one. Terrible video quality. Thanks for the helpful review.

  17. proroofingnw on April 27, 2022 at 6:25 pm

    my drone came with china only instructions and the setup to drone stage is spotty and the gps takes for ever connect and still nothing i thought it was my house so i went to the park waited nothing now iam passed the return window as i bought in the winter planning on warmer weather to use and its useless.

  18. Kenneth J Hissong on April 27, 2022 at 6:26 pm

    Any Idea why I can’t seem to get it to record to SD card? 64GB Micro SD format ExFat, works great recording photo/video to phone.

  19. William Freeze on April 27, 2022 at 6:27 pm

    Hi there again still love the drone but now my ? is what tablet adapter should i get I just got a tablet for my birthday april 1st so now i can fly with it so would you know of a good 10" tablet adapters ?????for the fast f4 drone

  20. cisiPL Cisak on April 27, 2022 at 6:27 pm

    how many time you can use dron?

  21. Darwin Aseka on April 27, 2022 at 6:28 pm

    I bought a similar one. It worked for a few minutes then stopped working. When you try to switch the drone on by pressing and holding the battery, it makes the beeping sound but no lights come on. Has anyone encountered this?
    What is the solution?

  22. John Ngatai on April 27, 2022 at 6:32 pm

    take it off safe mode and also lower your follow me distance might help

  23. Carlos Armenta Guarneros on April 27, 2022 at 6:32 pm

    Hey,what type of Micro SD did you used,32,64 or 128GB
    SanDisk ultra or Extreme or what type of Micro SD did you used?

  24. Ketchup on April 27, 2022 at 6:33 pm

    22:17 you have to press the x on the left

  25. William Freeze on April 27, 2022 at 6:33 pm

    Hi there I got the drone and only 1 battery out of 2 charged so they are sending me a new battery but I have a ? what do I do from beginner mode to off beginner mode like setting how high it goes or how far? it says nothing in the book on it and i love the drone very beefy drone…. thanks I’m really scared to fly it as high as you did seriously scares the crap out of me i cant afford another one …..

  26. Charlie Miller on April 27, 2022 at 6:34 pm

    How do you set home location? Does it automatically set when linked? If you accidentally fly out of range of. Controller does it come back to home automatically?

  27. William Freeze on April 27, 2022 at 6:38 pm

    Hi there got a ? for you I have that 4DRC FAST F4 drone very good drone, but my ? is this when i fly on a nice day less wind but sunny i can’t see my phones screen , do you fly line of sight? I want to fly but I can’t see my phone’s screen so I wont fly

  28. John Paulo Edano on April 27, 2022 at 6:41 pm

    Which is the best, L900 drone or 4drc drone?

  29. ΔΗΜΗΤΡΙΟΣ on April 27, 2022 at 6:41 pm

    what is the rande ? 1000/2000

  30. Jay on April 27, 2022 at 6:41 pm

    Thank you

  31. heli 46 on April 27, 2022 at 6:42 pm

    Hello folks and q101 when you’re doing the compass calibration from your radio remember to hold the button down to dol your calibration once your calibration is set and finished you need to do a gyro calibration from the radio touch the same button and your lights will start flashing rapidly and then they will go back to normal if you do not do this your drone will not be leveled and thank you again q101 thanks for the great videos slow down just a little bit getting ahead of yourself I am your friend from Florid actually this drone flies very good for a low-cost strong go check Amazon though and the prices are 288 One battery I just bought the same drum for 149 3 batteries yes I got it used for a reason to test have a great day and keep up the good work q101 I wish you still lived up there by the desert area but I guess you had to move wherever you had to go

  32. Akin AdeRocks on April 27, 2022 at 6:46 pm

    Great video 👍🏾, sorry I couldn’t pick out the WiFi specification number you said to be googled with the phone model number. Could you please write it out for me please.. many thanks

  33. Eric Charlton on April 27, 2022 at 6:47 pm

    Did you ever figure out how to unlock orbit or follow me without restarting the app? I noticed the red x in the red circle-what is it’s function?

  34. Adam Morrison on April 27, 2022 at 6:47 pm

    I really liked you video. It helped quite a bit. I recently ‘inherited’ this drone from my brother who passed away about a month ago. Of course, he apparently threw away the instruction manual. Do you have any idea where I can get one? I have looked all over the internet and am coming up short. Any help you can send my direction would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

  35. RALPHY REVIEWS on April 27, 2022 at 6:48 pm

    Man this review was good

  36. Robert Bidot on April 27, 2022 at 6:54 pm

    Ok how can I find the serial number of my drone. If anyone can HELP with step by step instructions on how to find it , it would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance. I need to get my F4 registered soon.

  37. randy morgan on April 27, 2022 at 6:56 pm

    I had the camera pointing straight ahead but still, all I see is the ground. How did you get your camera to work so well?

  38. holl3n on April 27, 2022 at 6:56 pm

    Does it fly 3 kilometers ?

  39. William Freeze on April 27, 2022 at 6:57 pm

    hi there awesome video’s but can this drone USE A FPV GOGGLES?????

  40. Al Turner on April 27, 2022 at 6:58 pm

    It was clearly on the screen right there to turn off orbit mode there was a big red x in a circle on your left side of the screen how could you not see that.

  41. fm finlay on April 27, 2022 at 6:58 pm

    Does the drone rise before return to home?

  42. Spiritual warrior&healer on April 27, 2022 at 7:00 pm

    Which plane is better F4 or F9 QDRC..

  43. Glen Finklea on April 27, 2022 at 7:01 pm

    I bought a refurbished F4 and it does very well. I found that if I use the sport mode in higher winds, It is more stable. When I use the video, I fly in the slow mode and turn very slowly for a smooth video. Everything works very well on mine. It says they will fly 2000 meters. I flew mine out past my WIFI but the height and distance on the controller worked. It said it went 1986 meters away. I really don’t know how far it actually went because I couldn’t see where it was. I should have used an SDI card.

  44. ΠΑΝΑΓΙΩΤΗΣ ΤΣΑΚΙΡΑΚΗΣ on April 27, 2022 at 7:02 pm

    I can’t find GPS signal what can I do ?

  45. WhitePaperKat on April 27, 2022 at 7:02 pm

    Does it need to be calibrated every time you have to take it off

  46. Vincent Smedley on April 27, 2022 at 7:03 pm

    Hi all from the UK, what apps for PC can we use to view and edit Vids etc, thanks in advance

  47. Dee Pee on April 27, 2022 at 7:03 pm

    You can order the batteries of Amazon with one charger I had to cuz my charger broke and they don’t sell the charger alone

  48. William Freeze on April 27, 2022 at 7:03 pm

    Hi there I ordered that drone in the video in comes Wednesday then we test it and see if it does what it says and does what I want it for is video’s from places I cant get to like high up or whatever, the 2 other drones I bought didn’t last because I fly a lot and i burned out the motors that’s why I went for brushless plus I need a stable flyer I hope this drone does the job .

  49. Zoran Mis on April 27, 2022 at 7:05 pm

    Realy great video. I found in specification at Aliexpress that remote control distance is 1000 meters. How far did you get to fly with it?

  50. rhino11us on April 27, 2022 at 7:05 pm

    DJI mini 2 is only drone to get!

Leave a Comment